BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Queen's Blade

Average Rating 4.5
( 876 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(492)

4 Star

(222)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I picked this book because of the title and the cover art, and I kept my expectations low, completely ready to toss it if it wasn't holding my attention. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I found it well-written and also, just a min...
I picked this book because of the title and the cover art, and I kept my expectations low, completely ready to toss it if it wasn't holding my attention. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I found it well-written and also, just a minor detail, much more navigable than other Smashwords books I've read.

The characters - the master assassin Blade and the Queen, especially, were likeable and held my interest. Sometimes I don't like "court intrigue" novels because the plots get so baroque and its hard to keep track of everyone, but there were a manageable number of characters here.

In fact, I was REALLY, REALLY into this book and planning to buy the sequel(s), until I got to the last few pages. If you don't like cliffhanger endings (and I don't) you won't like the ending here. I felt there were more than enough larger plot issues unresolved (the fate of the kingdom, for instance)to keep me reading, and then the author threw in a gratuitious cliff-hanger that puts a main character in jeopardy at the last moment. It seemed to be there just to get the reader to buy the next book, and it made me feel... manipulated.

I liked the idea of the bonded animal familiars that many characters had, but it was never explored deeply enough for my liking.

posted by Amanda10 on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Okay

This book was written okay but a little hard to follow. Things went on in the book that was not explained in the beginning so I'm not really sure if I got the jist of what I was supossed to out of it.

posted by lovesbooks42 on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 492 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Awesome!

    Usually with free books, at best I expected two things...(1) a short story teaser to get you hooked to the story (2) maybe about 10 or 12 pages.

    What I got was 600+ pages, several riveting characters and incredible world building skills.

    This book hooked me but good! I had to go and get the entire series as well as several other of her free ebooks.

    I think T C Southwell is an incredible prolific and talented author. I've already finished reading the Broken World series and even though I hated the ending, the fact that I hated the ending shows the depth of my involvement of the storyline.

    With Queen's Blade, I could not help but feel from the deeply scarred hero of this tale and the queen, desperate to save her people. I wanted to sweep him into my arms and simply cradle him to futher protect him from the world.

    The author deftly manages to create within the reader emotional ties to a series of fascinating and complex characters.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This is by far the best FREE ebook I've ever read. Detailed characters, a tightly woven plot, and vivid settings are combined to produce one heck of a read. T. C. Southwell is a great story teller!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Amazing.

    Why I didn't hear of this book before I ran out of nook books money? I don't know, it amazing as was the other books (including the prequels.) So, if you bought this book and not the rest your missing out, cause Blade might be down but he is never out.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    This book was awesome!!

    I just finished the first book and will be picking up the second later today. I admit, it was a little confusing at the beginning, but it is so well written that your are instantly wrapped up in the characters and the plights of the kingdom. Great intrigue! The writer piants a very vivid picture every step of the way! Awesome!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A diamond in the rough!

    I was pleasantly surprised to discover this book aftee searching through all the subpar free books out there. This is an excellent story and as a fellow writer, I was impressed. A great, intriguing read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Addictive!

    Great story! Once I started, I read all six books in a week and a half. You just have to know what is going to happen next. Great characters, great story!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK!

    This book is amazing! I cannot put it down! I got it this morning and now im on page 200! This is a amazing book and the story is brilliant! I would recommend this to ANYONE who can read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The world of this story is unique. Everyone born there has an af

    The world of this story is unique. Everyone born there has an affinity for an animal that they bond with for life—the animal’s life is bound up with theirs, so shorter-lived animals enjoy an extended lifespan. People’s natures are expressed by the animals they bond with and attributes they share with their bond animal are accentuated. There are cat-kin, bird-kin, snake-kin, even insect-kin. These bonded pairs communicate together and are so close that nothing is more traumatic than to survive the loss of one’s bond-animal.

    The story is about an assassin who has no bond-animal. His horrific past has led him to claim that he doesn’t care about anything, least of all whether he lives or dies, which has made his reputation as an assassin because he takes on risky jobs. The law in this land is that the crime of the assassination is against the client who hires the assassin rather than the assassin himself, but that doesn’t make assassins respectable, though they have a guild and some rather rigid ethical restrictions to distinguish them from common murderers. Because assassins are forbidden to kill each other, they obtain status within their guild not by body counts, but by displaying their deadly skills in a “dance of death” that is judged on artistic merit by acclaim of the other assassins. The finest assassin in a city is called the Master of the Dance.

    Blade is the Master of the Dance in Jashimara’s capital city. His country has been involved in the Endless War with the Cotti, fierce desert warriors, and the new queen is determined to bring it to an end and has consulted an oracle on how to stop the war. The answer she obtained will demand all her courage to see it through—and she needs someone to carry out the first step—infiltrating the Cotti lands and the Cotti army to kill the Cotti king and kidnap the king’s grown heir, and bring the prince back to her. There is no shortage of gallant and accomplished warriors who volunteer but don’t return, with or without the prince.

    Blade is twenty-eight, the age when most assassins are either dead or ready to retire because their skills are starting to slip, and the queen has offered the tantalizing reward of nobility and a rich estate. Blade persuades the queen to let him try to accomplish the mission, and in doing so, becomes entangled in the political intrigues of both countries—neither of whose political elite are the least bit interested in an unprofitable peace.

    I enjoyed the plot, but the thing that made this book—and the series—hard to put down was the character development of Blade as he reclaims his humanity and, despite his claims to the contrary, becomes a true hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Great FREE book! I just got the next one!

    Great FREE book!
    I just got the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Great story

    I really enjoyed this book. It's very well written, it creates a new world with interesting characters and a compelling story. I can see why she gives away the first book free - I'm seriously considering purchasing the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Another good one

    Seems like I keep finding series in this genre. I think this series is a good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Extraordinary Storyteller!

    Like many others, the title and cover art intrigued me (as did the "free" in the listing), but the storytelling of the author and her characters are what captivated me. Yes, the books are designed to be cliffhangers, like the serial stories of bygone days, but they are well worth the time and money. I've finished the series (including prequels) in record time and can't wait until the author releases another. In the meantime, I'm going to start reading one of her other series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    wonderful story!

    This is the first book in a wonderful series. If love fantasy adventure and an interesting and original hero you will love this book! Warning-you will want to read them all so be prepared to become enamored of the series! Her hero is one of the most multi-dimensional characters I've encountered in all my years of reading the genre. He is absolutely fascinating! The vivid world created in the pages is enchanting and you will be sucked in. A wonderful read-highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    Picked this up because it was a FREE book. Quickly got addicted, couldn't read the series fast enough. I was able to lend these to a friend, and she complained that I wasn't reading fast enough (i.e., lend fast enough). Reminded us a little of Game of Thrones in a way. Great adrenaline rush, adventure. Fantasy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! The story is so refreshing from all the other stories and it keeps your attention from beginning to end. I felt like I was right there in the middle of the action! Could not put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Definitely a book for older young adults and adults, you won't be able to put this down until you've read the entire series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    excellent!

    Good thing I had the day off & could read the book cover to cover. Now downloaded the rest of the series to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended....from a serious non-reader....very serious....

    First, a little about me. I am a 39 year old male. I say that, because in all honesty, in 39 years I have literally finished two books, cover to cover in my entire adult life. My wife purchased a nook for me, in hopes of turning me into a reader. Typically, I am not a reader....at all, mostly a hard-core gamer and avid movie lover, so I had little hope. When I say I am not a reader, I should say I HATE reading. I despise reading. I loathe reading. I think you get the point. I downloaded this book after reading the reviews, and thought it sounded interesting, and honestly, my wife made a great effort to get me a nook and I did not want her to feel bad that she got me something I would never use. 8 days later...now I know what people mean when they say they couldn't put a book down. While I cannot speak of characters, or the intensity of the plot while developing characters...blah, blah, blah, I can tell you that for someone who would rather sit through 2 hours of a timeshare presentation, than read a book...I loved it. To me the book was very interesting, and I could actually begin to "see" the characters and surroundings, and to much surprise, was beginning to get some emotion out of it. Who knew you could get emotion out of a book? I always thought those people at the doctor's office, reading and laughing to themselves were just plain crazy. I like it so much so, that I will be purchasing the rest of the series upon completion of this review. And the fact that as soon as I finished the book, I felt compelled to write this review should speak volumes. Thank you to the author for opening my eyes to a whole new world. While that may sound corny and contrived, I am at a loss for words that I actually enjoyed a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    War, Adventure, and Truces

    At first the book seemed a little slow, confusing, and I wasn't sure what was happening. But you weren't sure who the Queen's Blade was, which was what I was reading for. As I kept reading though, I enjoyed the characters and the writing style was flowed well, during conversations, explaining details, and descriptions. It is a great book which will make me actually buy the rest of the series!

    Edit 8/10/11

    I believe it has been less than a week since I have written this review and have to add more. This series which at first was slow and confusing has become my obsession and when I am not working or doing what I have to do I am drowning myself in the series. I will be ending it soon as I am on book Five and am clinging to the hope that all goes well. Amazing series and worth worth worth EVERY penny. Please buy these books and support a great author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Amazing

    Such a great read!!! I've completed the whole series. Def shuld make this into a movie. Likable characters...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 492 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25