Customer Reviews for

The Quest

Average Rating 3
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I h...
It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I hope to see you soon in AL and I am thrilled beyond belief to hear you speak at my favorite independant book store!

posted by Lynda166 on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I

MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I was anticipating the arrival of the pre-ordered  copy of The Quest. Upon opening the book you find an author's note stating that it was published 40  years ago and on the advice of an editor sex was added ...
MY husband and I both usually enjoy Nelson DeMille's books. So I was anticipating the arrival of the pre-ordered  copy of The Quest. Upon opening the book you find an author's note stating that it was published 40  years ago and on the advice of an editor sex was added to make it more current.Barnes and Noble should have been truthful to its loyal customers and revealed this fact. Feel totally ripped off and should be receiving a refund! I think I will stop pre-ordering books and wait for readers comments before purchasing . Pass tis comment onto the author and publisher.

posted by 124105 on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great Read!

    It's difficult for me to pick a favorite novel by Nelson DeMille because I love them all. But I think this is my favorite. I hate to give too much away, if you love adventure, suspense and love you will enjoy this! Thank you Mr DeMille for such a fantastic read! I hope to see you soon in AL and I am thrilled beyond belief to hear you speak at my favorite independant book store!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    High Recommend

    A great read. A little different style for DeMille. I hated for the book to end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Excellent

    Once I started this, I couldn't put it down. I am Nelson DeMille fan, and "The Quest," is one of his absolute best. I highly recommend it. It catches your attention immediately, and never lets go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Congrats! He has done it again!

    Great read. Typical of DeMille's cynical humor. Very informational. Love his novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I have read ALL of Nelson DeMille's books. This one was very different from the others. Religion, history, mystery, and great writing. After reading about 20 pages, I really got into it, and couldn't put it down. Congrats Nelson for a wonderful book. Can't wait for your next one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Interesting theory

    Interesting book and well written. Was a little confusing occasionally with times. Good history of that time in Africa. Brought out alot of things that I have forgotten about that time. Interesting theory on the Holy Grail.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Excellent red

    Love this book... it has great foundations that give the reader a comfy place to leave preconceived notions and follow the author through some captivating twists, turns and revelations. The majority of books that I've read seem to have a good idea for a story line, but most authors lack the skill to artfully tell their tale and fall far short of expectation. That is not the case with this one. - A very satisfying find!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    A great story from a great storyteller!

    Nelson DeMille is one of my favorite authors. As a writer myself I always read with a critical eye toward what the writer is crafting so it was interesting for me to read this book he wrote early in his career. I can see and feel the development of this writer as the book unfolds, knowing full well he has matured into a master of the craft over the years through his long list of published works. While there are a few rough sentences here and there it's a great story set in the 1970's with a plot centered on suspense, mystery, terror, action, blood and guts, sex, and conflicted rewards and closure for the 3 heroes. Entertaining. A quick adventure in mysterious Ethiopia. I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I loved this Nelson DeMille lost treasure. I am glad he resurrected it. It was a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Pretty dispointed in DeMille

    This has to be his worst aattempt at a novel in his career. Don't waste your time, wish I had not mine

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Good

    Good read

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    HK

    Ask me anything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Classic DeMille

    Reminiscent of his writing style in Up Country and By The Rivers of Babylon. I wonder how many of the naysayers of this book just read the sample that stated it was an updated rewrite of a paperback originally released in 1975 and then posted their rampages.
    This was an extremely complex, exciting, and enjoyable read that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Katarina

    Here for the quest...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Mike

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Emma to mike quest

    Ok you will find a tunnel to your old parents house but first you need the three keys find them all over camp also the underworld but watch out for THE BAD BAD BAD NAKO THE DEMON? before the time runs out before the end of the week. But first you need a pale and animal friend to go along with you on your journey look out for one to come along with you before you start your journey................................................................................................................

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    To Celestialstar

    Featherdream is locked out. #afriend

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    To questers

    Its result six. And the people have already been picked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    TwilightSoarkle

    There is friendship all results. Gtg eat. Bbl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Pinkiepie to darkclaw

    Yes and do you remeber hawkstar and your mate there at that clan?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3