Customer Reviews for

The Racketeer

Average Rating 4
( 1003 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(402)

4 Star

(251)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(91)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I have read everyone of mr.grishams books, this book is one of his best.its not bogged down with alot of useless information.keep up the great work.

posted by 16601766 on October 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

BORING

John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple...
John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple small town lawyer he claimed to be. This could have been a good book, but was not written with the suspense of Grisham's earlier books. By the end of the book I didn't like any of the characters and only finished the book to finally get closure on what had become an obvious ending.

posted by JacksonvilleReader on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1004 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 51
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great!

    I have read everyone of mr.grishams books, this book is one of his best.its not bogged down with alot of useless information.keep up the great work.

    56 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    A really good, fun read! Grabs your attention and doesn't let go. Will easily cause you to stay up late, reading. Definitely worth it. Keep up the great work, Mr. Grisham!
    ~Munchkin

    37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    BORING

    John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple small town lawyer he claimed to be. This could have been a good book, but was not written with the suspense of Grisham's earlier books. By the end of the book I didn't like any of the characters and only finished the book to finally get closure on what had become an obvious ending.

    31 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Grisham

    Not really sure how to write my review. Story-very good, length-just right, the rest? not sure. Just didn't feel like the Grisham of old. Hard to explain. Was he just pushing words for money? Enjoyed the book but just not worth the money for this one in my opinion. Left kind of an empty feeling in the pit of my stomach. Worth reading but wait for the paperback version to save some money on this one.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Save your money

    Did not like it! Choppy, poorly written, implausible, hard to follow. Seems like Mr Grisham did this for the gold only. I allow one mistake so the next book better be back to my expectations of a John Grisham novel or I won't purchase another. Fool me once....

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    I have read all of Grisham's Books. I bought this one the day it

    I have read all of Grisham's Books. I bought this one the day it was released and could not put it down. Definately one of the best books I have read in awhile and one of my favorite books of his. It will keep you guessing until the last page. GREAT BOOK!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    A little disappointed

    I've read all of Grisham's books and anxiously await his every novel! I started reading this one and the writing felt off. It was as if being told a story by a boring Uncle. It is missing the suspense and texture usually woven into his writing. The final dissappointment was the author's notes in which he proudly claims he "did no research". Eagerly awaiting Mr. Grisham's next novel.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Not one of his best.....

    In the epilogue the author proudly states he did not do research for this novel. He should have.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    When I want to savor a good book John Grisham never lets me down. I read this book in one afternoon. He is absolutely one of my favorite authors of all time! He has a way of drawing you into the story and keeping you there.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    You smell like dead angel........

    Very good.

    12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Depressing!

    I have read every
    Ghrisham novel, but this one is a dud. I couldn't get past the first chapter and wish I hadn't pre-ordeted it. Save your $15 for a better read.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Medxiocre Mediocre at best

    Plot is not very credible.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Loved it

    I was getting a little bored with the lawyer John Grisham books but this was unexpected. I really enjoyed this book!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great book, fast-paced, fun.

    Great book

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Not One of Grisham's Best

    I chose a John Grisham book to help me get back into the habit of reading as, in the past, I've found his books to be quick page-turners- hard to put down. This, his latest book, had good reviews and the premise seemed intriguing.

    Alas, I was largely dissppointed by the book. The plot centers around a lawyer in jail for racketeering who supposedly knows the identity of the murderer of a federal judge. Right off the bat several elements of the plot seemed largely implausible including the claim that the protagonist was more or less innocent of the charges that landed him in jail. More annoying was Grisham's use of the first-person narrative interjected with occassional passages of third-person. In another setting, this might have worked, but here it was clumsy.

    The storytelling lacked any real excitement - at no time did I ever feel the characters to be in peril. Instead it was the slow, and at times laborius, detailing of a convulted scheme. There are countless passages that read like a travel itinerary as though Grisham was merely trying to fill pages.

    Two final quibbles: Grisham almost brags in the Author's Note at the end that he did no research for this book. It is painfully obvious in his whole attitude towards the story. I suppose when you are successful as Grisham, you can phone one in from time to time as he does here.

    My other quibble is that Grisham, who is white, chose to make the protagonist African-American, then write in first person. Ultimately it doesn't ring true leaving us with a character who is neither likable or memorable.

    Some have called this book a "return to form" for Grisham, but I know he has written much better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Isucks

    It lame

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Suspenseful

    This one was hard to put down and it kept me guessing. While paarts of it may stretched the imagination, the plot always snapped back to believable boundaries

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Not his best work

    This was just an ok read. Not nearly as good as some of his others. It was an easy read though. If you are looking for a book to pass time and not keep you glued to your nook, this is it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Very clever plot

    While I enjoyed all of Mr. Grisham's works, this is my new favorite. Very easy to connect with the main character.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Dont waste your time

    At the end of the book under "Author's Notes" he explains he did no research - it was evident. If you get this book read the first two chapters and the last two. It is my opinion you don't need the rest. I didnt enjoy the plot, nor did I think the characters were developed into anyone i could identify with. Worst book i have read in a while. I was very disappointed and expected better from Grisham.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1004 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 51