Customer Reviews for

The Quiet Ones

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I have read every book by Sygnet that i can find!

Love all her works! Although I was intrigued by the book from the beginning and couldn't wait to unravel the mystery, I was a little disappointed in the ending and felt like it could have used another chapter called 1 year later. Still would give it 4 stars for keeping...
Love all her works! Although I was intrigued by the book from the beginning and couldn't wait to unravel the mystery, I was a little disappointed in the ending and felt like it could have used another chapter called 1 year later. Still would give it 4 stars for keeping me hanging on with every word!

posted by 10785029 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maybe my expectations were too high after reading the entire Det

Maybe my expectations were too high after reading the entire Detective series written by this author and being extremely impressed with the writing style and story but this book, in my opinion rates at the bottom of the barrel. I wasted my money and deleted the book af...
Maybe my expectations were too high after reading the entire Detective series written by this author and being extremely impressed with the writing style and story but this book, in my opinion rates at the bottom of the barrel. I wasted my money and deleted the book after suffering through the characters teenaged sounding speech pattern and poor storyline. A huge disappointment to me.

posted by Dyow on August 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Just excellent!

    It is nearly time to get up although I have been up most of the night because I couldn't put this book down. Thank you for writing it LS. I was hooked from the first page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    I keep telling myself that I need to leave a review for this boo

    I keep telling myself that I need to leave a review for this book - because I did love it, even if it was incredibly sad and hard to read in places because one character seems to bear a very heavy burden - so today, since it's a holiday weekend and I've sworn off doing anything I don't want to do - here's my review.

    This book details high school violence, which is hard for some people to read (myself included), but it is not graphic about what the victims suffered. The story involves the perspective of the survivors and the police who are trying to solve the crime. Naturally, the survivors don't want to keep reliving what happened, so the investigation is difficult. The police IMO get drawn into the world of the survivors more than I ever considered might happen in a crime like this, but that too seems logical.

    Mostly, though, the theme in the book isn't about whodunit. Yes, the crime is eventually solved, and I was surprised by the motive behind the crime, but to my way of seeing things, it personified how hate is such a motivating factor in all evils. I perused some of the other reviews here, and have to say after reading this book (twice, to be honest), that the reviewer AD must not have read the entire book. There is no persecution of gay people at all (and after reading all of the Eriksson novels, I would have to say that LS Sygnet has no qualms whatsoever about portraying healthy, happy, normal homosexual relationships). The subject matter is dark, but it's really not fair to trash a book because it touches on one's greatest fears (which this reviewer flat out admits, like he feels like the author wrote the book specifically to freak him out). I'd love to know what did inspire this book, because it is really intense, and I'd imagine there's a long story about how it came to be written. As for those who hated the teenage dialogue, well guess what? The characters ARE TEENAGERS! Are they supposed to sound like college professors? That said, it's not a book written for teens. I recommend the book, enjoyed it, even in the places where I thought I was going to cry. I think this story will stay with me for a very long time. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    I highly recomend

    This is a book about how an evil mind works, it is also about finding strength to deal with unthinkable circumstances. I couldn't put this book down, it was fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Loved this book!

    A great read. I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    LS Sygnet has done it again!

    Another awesome book from this author! It grabs you attention and doesn't let go!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Chief and sheriffs bio update

    Chief holmes..is a long furred german shepered...with one blue eye and a green eye...mate is shadow..he wants pups..hates..sex slaves...abuseres...and all that evil stuff. <p> sheriff...he is a black german shepered with a white snout...crush is.....hmmm....ask me....he hates everthing chief hates...oh and cats.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    A book that will tear at your emotions and set you right into th

    A book that will tear at your emotions and set you right into the lives of these characters.  LS Sygnet has become my favorite author and will
    continue to read all she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Another great book from this author. Amazing story, I just coul

    Another great book from this author. Amazing story, I just couldn't put it down until I finished keeps you riveted to your seat until the last word is read. Thank you for sharing your gift of writing with all of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    would highly recommend this book. Only go back to the first book by this author. LS Sygnet kept me guessing as the why and who. I think I have read all his books, even if not in order.

    FIRST BOOK WAS A FREE ONE, after that I HAD TO READ MORE. WHICH I DID AND WOULD RECOMMEND EVERYAGE GROUP OVER 14 TO READ HIS BOOKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    PEACELAND

    Is next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Another Gr8 one for LS Sygnet!!!!

    Another Gr8 one for LS Sygnet!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1