Customer Reviews for

The Quarryman's Bride (Land of Shining Water Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was really different in a way of a Romance book. You s

    This book was really different in a way of a Romance book. You some what learn to keep faith along with hope. Some things really happen once tragically happen to one particular family. Things begin to change though out the book. Doe god start to heal their hearts and wounds?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Death note rp!!!

    At death note res 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Ree

    ...can I join?... :/

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Neji

    Is it ok if i changed from neji to itachii or a mmafe up character?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    LAME RP

    !!!!! I is out. Lol DX

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Maadara uchiha

    He walks in with his sharingan eyes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    S

    Thank you ayame.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Ayame

    Fine

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Neko

    "Am not."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ::Description:: Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan were engaged

    ::Description::

    Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan were engaged to be married. However, a horrible disaster that took the lives of Emmalyne's young sisters put a stop to that immediately. An age old tradition of the Knox family states that the youngest daughter will not marry but instead take care of her parents in their old age. As Emmalyne's heart sinks she cannot bear to let her parents down and takes on the selfless act of giving up her one true love and future to honor her family's tradition.

    The Knox family moves away taking with them all of Emmalyne's hopes and dreams but leaving behind her heart. After eleven years circumstances bring the Knox family side by side working with the MacLachlan family and Emmalyne's and Tavin's paths cross again. The only question to remain is will true love conquer all?

    ::My Thoughts::

    I LOVED this book. This was right up my alley and I enjoyed every minute of it. True love at it's best. I felt the author did a fantastic job on the whole novel. Even explaining day to day duties will take you inside the feelings of Emmalyne and other characters in the novel. In the 1800s, before, and likely after family traditions were often put above all else. Very few dared to go against age old traditions and instead accepted them as their lot in life good or bad. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen with Emmalyne and Tavin throughout the novel. Honestly I couldn't read a page fast enough to find out what would happen next. The other characters in the novel such as Fenella, Emmalyne's mother, etc., were also just as interesting. There are a few surprise character's included but it helped boost the story and make it all much more intriguing. This book is filled with happiness, sadness, devastation, intrigue, and love at both it's worst and finest. I can't wait to read the other novels in the series. I felt the entire novel was completely believable and I didn't have trouble following any of it. I definitely recommend this book to all you historical Christian romance readers or just historical romance readers in general! I was right back in the 1800s with this novel and couldn't wait to see how things would turn out.

    This book is available in Print Kindle Nook Audible ...and more! Make sure to check for other forms! :)

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review. All opinions expressed are solely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tracie did an excellent job! Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan

    Tracie did an excellent job!

    Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan had loved each other since childhood and they were to be married in a few weeks when tragedy strikes, a tornado struck and tore their farm to shreds and killed her two younger sisters along with many others in the area. The MacLachlan's took the Knox family in until they could rebuild their home. Unfortunately Emmalyne's dad had other ideas, at the grave site after the funeral he informed the rest of the family that they would be moving that day to Minneapolis, Minnesota and Emmalyne would not be getting married. Since her younger sisters were now dead and her two older sisters were already married it was her responsibility to remain with the family to care for her mother and dad. Emmalyne had a younger brother but the responsibility fell to the youngest girl in the family.




    The MacLachlan's convinced the Knox's to wait and leave the next morning, that night Tavin and his sister tried to get Emmalyne to elope but she refused. She was broken hearted and knew Tavin was too but she felt that the Bible made it clear that she had to honor and obey her father. Once they left town, Tavin left too, moving all over, doing different types of jobs, anything to try and forget Emmalyne, he rarely even wrote home. Letters from home rarely reached him but when the one telling about his father being ill and his brother-in-law being killed leaving his sister gravely depressed did he decided to return home, 11 years later.




    Eleven years later is when the Knox family returns to St Cloud, Minnesota because of a job offer by Tavin's dad who'd bought a quarry. Robert MacLachlan found a very run down farm for the Knox's to rent and put Gillam to work while Emmalyn works like a slave to make the house livable. When Robert asked Gillam to come and work for him he had no idea Tavin would soon be returning home, so the day Tavin walked into the office at the quarry Gillam was not happy and told Tavin to stay away from his daughter.




    Oh Tracie, you did a fantastic job of getting my dander up when it comes to Gillam Knox! I could have just slapped him silly if he was near me, lol, I just wanted to yank him right out of that book and knock some 'feelings' into him. The way Emmalyne did what her dad ordered her to do is to be admired, but at the same time I think she did it for more for her mother's sake. If it wasn't for Emmalyne and her faith I don't know what would have happened to her mother, I'm not sure she would have lived, I think she would have died from a broken heart.




    I would highly suggest this book to my reading friends, I think Emmalyne shows more strength and faith than I would have had. She gave up a lot, what would have probably been a happy life in exchange for a life of emotional abuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    Isn¿t this cover gorgeous?! I love it, it¿s one of the reasons I

    Isn’t this cover gorgeous?! I love it, it’s one of the reasons I decided to read.

    I always say not to choose a book based on the cover but sometimes it works out! This is one of those times!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first I’ve ever read by the author but I’ll definitely be picking up more of this series in the future.

    This story deals with a lot of grief and loss as well as mental illness. I thought that it was fairly realistic and didn’t lead to false illusions to what can happen when a person suffers from a mental break and while I was very sad for how some of the story concluded; I felt that it was realistic and that folks could connect to this very human and realistic element.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Tracie Peterson has done it again! The Quarryman's Bride, the se

    Tracie Peterson has done it again! The Quarryman's Bride, the second book in her Land of Shining Waters series, is a historical novel set in St. Cloud, Minnesota , in 1886. As in her first book of this series, The Icecutter's Daughter, her research of the culture of this period paints mental portraits of the scenes and characters flowing through these pages. I appreciate the strength of the women in her novels, even when depression has crept into the mind of the mother of the main character in the saga of this book. Although this is a love story, it is also a reflection of the Minnesota quarry business. These thought provoking questions are asked of the reader, "To what degree are we required to honor our parents?" and "Will our actions today effect future generations?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    A sweet historical with some very important lessons. I have b

    A sweet historical with some very important lessons.



    I have been enjoying Tracie Peterson's books for several years. Hers were some of the earliest Christian Fiction that I read as a young teenager looking for good and clean books to feed my reading habit. I have never been disappointed in any of Tracie's historicals and The Quarryman's Bride lived up to and even exceeded my expectations.

    The characters were interesting and varied. All of them had problems of some kind that they had to work through and attempt, with God's help, to overcome. There is redemption and happy endings for some but not others, I really appreciated the touch of reality in that.
    Emmalyne sometimes seemed a little too good but I think that was because she actually tried to do the truly Christian thing. Her father makes things very difficult for her but when she realizes her bitterness towards him she tries change her heart and attitude through prayer and actions. Her care tender of her mother is admirable and touching.
    Tavin was a little bit of a different hero in Christian Fiction. He has quite a temper and isn't the usual easy-going, understanding guy. He is honest and the other characters know where they stand with him, if he likes them they know it and if he doesn't, well, they figure it out pretty quick. He is also faithful to Emmalyne, even though he harbors resentment for her obedience to her father, he doesn't rush out and marry someone else, instead has buried himself in work for over ten years.

    The Quarryman's Bride was well researched. I learned little details about quarrying and the transport of the finished product. I love historical fiction but get impatient when an author spends more time describing fashions than actual history. To me, historical fiction should impart historical fact and information in an entertaining and easy to read manner. The Quarryman's Bride did this very well, I learned but it wasn't a bunch of dry and boring dates.

    Another thing I liked about this book is the location. We have all read the stories in New York, Texas, California etc. so it was really nice to read about place that doesn't really get much page time in fiction. Tracie's descriptions of Minnesota, specifically the St. Cloud area, are lovely and informative. That little movie-screen-in-my-head was whirring busily with this book, it took a few seconds to readjust my thinking to my own home and yard.

    To sum up, Tracie Peterson has another winner and a fun read in The Quarryman's Bride. If you enjoy historical fiction that check out this book.

    (I received this book from BethanyHouse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Emmalyne Knox sacrifices her love to take care of her parents af

    Emmalyne Knox sacrifices her love to take care of her parents after the tragic death of her two youngest sisters. Tavin MacLachlan, her fiancée, feels her rejection when their wedding is called off. "The tradition" has forced Emmalyne to turn away from love. What is God's plan for these two star-crossed lovers when they meet after eleven years? Tracie Peterson writes a story filled with love, hope and faith. I was touched by the devotion to family and to God that these characters showed. The author has the ability to paint a vivid picture of life and work around the quarry. We are drawn into a world where people face difficult challenges but are able to find contentment through their trust in a higher power. This is a wonderful story that left me filled with contentment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved how Emmalyne Knox followed the Lord's Commandments, no m

    I loved how Emmalyne Knox followed the Lord's Commandments, no matter the heartache that presented itself. With her heart broken she takes care of her Mother, and Brother and Father.
    At first I did not like the Father, what a grumpy personality. He sure is a "Me Person". Some of the things that have happened in his life are really tragic, but he needs to find his way back to God. Both his daughter and his wife feel he doesn't "Love" them, and he treats them that way.
    We meet more tragedy in this small MN community, it comes from different directions, and seems to be linking back to the Unions??
    We also meet Emmalyne's former Fiancé, Travis MacLachlan. We read and can hear the deep brogue spoken, almost like we are there, through the author's writing. I loved hearing it.
    Will Emmalyne ever have her own personal happiness? Their is the new Dr in town who likes what he sees in her. Will her Mother ever be able to live again, so much grief and heartache. Will her Father ever come back to his Lord, and live a happy life? The answers are here in this wonderful read. I recommend you pick it up, you won't put it down until finished.

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson

    Ms Peterson has an outstanding understand of God's purpose of sharing His spritures and bring Glory to God at the same time. This is one of the best books I have read in a very long to make the facts plain, that God does not leave us to our own way. He is always by our side thru everything we walk thru, we only need to keep the commuication open between Him and us. This book shows how to rekindle the fire back by prayer and that there is hope for everyone who keep their eyes on God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson 1880's, St. Cloud MN. L

    The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson
    1880's, St. Cloud MN. Loved the first book in this series, The Icecutter's Daughter and the timeframe. Was so happy to learn I could get this one and the next.
    Emmalyne Knox and her father are staying at her fiancee Tavin MacLachlan family house due to the tornado that wiped out not only the younger girls but their house and Emmas' future.
    She can not marry-now it's her responsibility to care for her father and mother=because now she's the youngest in the family. She chooses to obey God and not her heart...
    11 years later we find Emma, Angus her brother and parents moving back to St. Cloud. Mr. MacLachian has a house they can rent and she's learned Tavin probably went to Maine to find quarry work after they had left the area.
    The others in her family no longer had time for God, she still believed in his qualities to guide her in life.
    The new doctor Jason, comes to see to her mother's ailments and he is taken with Emma. Emma is busy cleaning and whitewashing the rooms downstairs as the house is a disaster. When Angus becomes sick the mother, Rowena seems to have spark in her life again along with her faith in God.
    The story also follows the MacLachian family and the hardships they endure at home with the sister and at work with union worker's problems and failure of equipment.
    Tavin is to return home and help his father run the quarry. He has furthered his career working with stone. He is still in love with her and will hate working where her father and brother work but he gave his father a promise he would work for the contract.
    Loved hearing how the stone is alive and can tell stories...Scotish traditions of churning the butter sound so magical-driving the fairies away.
    Love how things are solved, not with fists but talking. The priest also helps them to understand that they must have faith in God about all the circumstances that occur to them and friends. Others talk more freely of God also and that sways others to think about Him.
    Like that there are two families and few characters to keep track of-with a few others mixed in. So easy to keep track of the people. Love hearing all the detailed descriptions of things-I learned so much.
    Many scriptures are quoted to help aide them in decisions and their faith.
    I received this book from Net Galley via Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tracie Peterson in her new book "The Quarryman's Bride"

    Tracie Peterson in her new book "The Quarryman's Bride" Book Two in the Land Of Shining Water series published by Bethany House Publishers takes us into the lives of Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan.




    From the back cover: Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan were destined to be together...until the tragic deaths of Emmalyne's youngest sisters. Family tradition mandates that the youngest daughter should remain single to care for her parents in their old age, and now that daughter is Emmalyne. Her father unyielding, Emmalyne surrenders to her duty, heartbroken. Tavin leaves town, equally devastated.




    Years later, Emmalyne's family moves, and she and Tavin meet again. Their feelings for each other are as strong as ever, but their painful past and Emmalyne's father still stand between them. Soon both families are in the midst of the growing conflict rising between the workers at the granite quarry that Tavin's father owns and operates. When a series of near-fatal accidents occur, Tavin must figure out who is behind the attacks before someone gets killed.




    Bound by obligation, yet yearning for a future together, can Emmalyne and Tavin dare to dream that God could heal a decade-long wound and change the hearts of those who would stand in the way of true love?




    I have to say I enjoy The Land Of Shining Water series by Tracie Peterson because Historical Fiction is what she does best. If you have read my reviews before you know that I like history and "The Quarryman's Bride" begins in 1886, Minnesota. This is a story about forgiveness, honor and restoration through the diligence of prayer. "The Quarryman's Bride" is a wonderful romance and the history is perfectly accurate giving a picture of simpler, slower times. Ms. Peterson is an amazing writer and she has given us a great story with plenty of believable characters that we root for to win. I liked this book and look forward to the next one in this series.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    The Quarryman¿s Bride didn¿t last long enough As the second boo

    The Quarryman’s Bride didn’t last long enough

    As the second book in the Land of Shining Water series by Tracie Peterson, The Quarryman’s Bride caught my attention immediately in chapter 1. It was one of those books that I wish I could sit down and read from start to finish. The Land of Shining water series focuses on settlers in Minnesota during the late 1800’s just before the turn of the century.

    The first book in the series, The Icecutter’s Daughter, was full of action and intrigue. In contrast, The Quarryman’s Bride, focuses on main character Emmalyne Knox’s internal struggles to be a good daughter despite her hard family circumstances, and shattered disappointments. But, don’t anticipate a boring read because Peterson is a gifted storyteller that shows us the hearts’ of her characters while cleverly introducing us to Minnesota’s spirited pioneers.

    At age seventeen, Emmalyne Knox was almost a bride to her childhood sweetheart Tavin. When disaster kills her two sisters, Emmalyne’s mother retreats into depression to deal with her loss, while her father, already a harden man, becomes bitterly angry. In his anger Luthias severs his daughter’s engagement and leaves the area with his family. But fate and a good job cause the Know family to return to St. Cloud a decade later.

    Although older now, Emmalyne returns to her place of disappointed hopes, to learn that Tavin has also returned, but he is not the same loveable Tavin she knew. Instead, he is embittered and angry, much like her father. In her despair, and with the help of a caring friend, Emmalyne turns to God and finds hope for herself and her family, despite her hard life.

    Once again Tracie Peterson deftly shares the struggles of the human heart through her characters and shows us how hope in God can change our hearts and maybe even our lives. The Quarryman’s Bride is a poignant story of love and loss and healing.

    Bethany House Publishing sent me a complimentary copy of The Quarryman’s Bride by Tracie Peterson to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2