Customer Reviews for

The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

Average Rating 4
( 483 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(297)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

It's not about you

When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warr...
When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warren's book, I read it, following the 40-day journey plan. I have recommended and bought copies for people. It is not the Bible but it helped me to understand many things not only about God but myself and my relationship with Him. Some may not find it enlightening but I believe that if you read it with an open mind, you will learn more about God and your relationship with Him. The book is easy to follow. I have gone through it four times. Each time I read it, I find something new to think about.

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Consumer Driven Christianity

The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller list...
The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller lists. I was very disappointed. I am presently rereading John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, which was for centuries the number one best-seller after the Bible. It remains one of the greatest spirtual classics ever written. Warren's book cannot be compared to such classics and will not stand the test of time. If you want to read some recent books that examine the weaknesses of Warren's 'seeker-senstive' style of Christianity, try: 'The Market-Driven Church: The Worldly Influence of Modern Culture on the Church in America,' by Udo W. Middelmann, 'Dining with the Devil: The Megachurch Movement Flirts with Modernity,' by Os Guinness, and John MacArthur's 'Ashamed of the Gospel.' 'A Time of Departing' by Ray Youngen has a chapter on Rick Warren.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    the good book

    A good guideline for daily life. I do not agree with all of whats said but all in all worth the time. Also the basics of it is useful guidance.
    Definitely recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    The Purpose Driven Life

    I purchased this book at the recommendation of my daughter and to my surprise, it has completely changed my life, for the better! I would recommend this book to anyone whom truly wishes to get closer to Christ and to find the REAL purpose as to why you are here on Earth!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    question:

    Why is "Purpose-Driven" used to refer exclusively to a Christian mindset? And why the implication that no other purpose is relevant? Kind of insulting to everyone else.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank goodness for purpose

    What a great book, inspiring us to find God's purpose for our lives. Dosn't stifle us with dogma or threats of hell. A breath of fresh air.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    Our Purpose

    The book called "Purpose Driven Life" by Rick Warren, is one that makes you think about your purpose for being here. I have been teaching several young girls from this book. I believe all of us should know that we are not an accident and that we were created by God for a purpose. God has created everything and everyone with a purpose in mind.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    'A key to the life of service.'

    Pastor Rick Warren describes steps to the life of purpose. Pastor Warren explains that we all can do service. We don't have to be a missionary in Africa to do service. We can do service in our homes, the internet, at work and at church. He gives examples from the bible and applies them to real life situations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Outstanding x 100

    i started reading this book when my life wasnt going so well but i has truely changed my life and my Outlook on life i strongly recommend you read this

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    I haven't quit yet, but I could at any time

    I am one of those people that was brought up as a Catholic (went to church every sunday, went to CCD and Sunday school, was confirmed, etc.) but was never really taught much about it. So I'm really trying to believe in Cristianity but I'm having trouble. So I was given this book as a gift by someone that I talk to about this subject a lot and I started it with a very open mind. I even keep a journal for each chapter. BUT, I am feeling so pressured by each 'chapter' that I read. I feel like any interests and hobbies I have are a waste of my time because he says that life is temporary, and eternity is everything. I feel that if I doubt any part of the bible, I will go to hell. He comes out in the 3rd chapter (I think) and pretty much says that people are driven by 5 things in life and each one is a negative one (money, power, impressing people, etc). I don't believe that people are all driven by negative things. I have not felt any positivity or reassurance at all in my faith. From this book, I feel so pressured to teach my kids about God and Jesus just so that if this entire thing is true, they will go to Heaven. Anyways, I would be very interested to see the kind of house that Rick Warren lives in and what kind of car he drives and what presents he gives (you know, since he isn't driven by money or possessions and because they mean nothing). He practically tells us that life is meaningless. It's eternity that means something, so why bother trying for anything in life? I'll keep reading but this book is ceating so much stress and pressure that I might not finish.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Must Have!!! Or risk missing your true calling in life.

    I starting reading this book prior to becoming baptised and while aspiring to become a member of THE Family. The leasons are profound and have influenced me beyond measure. My wife immediately noticed a marked increase in my spiritual maturity within days of aborbing it's messages. I was constantly validating Pastor Warren's words to the Bible to ensure his words were in fact God's - they matched up and knew that God was speaking to me thru him...I followed. Pastor Warren is humble and has God's grace upon him, you can feel it when you read his words. When I am faced with troubles, I constantly refer to my notes of this book to help me prevail. If you truly love someone and they are struggling in life, give them this book and ask them to read it - it will help them discover the REAL meaning of life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    It's a great question!

    I love the book! It's refreshing and serves as a great reminder of how life should be and it took me to a glimpse of the past. I actually placed it next to all the books I treasured. Definitely a book to share to all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Something for everyone

    Whether you are simply considering Christianity, or have been a Christian for many years, Rick's book will meet you right where you are. <p>Life is filled with stress, and demands on our time and energy. It is an absolute must for us to find GOD's purpose, and spend our few days on this planet living it! Great book; deserves reading more than once.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    No need for self help books

    This book totally deminishes the need for self help books. It helped me find purpose in my life and let me know that God was in control. If I wanted to lose weight, I didnt need Dr. Atkins or Dr. Phil, I needed Gods help to do it. If I am depressed or lonely, I now know I'll always have God. This book was the focus of our Spiritual Emphasis week at my high school and it was a major part of how many kids found God.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Everyone should read this book

    This book has changed the way I think about everyday life. It gives you a clear understanding of what God expects out of you. It was inspirational and eye opening for me and it has taught me what is most important in life. The question of why we are here is to please God and help others. But what you specifically can do with your uniqueness is up to you to figure out. It has some soul searching questions throughout the book and at the end of every chapter. It gives you a lot to think about and I also feel that this could be a comforting book for people with life threating illnesses. It may not be for everyone but I still feel that everyone should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I actually have this book in hard back but i love my nook so much that my all time favorite books i am re buying. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. He is an awesome author, jump in and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    A must read!

    I learned that each person is special in God's eyes and unless we include God's ways in our lives, our lives become self focused.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book at the end of last year in time for the 10-

    I received this book at the end of last year in time for the 10-year anniversary of the original printing of The Purpose Driven Life. I was really excited as I had never read this book, and my church had just completed a church-wide small group Bible Study by Rick Warren.  




    The content is virtually the same, but it offers some new twists for today's technologically savvy generations.  Each chapter has a QR code that will take the reader to a video introduction and an audio Bible Study to be done at the end of the chapter.  There are also two new chapters addressing the most common barriers to a purpose driven life.  The reader can also connect to other readers through access to an online community, where you can discuss your journey and receive feedback and support.  
     
    I confess, I did not try the QR codes for all 42 chapters, but for the chapters I did try, everything seemed to work just fine and the recordings were clear and easy to understand.  I will also say that reading a book for review purposes and reading it for an actual  personal study experience are two separate things.  When you're reading for review purposes, it is easy to read straight through areas that would normally speak to you and not let the words sink in and register within your spirit.  I have put this on my list for my devotion rotation so I can go back through it looking for the truth God wants to share.I would encourage those looking for a direction in their lives to read this book with an open mind.  It's written in such a way that anyone will get direction from it whether they are in high school, college, middle age, or retired.  
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Too pricy

    Books such as this should not cost this much. It is shameful to make profits from Jesus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I don't get all the hoopla

    I could not even finish this book. He could have said all he needed to say in 3 chapters or less but instead he dragged it out until he could call it a book instead of a pamphlet. I got bored.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Religious but lacking Christ as the Tree of Life.

    This book is much about do gooding however it lacks the source of GOOD which is Christ living in man.
    Galatians 2:20 says " I am crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith of the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me."

    This verse shows that we are dead but Christ now is our Life within, our will is no longer our own even if it be too do so called good deeds, we should first go to the Lord and sit at His feet.

    I would say from reading this book that it has little of this and is more about eating from the tree of knowlege of GOOD and evil(which is religion)than anything.

    I would do a google search for the folowing:
    WARNING! The Purpose Driven Church Heresy! Rick Warren

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Purposeful

    Warren's book provides good guidance on living with a purpose. At times, the book seems to push beyond what I believe God is calling us to do with our lives 'i.e. I believe that 'His yoke is light' when viewed in the proper perspective'. However, establishing an understanding that we were created by God to do His work in this world is a crucial message that is driven home by Warren.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25