Customer Reviews for

The Queen's Blade

Average Rating 4.5
( 879 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(494)

4 Star

(223)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I picked this book because of the title and the cover art, and I kept my expectations low, completely ready to toss it if it wasn't holding my attention. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I found it well-written and also, just a min...
I picked this book because of the title and the cover art, and I kept my expectations low, completely ready to toss it if it wasn't holding my attention. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I found it well-written and also, just a minor detail, much more navigable than other Smashwords books I've read.

The characters - the master assassin Blade and the Queen, especially, were likeable and held my interest. Sometimes I don't like "court intrigue" novels because the plots get so baroque and its hard to keep track of everyone, but there were a manageable number of characters here.

In fact, I was REALLY, REALLY into this book and planning to buy the sequel(s), until I got to the last few pages. If you don't like cliffhanger endings (and I don't) you won't like the ending here. I felt there were more than enough larger plot issues unresolved (the fate of the kingdom, for instance)to keep me reading, and then the author threw in a gratuitious cliff-hanger that puts a main character in jeopardy at the last moment. It seemed to be there just to get the reader to buy the next book, and it made me feel... manipulated.

I liked the idea of the bonded animal familiars that many characters had, but it was never explored deeply enough for my liking.

posted by Amanda10 on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Okay

This book was written okay but a little hard to follow. Things went on in the book that was not explained in the beginning so I'm not really sure if I got the jist of what I was supossed to out of it.

posted by lovesbooks42 on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Good Book

    I picked this book because of the title and the cover art, and I kept my expectations low, completely ready to toss it if it wasn't holding my attention. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I found it well-written and also, just a minor detail, much more navigable than other Smashwords books I've read.

    The characters - the master assassin Blade and the Queen, especially, were likeable and held my interest. Sometimes I don't like "court intrigue" novels because the plots get so baroque and its hard to keep track of everyone, but there were a manageable number of characters here.

    In fact, I was REALLY, REALLY into this book and planning to buy the sequel(s), until I got to the last few pages. If you don't like cliffhanger endings (and I don't) you won't like the ending here. I felt there were more than enough larger plot issues unresolved (the fate of the kingdom, for instance)to keep me reading, and then the author threw in a gratuitious cliff-hanger that puts a main character in jeopardy at the last moment. It seemed to be there just to get the reader to buy the next book, and it made me feel... manipulated.

    I liked the idea of the bonded animal familiars that many characters had, but it was never explored deeply enough for my liking.

    56 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    great read

    Great action and very original. I really enjoy this whole series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Great book

    This book is so great i can read it over Nd over again.......... This book is like a Action book and i hope others enjoy it ;))

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Liked it a lot

    Believable, imaginative characters. Interesting plot turns and development. Never got lost or dull. I will read more of these.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Awesome

    You'd be hard pressed to NOT like this book. I enjoyed it very much!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Good read

    I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK. CANT WAIT TO READ THE REST OF THE SERIES?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    This is a story abou two kingdoms, their rulers, and one assasin. The queen Minna Satu wants peace, but her country and the Cotti have been at war for generations. The country's whole economy is based on war, and not everyone wants peace. This stubborn queen however, will have her way. After meeting with the Idol of the Beasts she devises a daring plan, which includes the assasin Blade. Will peace ever be possible or does their hate run too deep? Over all this novel is well written and makes good use of every possibility. The words paint colorful pictures that transport you into the intrugue of this world. The only thing it needs is for the sequal too be free as well because, the end leaves you wanting more. However, this is a book that referances sex several times though, there are no descriptions. It also has many killings with a few gory details. Mostly it is clean, but there are those few things. Basically, this is a good 620 page read that has a fantastical side to it, and I highly recommend it. Signed, Liz

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    good read

    I found this an intriguing read and was only disappointed that it ended so quickly, I am entertaining the thought of purchasing the sequels to this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I liked

    And thats that, so read it cause I say so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    ****

    I held this book for six months after reading a couple of pages thinking that it wasn't going to amount to much. But when I finally decided to give it another try... WOW!!! The only reason that I'm giving it four stars instead of five is that it ends in a cliff hanger. If I don't buy the next book in the series, I'll never know what happens. What a bummer!! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Very good

    This was a very good story that had me hooked from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Sweet little find of a good story.

    Well color me surprised. I wasn't expecting too much from this book as it hadn't been experiencing that much traffic on Goodreads, but it was a really good read.

    In the world of this book, almost everyone has an animal familiar, and they have traits similar to that animal, and also they get along with other animals or not, or fall into certain jobs somewhat predictably.

    When the Queen Minna-Satu takes power, she has one goal, and that's to end the war between her land and the neighboring kingdom. She seeks help from the Idol of Beasts, who tells her how to end the war. To accomplish what she wants, at first she sends brave and cunning soldiers, who fail at the task, and finally, a lone assassin comes to her and says that he would like a chance.

    Blade is at once very interesting and very frustrating. It gave me a pause for thought, because I've often accused the male lead in books, of only pretending to be bad-ass, until they meet a girl and then they are whiny and insecure. Blade, is bad-ass. The right kind, he knows his limitations (he's an assasin, not a bar-brawler) he's very honest about where his loyalties lie (he likes money, could care less about politics) he's full of angst and bitterness (rough childhood) he incredibly selfish, yet, as the reader will find him, like the woman in his life, still a little hard to resist. Woman like to throw themselves at Blade, and Blade for reasons that will become apparent if you read the book, is a little "frankly my dear I don't give a" for the ladies.

    And I did miss it, the romantic or sexual tension. While at the same time, it was nice to read a book without it, the plot couldn't depend on it, people had to go about their lives and make their decisions without any (well...not much anyway) secret trysts or forbidden love.

    The way the book is written, it has an old style inflection, so that it sounds slightly like a non-King-James Version of the Bible, or stylized like the old texts and manuscripts they bring up from those times.

    All in all, I thought it was really solid writing. It had a cohesive plot, well developed characters, and simple, but very effective world-building. I look forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I picked up this book because the title and the cover art made t

    I picked up this book because the title and the cover art made this book pretty intriguing. Unfortunately this book started off a little slow for my tastes and ended up being put down in favor of my books out by my favorite authors.
    However color me surprised when I picked it back up that it was just a slow start and not an abysmal failure of a novel. The story is really enjoyable and I am really glad that I took the time to come back and read it.
    For the most part I am a little disheartened at the ending. The book was a long one, so I can understand it needing to come to an end when it did, but I wished there was something more than the dun, dun, dun...effect as a means of closing an otherwise pretty neat story.
    The real question is whether I would be willing to pick up the next book, and the answer is yes I would. A cliffhanger is not a deterrent for me. One of my favorite authors is fond of them apparently and has turned me into a fiend waiting for the next book in her series. I don't find myself quite at the fiend stage, but I must say I did come directly here to give my rating and check out the next book. All in all Ms. Southwell did a great job crafting a believable world with likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Good plot, characters, and tempo..

    Plenty of twists, characters are entertaining and believable without being over the top. Story line is solid, mirroring days of royalty and wars of title and castles with, the majesty of "foreign enemies" from great lands.

    Love reading so far! Thank you Janessa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Fabulous read

    This book had me staying up late for several nights in a row. I'm looking forward to diving in to the rest of the series, too!

    Very well written with an exciting, adventerous plot. My editor-eyes picked out a few minor things that could have been improved, but truly this is a gem among the free Nook books.

    Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Interesting

    Had a good story storyline. Just went in too much detail at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Really enjoyed this

    I enjoyed this story with an unheroic hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    I do not like historical romances. But I loved this one and bought the sequals.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Very good series

    It does get a little repetative. But the series is very well written and unique. Worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    ??

    Is this book ok for 11 yrlds?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12