Customer Reviews for

The Pursuit of Lucy Banning (Avenue of Dreams Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I always get hooked on books like this. Once I start reading, I

I always get hooked on books like this. Once I start reading, I have a hard time putting it down. There were 3 main things I enjoyed about this book.

* Sweet and clean romance...a must for a book to become a favorite.
* It is full of Chicago history. If you've ever b...
I always get hooked on books like this. Once I start reading, I have a hard time putting it down. There were 3 main things I enjoyed about this book.

* Sweet and clean romance...a must for a book to become a favorite.
* It is full of Chicago history. If you've ever been to Chicago, you will be familiar with many places and even people mentioned.
* The main character, Lucy Banning, is a strong woman who pursued her dreams while still caring for and loving her family around her.

Great book! I can't wait for the next one in this series!

posted by 15254571 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Two stars

This book was actually plesant to read! Decent development of characters, a few twist & turn surprises kept it interesting as well.

posted by 10954124 on August 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE PURSUIT OF LUCY BANNING by Olivia Newport is an exciting ins

    THE PURSUIT OF LUCY BANNING by Olivia Newport is an exciting inspirational historical romance set in 1892 Chicago. It is the first in the “The Avenue of Dreams” Series. What a wonderful story of love,romance,faith,high society of Chicago,the Gilded era,and the social contrasts and class lines of the era. Follow Lucy Banning and Will Edwards on their journey to the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago. Their family’s expectations,Chicago’s social scene,the social classes,their struggles to break free of society’s constraints. “The Pursuit of Lucy Banning” is a sweet love story,with vivid descriptions of the times,and characters who will capture your heart and sweep you away into Chicago’s 1890′s.This story will touch your heart, it is beautifully written. Anyone who enjoys historical romance, Chicago’s Gilded Age,and the glitz and grandeur of high society. A must read. Received for an honest review. Details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.

    *Available from Revell Books, May 2012*

    RATING:4.5

    HEAT:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Terrific

    Great story with romance suspence and lots of period detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    NannyC

    Couldn't put this book down. Looking for more books by Olivia Newport.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book, however, it ended sort of abruptly.

    I really enjoyed this book, however, it ended sort of abruptly. Is this a series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    MUST READ!!!

    I loved this story. The history time and setting was well researched and described. A loose end or two but I am sure it is in a later book, which I will definitely read. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Good period piece.

    Interesting women's issues during the Chicago world fair. Both upstairs and downstairs among the rich and famous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Lovely Look at the Gilded Age

    Rich in historical detail, The Pursuit of Lucy Banning transported me to 1893 Chicago, a city eager for the opening of the World’s Fair. Olivia Newport paints a captivating picture of the affluent neighborhood of Prairie Avenue, where a host of successful entrepreneurs such as George Pullman, Phillip Armour, and Marshall Field lived, evidence of her extensive research. I felt like I was there. Lucy is a bright, determined woman battling the rigid strictures and expectations faced by a woman in the late Victorian era. While I admired her desire to better herself, her secretive pursuit of a college education forced her to make choices that led to some expected friction between her and her family and fiance, Daniel Jules, a man chosen for her by her parents years before. Enter handsome, hardworking architect Will Edwards, a young man of questionable background who lacks the qualifications to be admitted to Chicago’s high society. Can Lucy follow her heart, or is she bound to comply with her parents’ wishes? Can Will discover the culprit behind some mysterious acts that put Lucy in danger, or are his chances at making a name for himself and surmounting the challenges keeping them apart over before he’s scarcely begun? The Banning family’s new maid, Charlotte Farrow, leaps from the pages and endeared herself to me from the outset. She’s such a compelling and well-developed character that her story within the story adds a rich dimension. The Pursuit of Lucy Banning begins as a leisurely stroll with likable characters, but it’s in the second half of the book that the pace picks up nicely. While I enjoyed Charlotte immensely, I’m such a romantic that I wished I’d have been able to spend more time with Lucy and Will, watching their relationship unfold. I would have liked getting to know Will better, since he’s such a likable hero. I trust he and Lucy will make cameo appearances when readers revisit Chicago in the second book of Newport’s Avenue of Dreams, The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow, and look forward to reading that story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Pursuit of Lucy Banning is the debut novel from author, Oliv

    The Pursuit of Lucy Banning is the debut novel from author, Olivia Newport. It is the first book in the Avenue of Dreams series set during the 1890's in Chicago. Newport's knowledge of the times and customs during this time period is remarkable. Her characters are multi-faceted and very well written. Christian fiction readers may have mixed reactions to the book, but historical fiction readers will find it accurate and believable.

    Olivia Newport takes readers back to 1890's Chicago at the dawning of the World's Fair. One of the things that I liked most about this book was the historical references and knowledge of the times and customs. Newport sprinkles the history throughout the book and keeps readers continually interested. Readers who are actually from Chicago will really enjoy the historical detail, from the descriptions of the town itself to the differences in the political climate. The stark class divisions from those living on Prairie Avenue to the orphanages are clearly drawn and very well written. There was very little information about the World's Fair itself, but that was clearly not the focal point of this novel.


    I really enjoyed Lucy as a character. Not only is she strong and determined but she has a heart for the people. She comes from an influential, wealthy family, yet she takes time to work with Chicago's orphans and provide advice for a young maid in her household, who has secrets of her own. I thought Lucy was resourceful and mannerly, but she did engage in quite a bit of deceitfulness, which will no doubt cause some Christian readers a few moments of pause. Lucy is supposed to be a virtuous Christian woman, yet she continually keeps things from those around her. Personally, I didn't think there was too much controversy here, but I'm sure there will be those who will find fault. Luckily, there are very few instances of this and it shouldn't be a big issue.


    Charlotte is probably one of my favorite characters in the book. As Lucy's maid she is in another class and therefore unable to really associate with Lucy. But Lucy isn't your typical socialite. She understands that Charlotte is in need of her help and it doesn't bother Lucy that Charlotte doesn't have money or clout. Lucy's family in general including the butler were wonderful secondary characters. Aunt Violet in particular was interesting and full of surprises. The plot itself was unpredictable and very entertaining.


    Newport takes a great deal of time to develop the story and introduce the characters, yet the plot of the book itself doesn't suffer from this. It is very well written and readers of both Christian and historical fiction will love this one. There a great deal of wonderful historical information here and I think readers will really be interested in it. Give this one a chance, it's a great book and the beginning of a very promising series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1