BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Racketeer

Average Rating 4
( 1015 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(410)

4 Star

(252)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(92)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I have read everyone of mr.grishams books, this book is one of his best.its not bogged down with alot of useless information.keep up the great work.

posted by 16601766 on October 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

BORING

John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple...
John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple small town lawyer he claimed to be. This could have been a good book, but was not written with the suspense of Grisham's earlier books. By the end of the book I didn't like any of the characters and only finished the book to finally get closure on what had become an obvious ending.

posted by JacksonvilleReader on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Grisham

    Not really sure how to write my review. Story-very good, length-just right, the rest? not sure. Just didn't feel like the Grisham of old. Hard to explain. Was he just pushing words for money? Enjoyed the book but just not worth the money for this one in my opinion. Left kind of an empty feeling in the pit of my stomach. Worth reading but wait for the paperback version to save some money on this one.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    A little disappointed

    I've read all of Grisham's books and anxiously await his every novel! I started reading this one and the writing felt off. It was as if being told a story by a boring Uncle. It is missing the suspense and texture usually woven into his writing. The final dissappointment was the author's notes in which he proudly claims he "did no research". Eagerly awaiting Mr. Grisham's next novel.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Not his best work

    This was just an ok read. Not nearly as good as some of his others. It was an easy read though. If you are looking for a book to pass time and not keep you glued to your nook, this is it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    So so Grisham

    I have read all of Grisham's books, some a couple times. This novel is average for him. I can tell he is getting lazy. Some of the characters feel the same as from previous novels. I honestly feel like he is just "riding his name" now. Plus, he botches the first person perspective. You will see what I mean if you read it. 3 stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    The Rackateer not one of Grisham's best

    Okay...normally I really like Grisham and read his stuff in a few days...It took weeks for me to get through this one and I finally figured out why. I just didn't like the main character. Without giving anything away, I will just say that Malcolm Bannister/Max rubbed me the wrong way. I didnt feel sorry for him or empathize with him or anything. If you want good Grisham read his last book..its much better! Now that I'm done with The Racketeer all I can say is that I'm glad that it's done and I can move on to another book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Different for Grisham

    Of all the Grisham books, this is in the middle. Not as good as some but better than others. It was not nearly as gripping as Row of Sycamores, for example. It was quite different from most of his books, but not necessarily in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I like anything by Grisham

    He always produces excellent reads. But the plot in this one is a bit too farfetched to be believable, in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Decent Read

    a very good read, read it very fast; not one of his better efforts, but all in all, a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Good, not great

    This book is worth a read if you are a Grisham fan. Just not the best one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Recommend

    If you like twists and turns, then this is the book for you. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Just okay

    This was my first john grisham book and i wasnt very
    impressed. Although the plot was clever, the characters arent likeable so it made me not care much about reading. I am usually easily entertained by a book, but nit this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    An enjoyable read

    I find I am once again looking forward to reading John Grisham books. I don't believe he is writing up to his standards set in his beginning years of writing, but at least I feel he at last has passed over those years that some of us consider an author's dried up period of writing. I do look forward to being entertained by future books from Mr. Grissham. This was a great and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    fun & quick read

    this isn't a bad book but it's not a great book. it was a fun read, grisham does a great job with creating characters. but the plot was predictable...grisham-esque. still worth reading and daydreaming about who will be cast in the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I'm a big fan of John Grisham, & always enjoy his books. He'

    I'm a big fan of John Grisham, & always enjoy his books. He's frequently criticized for being too formulaic, and I think it's a fair criticism, but nevertheless he's a great story teller, and his novels are always interesting to me. This is the first book of his that I've read where it felt like he was just sort of going through the motions. It was nowhere near as compelling as most of his earlier books, but nevertheless it was still interesting, and a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    John Grisham knows big concept stories. THE RACKETEER is another

    John Grisham knows big concept stories. THE RACKETEER is another such tale from the first page to the open-ended ending. Sure, it’s easy to find fault with this novel—and it has a few—but it does provide enjoyment, along with a somewhat unlikeable main character. He does know how to write a page-turner, as I found myself flipping pages with effortless ease. But I did feel as though the story could have been a bit more fleshed out; the characters were a bit more skeletal than some of Mr. Grisham’s earlier fare.

    I do like the tried and true concept that is used here, and in other Grisham page-turners, where the little guy sticks it to the big corporation. But I probably would have enjoyed this novel a bit more if Malcolm Bannister had been a nicer guy. Instead, we have a guy who spent five years in prison, and the metal gates and cement walls have hardened him a bit too much. He’s out for justice and revenge in every sense of the word, and he’s willing to run over whatever and whoever manages to stand in his way.

    If you’re looking for a good page-turner, you’ll certainly get that here. If you want Grisham at his best, you might want to check out some of his earlier work.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Grisham is one of the best story tellers on the market. My other

    Grisham is one of the best story tellers on the market. My other favorites are Nelson DeMille and John Sandford. Having said that I find that a white author writing a main character who is black can never fully do it justice if only because they have never really felt the prejudices suffered by a black person in this society. I'm sure there are those who disagree with that but... However, I think when Mr. Grisham signified in his story that his character "felt" more white than black it had perhaps helped his presenting his character to the reader. The plot had it's twists but remained, for the most part, somewhat transparent. I think, unfortunately that this book only suffered by a little overreach by the author to help the plot play out. Yet, having made my complaints, I did enjoy it just not as well as some of his others.

    I wish Grisham would return to Ford County and reveal more of the gossip of Clanton. What ever happened to Willie Traynor? The Ruffin family? [I'd love to have been a party to those dinners on the porch and talk to Callie!] What about Jake Brigance from "A Time to Kill" and Harry Rex [who was also in "The Last Juror,' my all time favorite Grisham work]? Surely, they had more cases than Carl Lee Haley! And what of Lucien Wilbanks who, though he used some dirty tricks to win some cases not all of his clients were a Padgitt!! Wasn't he the "first" white member of the NAACP? Surely he must have had a trial or two in which he was on the side of the angels?

    Though Mr. Grisham has had his fame from such books like "The Pelican Brief" and "The Firm" I've enjoyed his Clanton stories the best. I wish he'd take us back to Ford County again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    S0 so

    I read most of John Grisham's novels. This one was sort of disappointing. It was a good enjoyable read I just couldn't believe the plot I didn't think the narrator of the story was all that innocent. I had a hard time believing that the FBI characters were so stupid I just didn't think it was on the samel level as some of Grisham's earlier works. It was fun to read butbut, I don't know. I expected something better from Mr. Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Edge of seat

    First book i've read from this author. Great book i thought .had me on the edge of my seat with how it was all going to turn out. It was kind of rushed at some parts and obvisoulsy its fiction but somethings were unrealistic. But intresting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Not one of his best. A good read but nothing spectacular like h

    Not one of his best. A good read but nothing spectacular like his earlier works

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9