Customer Reviews for

The Racketeer

Average Rating 4
( 999 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(402)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I have read everyone of mr.grishams books, this book is one of his best.its not bogged down with alot of useless information.keep up the great work.

posted by 16601766 on October 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

BORING

John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple...
John Grisham's books are becoming as boring as James Patterson's. I didn't like the lead character from the beginning--alternated between being whiney or slimey. And it became very obvious early on that he knew way too much about circumventing the law than then simple small town lawyer he claimed to be. This could have been a good book, but was not written with the suspense of Grisham's earlier books. By the end of the book I didn't like any of the characters and only finished the book to finally get closure on what had become an obvious ending.

posted by JacksonvilleReader on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Suspenseful

    This one was hard to put down and it kept me guessing. While paarts of it may stretched the imagination, the plot always snapped back to believable boundaries

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Good Read

    This is my second novel by this author. The story line was good and keep my attention to the end.I have looked at other comments and since am not an avid fan of Grisham's I don't know his writing style and wasnt disappointment as other fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Fun read

    Great Summer fare

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    A really fun read!

    Loved this book, it was a fun read! Great for a "beach read"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Great story telling. You don't really see the end coming.

    Great story telling. You don't really see the end coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Enjoyed, light reading for a thriller

    I always enjoy reading the insights and experiences of the law profession, which I know nothing about. Likeable main character, was rooting for him all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Moving, interesting. Couldn't wait to pick it up as time allowed.
    Recommended mystery reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Read from a law enforcement perspective

    Very interesting as the author obviously did a lot of research in criminal behavior as well as life behind bars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    When I want a story that keeps me on the edge of my seat guessin

    When I want a story that keeps me on the edge of my seat guessing what is coming next before having the rug ripped out from under me, I know choosing a John Grisham novel will fit the bill.




    What begins as a story about a man who has spent the last several years in prison turns into a novel of intrigue and suspense as the main character, Malcolm Bannister, finds himself in the center of a high profile case involving the murder of a federal judge. In exchange for his freedom and federal protection, Malcolm agrees to provide the identity of the murderer in addition to why the judge was killed.




    The most interesting thing about this story for me is how the story takes on a life of its own with the numerous plot twists and turns. As each layer of this intricate and complicated plot is peeled back, I found myself more and more surprised.




    I highly recommend this story if you are a fan of mysteries or thrillers that surprise you throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Another great read

    Was always trying to think ahead, but the book kept ahead of me. Very good to read. Didn't want the end to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    a good read

    won't disappoint Grisham fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Fun Read

    A good fun read in the Grisham mold. A little different story line for him . Keeps you engaged throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Not one of his best but still a good read

    Enjoyed this book. Not one of his best. Plot a little disjointed in places as the plot develops. Some event sequences were predictable which lessened some of the surprises. In the end it all came together nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Really liked it

    I am a big fan of John Grisham. I have read almost all of his books and while he may have veered off course from what he usually wrote in the past, this book was pure Grisham. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    I have read everyone of John's books and this one was so funny,

    I have read everyone of John's books and this one was so funny, serious, sad, and any emotion you can feel when reading this book. I had it read in two nights because I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    If you start this novel, get comfortable.

    'Just a minute, I'm coming to the end of the chapter.' Right. The suspense flows freely and continuously. It's like eating potato chips; once you taste the first one, you can't stop from eating many more. What a thriller!! John Grisham is a true master of the legal thriller!! Do not miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Wi-fi

    I am exided becuase I finaly conected to Tawas rv park Wi-fi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    THE The racketeer

    To anonymous posted June 30 2013 there was not a fictional plot in innocent man this book was based on a true story Grisham's first nonfiction and the racketeer maybe the same as other books but thats okay all that means is this book is great to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Really enjoyed this book and at times just couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended- Grisham has found his groove again.

    I've been hesitant to pick up another Grisham attorney story after several of the last ones were lacking in the drama and suspense that he's had in the past. In this one however, he seems to have dropped the formulaic storyboard he had been following, losing the heavy and almost saddening storylines that I felt his past several had had. In The Racketeer, Grisham has seemingly thrown caution to the wind and written an enjoyable tale that has all the suspense and drama I'd been missing. Even the author's note at the end states that he based this story on no sort of reality whatsoever and this made it a lighter tale, but still very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13