Customer Reviews for

The Quest

Average Rating 3
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I h...
It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I hope to see you soon in AL and I am thrilled beyond belief to hear you speak at my favorite independant book store!

posted by Lynda166 on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I

MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I was anticipating the arrival of the pre-ordered  copy of The Quest. Upon opening the book you find an author's note stating that it was published 40  years ago and on the advice of an editor sex was added ...
MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I was anticipating the arrival of the pre-ordered  copy of The Quest. Upon opening the book you find an author's note stating that it was published 40  years ago and on the advice of an editor sex was added to make it more current.Barnes and Noble should have been truthful to its loyal customers and revealed this fact. Feel totally ripped off and should be receiving a refund! I think I will stop pre-ordering books and wait for readers comments before purchasing . Pass tis comment onto the author and publisher.

posted by 124105 on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I

    MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I was anticipating the arrival of the pre-ordered  copy of The Quest. Upon opening the book you find an author's note stating that it was published 40  years ago and on the advice of an editor sex was added to make it more current.Barnes and Noble should have been truthful to its loyal customers and revealed this fact. Feel totally ripped off and should be receiving a refund! I think I will stop pre-ordering books and wait for readers comments before purchasing . Pass tis comment onto the author and publisher.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    I would have said prior to reading this book "Nelson Demill

    I would have said prior to reading this book "Nelson Demille is my favorite author". I've read all of his books and eagerly anticipated this book when I preordered it. I'm not sure what happened but this book is dull and the characters are pretty one dimensional. Usually, Demille's books catch me right away and I'm interested in the story. I love his usual cheeky approach to relationships between men and women. It is fun. Not so in this book. What happened, Mr. Demille? Perhaps it is because this book was originally written earlier in your career and didn't show the depth of your usual mature writing. Please don't take and old work and "update or rewrite" it again. I feel ripped off!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I cannot believe it

    The Quest is awful. Nelson DeMille is one of only 10or so authors that I read the second the book becomes available. Never again. I stopped reading this book after slogging through 150 pages, and realizing that reading is supposed to be pleasant and this wasn't. Just a very boring story with uninspied characters. Terrible.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Nelson Demille is one of my favorite authors and I eagerly await

    Nelson Demille is one of my favorite authors and I eagerly awaited the release of this book but was sorely disappointed. He mentioned it was one of his earlier books he re-wrote, but it reads like he found one of his college manuscripts in a box and decided to publish it with little or no effort and capitalize on his name. Shame on Mr. Demille and please do not waste you money on this tripe.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great Read!

    It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I hope to see you soon in AL and I am thrilled beyond belief to hear you speak at my favorite independant book store!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    DeMille has always been one of my favorite authors, but the two

    DeMille has always been one of my favorite authors, but the two books prior to this one started what is now a confirmed downhillslide in quality. Turning wisecracking detective John Corey into a terrorist fighter has not worked; his jokes seem lame in the international setting. Since this book was not involving the Corey character , I had high hoped for it. But it turns out this is DeMille's worst effort ever.. Not only is this basically a retread of a 40 year old book, there seemingly was nothing done to update it or make it appealing in any way. The characters were unlikeable, the plot boring, the dialogue terrible. It seemed like maybe this was his first book written inhigh school. Absolutely awful; I bailed after about 100 pages. The first time ever I did not finish one of his books. Do not waste your time or money on this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    If you are a "It's Nelson DeMille and Damn The Torpedoes&qu

    If you are a "It's Nelson DeMille and Damn The Torpedoes" fan then you might enjoy this book. I'm pretty forgiving but this thing is a turkey. Let me count the ways:

    All of DeMille's characters retain the same characteristics. Like using the word "right" all the time. Only a small percentage of Americans use the word "right" as an acknowledgement to someone else's statement. The sarcasm is there, you can bet your boots on that. But the plot is a plod - too much mundane "filler" that taxes the patience of the reader. This is supposed to be the same author that wrote thrillers like "The Charm School" which in my opinion rates many stars. DeMille could have spent more ink or pixels on describing Africa. or even for that matter Vatican City - but he didn't. He expended all his energy trying his best to create an air of tension between the three main characters. And it does not work. I am on page 250 something and I am damned near ready to archive this loser. I had to chuckle last night when I found myself wishing the "opposition" would catch the three wraithlike main characters (they are so shallowly constructed and get it over with.
    The book continues DeMille's downward spiral from greatness to mediocrity. Eleven bucks down the you-know-what. I will NOT be ordering any more of DeMille's books UNTIL 50 reviews have been posted with at least a 4 star rating. No more wasting money on novels that are as compelling as a Roadrunner Wiley Coyote cartoon.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    A great story

    [FTC requires that I let you know I recieved this book as a GoodReads/ First Reads giveaway and I thank Hachette Press for their generosity. This in no way has affected how I feel about this book and all opinions are 100% mine]

    This book is a re-working of deMille's 1975 book of the same name. Much like Sir Edmuund in the story, I too have been captured by the Grail and the legends that have sprung up around it, but more as a theologian than a soldier/of fortune.

    Henry Mercado, Vivian Smith and Frank Purcell meet and then bury an old monk who has been imprisoned during the wars for Ethiopian independance. As he dies, he tells them a fantastic "new" tale of the Grail Cup and that they must find it and keep it safe. And the three of them, along with a soldier with a fantastic tale of his own, find their way carefully back to the area and their Quest begins.

    Romantic in it's seearch for the true cup, but cynical in a time of great historical horror, this is a search for the truth, by whatever means.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    booooorrrrrinnnnng.... usually enjoy his book, but this is slow

    booooorrrrrinnnnng....

    usually enjoy his book, but this is slow, tedious, boring.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    As always - so excited to have my hands on a new Nelson Demille.

    As always - so excited to have my hands on a new Nelson Demille......
    That was where it ended. I finished the book because it wasn't awful it just wasn't great. I loved the story idea and could see a lot of John Corey in Frank Purcell and all that did was make me miss John Corey even more!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    I have read every one of Mr.DeMille's books. He is my favorite a

    I have read every one of Mr.DeMille's books. He is my favorite author. Unfortunately, this is one of the first books that I've ever put down before finishing it. It lacked everything I admire in Nelson's writing. Boring from the start and it got worse. I get the impression that it was released to make some quick cash. This is probably the worst book I've ever read. Now I'm not sure if I'll ever purchase another DeMille book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Just okay

    My husband and I have enjoyed DeMille's books for years. His humor is razor sharp in such novels as Up Country and The Panther. And what is a 63 year old man doing lusting after a 23 year old...kinky. And then she gets it on with another character when her lover is tied up and hanging from a torture post...right under his nose. This novel was painfully slow to read and we only finished reading it because we respect DeMille. We did not enjoy this novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A huge disappointment!

    I am a big Nelson DeMille fan but the Quest was a long and dreary read. Had it been written by an unfamiliar author,I doubt that I would have finished it. As far as a can't put it down enjoyable book, it doesn't come close to Plum Island, The Gate House, The Gold Coast, Night Fall, etc.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    C+ to B- read

    I have read every one of Mr. DeMille's books as he is a very good to great mystery/adventure writer. This is not his best one and it was generally disappointing. It is interesting but I wouldn't recommend purchase. Wait till it comes out in paperback or better yet get it from the library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Without a doubt, this was the worst book from him I have ever re

    Without a doubt, this was the worst book from him I have ever read. While it started out with an excellent premise storyline and characters, it soon bogged down to mundane writing, no meaningful plot changes. I'm almost at the end, just because I need to see how he pulls the ending off. Hopefully, it is something imaginative, but I'm down to the last 20+ pages, and it "ain't lookin good".

    As stated in the other comments/reviews, shame on BN for not noting this was an earlier work by him. Is he behind in tax payments and had to throw something together??

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Left much to be desired

    Found this book to drag on and was kind of boring. The sex parts read like they were written by a novice. Very boring geography lessons as well as the boring history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Just finished this book and it should have never been published.

    Just finished this book and it should have never been published...You can tell that this is very early DeMille. Subject matter is as outdated as the prose. Thank goodness his writing style has improved exponentially.
    Gratuitous sex only degrades the writing.
    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK
    This is not the DeMille I am used to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Anonymous - October 26, 2013

    The best thing about this novel is that some of it was written before DeMille descended into filling pages with the inane witticisms of John Corey. Adding romance to his earlier version of this book does little to increase its literary quality. Not a bad read, but it never approaches the heights of his pre John Corey novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Terrible. Awful. The worst written book I have ever picked up. D

    Terrible. Awful. The worst written book I have ever picked up. Did Mr. DeMille really write this? If it had been an unknown author it would have never made it out of the envelope at the publisher's office.

    The story is lame. Mr. Deville should stick to the plots he is good at. A love story is not his forte.

    I did not have the problems with the electronic book that others mentioned but I wish I would have so I would have given up a lot earlier on the book. The publisher should reimburse every person who bought this book.

    When I see an author and their publisher stoop to this level to sell a book it means I will never read the author again. Mr. Demille, thanks for all the great books but I have read the last one of yours.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Mr. DeMille, where did you go?

    My husband and I have read every DeMille book and were disappointed in The Quest. We both became so weary with the "triangle", which seemed to become the plot rather than the quest for the Grail. The tension between the three was tiring. Neither of us finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9