Customer Reviews for

The Raft

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Mission impossible

The raft is full of emotion. I felt sucked into the emotional rollercoaster. I felt joy at her successes and raw in the disparaging moments. The end is where I felt the most raw. It's a compelling story of a girls struggles and how she overcomes them. This is a great st...
The raft is full of emotion. I felt sucked into the emotional rollercoaster. I felt joy at her successes and raw in the disparaging moments. The end is where I felt the most raw. It's a compelling story of a girls struggles and how she overcomes them. This is a great story for ages 12 and up. She is 15. It really is an emotional journey. I can only give this advice, while reading this book, the reader is under deress and therefore is not responsible for their emotions.

posted by 5595162 on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So when it came to The Raft by author S.A. Bodeen I have gotta a

So when it came to The Raft by author S.A. Bodeen I have gotta admit that I was a bit hesitant. The last time I read a novel about a character being deserted and left to survive by themselves, I was left majorly disappointed and slightly annoyed… but I’m glad that the ...
So when it came to The Raft by author S.A. Bodeen I have gotta admit that I was a bit hesitant. The last time I read a novel about a character being deserted and left to survive by themselves, I was left majorly disappointed and slightly annoyed… but I’m glad that the Raft finished and left me in a fairly positive mood. The Raft was the type of novel that I personally believe survival stories should be about, just because it focuses more on the fact that the character is aware of her imminent doom and is left to fend for herself.

The Raft focuses on main character Robie who after being left alone in an apartment in Hawaii, stows away on a plane to get back to the island her parents are at. The plane crashes and Robie finds herself lost at sea in a life raft with limited supplies with the plane’s co-pilot Max. Robie battles the ocean itself, her humanity and comes to term with the fact that unless she comes across a miracle she will die. In The Raft, you find yourself watching Robie as she struggles not only physically but—and more excitingly—psychologically.

The Raft began in a way that I found amusing and a bit relatable, it starts with the main character getting her nose pierced. Immediately I found myself smiling and getting bitten with a bit of jealousy (I’ve always wanted a nose piercing!!) and considering the fact that Robie is told that if she gets ocean water into the piercing hole that it would get infected I noticed the irony. And spoiler alert: It totally gets infected, in case that much wasn’t obvious enough already. Anyhow, Robie finds herself left to her own business in her friend’s apartment and after getting assaulted in the mall, leaves to go be with her parents.

While surviving in the raft, Robie grows close with Max who throughout the novel slips in and out of consciousness. I have to admit the entire novel I questioned Max’s existence as a character, he seemed strange and wasn’t built up on all that much—he didn’t seem ideal to the plot until the very end of the novel which I’ll get into later. I will say that Max did seem romantic considering whenever he spoke about his dead girlfriend you got a real sense of tragedy from Bodeen’s writing style.

I think it’s a bit bad that the entire novel I was secretly hoping that the novel would get very realistic and that Robie would in fact die. I mean, there would be a total sense of realism there right? How many people who get lost at sea actually survive and get to come home all perfect and peachy? Zero. (And if I find a bunch of comments with statistics and how the above was completely wrong… Gabby ‘gon find you. )

The ending of the novel I found would have been my favorite part, considering that the climax of the plot (I found) is when we learn that Max is actually *omitted from review via the bat cave computer*. It was crazy and makes your eyes widen in shock and the fact that everything suddenly makes sense after the *omitted* event.

I would recommend the Raft to fans of Lost Girls, readers who want a quick entertaining read that can be finished in one sitting and fans who want to know what it feels like to be lost at sea.

posted by chapterxchapter on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Mission impossible

    The raft is full of emotion. I felt sucked into the emotional rollercoaster. I felt joy at her successes and raw in the disparaging moments. The end is where I felt the most raw. It's a compelling story of a girls struggles and how she overcomes them. This is a great story for ages 12 and up. She is 15. It really is an emotional journey. I can only give this advice, while reading this book, the reader is under deress and therefore is not responsible for their emotions.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Raft was such a fast read. I was gobbling up the book and fi

    The Raft was such a fast read. I was gobbling up the book and finished
    it in one sitting. While I was on a 7 hour airplane ride. Now I only
    mentioned where I read this book because The Raft is about an airplane
    ride gone wrong. The airplane crashes and the main protagonist ends up
    having to survive using only a raft and Max. So imagine how my nerves
    were every time we hit turbulence; my stomach would drop down to my
    feet. However I believe that actually made me enjoy the book even more!
    Robie always takes flights from where she lives to Honolulu whenever she
    feels like taking a break from her town and visiting her aunt. However
    due to some circumstances, her aunt had to leave and Robie stayed home
    alone at her aunt's house with the condition that her aunt's friend
    would check on her everyday, but what are the odds when the friend calls
    AFTER the aunt leaves and tells Robie she can't come and to tell her
    aunt that she's sorry. Of course Robie wanting to experience freedom
    says thank you to the friend and never mentions it to her aunt. One
    night Robie almost got robbed at night and was so scared that she went
    to the cargo airplane that was about to take off and asked if she can
    ride this flight. However when the air turbulence got so bad to the
    point of crashing, the co-pilot Max, throws Robie off the airplane and
    into an inflatable raft and jumps after her. This is when the survival
    lessons begin. I am always fascinated by the survival stories. How can
    a person survive through days without water? or alone in a place no one
    will find you without losing your mind? How can a sheltered girl somehow
    becomes strong in thinking and skills when it is required? Our bodies
    seem to always surprise and exceed the limitations we put on them during
    these times, and our brains also seem to know how to act in such
    situations. Robie is an example of that. She took care of Max, he was
    always asleep because of his concussion, she learnt quickly how to get
    food, water, to keep her mind busy before she lost it and to never lose
    hope. From time to time Max would wake up and talk about himself, which
    seems to be the only connection she had to human life. She was a true
    survivor. The way S.A. Bodeen wrote The Raft with just one setting, one
    person, and barely another conscious one was just addicting. When I
    first started The Raft I had my reservations: How can I read about one
    person thinking throughout the whole book in one setting without much
    interaction? let me just say again that I could NOT put the book down no
    matter how sleepy I got. It was pure enthrallment. As for the ending,
    boy was that an emotional ending, you might think this is a simple
    survival novel, but what S.A. Bodeen through at the end totally shocked
    me and had me shouting "WOW! Genius!!". I will not post any
    spoilers in case you want to read it. The Raft was another amazing
    survival novel that strengthened my love for survival novels even more!
    With so little to work with, I mean it is set in a RAFT, S.A. Bodeen
    knew how to keep the readers hooked and unable to stop her novel till
    the end!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    AWESOME!

    Its similar to the book, The Cay by Theodore Taylor

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an emotional roller coaster for the reader. Robie i

    This book is an emotional roller coaster for the reader. Robie is involved in a cargo plane crash and survives, along with the co-pilot Max. This whole book reminded me of an episode of the Animal Planet show: I Shouldn't Be Alive. There were many parts of this book were Robie was close to dying. Robie is only a 15 year old girl: she is incredibly resourceful in this novel and really has to rely on herself. This book confused me greatly because it is told in a first person narrative from Robie. As the reader, we do not know if many of the things that happen are real or if Robie is imagining them. The ending is somewhat of a cliffhanger depending on how you look at it. This book is definitely worth the read. It is highly emotional and gave me many cases of goosebumps. It is light in pages, but it is a thought provoking read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Amazing

    Raft is about a girl named Robie ends up in a plane crash with a new vo pilot shes never seen before. They soon have nothing t eat and the only thing they can dtink is rain. Soon Robie is alone on an island and has to survive. The raft has been torn up and theres no help on the way. Raft is an awsome book for all ages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    Title: The Raft Author: S.A. Bodeen Genre: YA survival The Ra

    Title: The Raft

    Author: S.A. Bodeen

    Genre: YA survival

    The Raft is both a gruesome, stark and poetic novel at the same time. Told from the point of view of a Robbie, a teenage girl that
    survives a plane crash, this survival story is sure to send chills down your spine and keep you flipping the pages as fast as possible
     (or at least that’s what I did).

    Robbie is taking a quick flight from Honolulu to Midway Atoll, where her family lives. She’s taken the flight several times, but this time
     there is a new copilot, named Max, on board with her as well. When the plan goes down in the middle of the night, Robbie’s life
     becomes a living nightmare. 

    Max pushes Robbie out of the plane and follows after her minutes before the plane hits the ocean. With nothing but a leaky lifeboat, a
     bag of skittles and an almost-useless-but-not-quite Coastal Commander kit between the two of them, things quickly go from bad to
    worse. After several days without food or water, Robbie finds herself becoming more and more delirious. Max has barely spoken at all,
    so Robbie starts talking to herself.

    Eventually, because the raft is still leaking, Robbie is forced to lessen the weight the raft is bearing to slow down the rate of the water
    leaking through. She puts Max (who is unconscious) in a life vest and pushes him out of the raft, making sure there is a rope securely
    attached from his life vest to the raft. I’m not going to say anymore about this matter except that things start to get creepy from this point
     on.

    After a week or so at sea, Robbie finally lucks out and stumbles onto a small island. Although she no longer has to worry about sharks
    in the water, Robbie must test her survival skills to their limit. She needs food, water and most importantly, rescue. Max isn’t much help
    at this point and Robbie is extremely weak as well. 

    On the island, Robbie quickly learns that death is part of life, and it isn’t always pretty. Robbie also learns that sometimes by
     “helping” out a situation, you’re actually making it worse. Seriously *********spoiler alert********* I almost cried when Robbie thought
    she was saving the baby seal when in reality she was killing it.

    Although the details of the novel were vivid and at times gruesome, the writing is also poetic. In fact, I feel like some of the shorter
    chapters could stand as a poem on their own. Most of the novel is still written in standard novel format, but the scattered poetic writing
    pieces found throughout the book really enhances the story.

    One thing I must say though: I was NOT prepared for the ending at all. I had to reread the last few pages to make sure I’d read it right.
    Bodeen creates some serious twist and turns in the plot. I got some serious chills and shivers after finishing the book. Warning:
    this is not a book for the faint hearted!

    Likes: *the poetic writing was flawlessly combined with the narrative writing
    • the chapters were short but action packed
    • the author doesn’t shy away from vivid details


    Dislikes: *I got a bit mad with Robbie at some points throughout the book; I mean, she was kind of selfish when she stole
     food from Mac (though given the circumstances, I probably would’ve done the same)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    awsome book

    Love how its suspensful in between chapters

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    ok, could be better. you would think that a book about being str

    ok, could be better.
    you would think that a book about being stranded on a raft would have a lot of detail, it really didnt. it bored me at many points when they were on the raft. i found a lot of the main character's thoughts included much unecissary information that was a drag to read. the other character "max," didnt have any personality or humor and really didnt make much sense. i felt like he was just there to keep the main character company. otherwise, it was a good book and idea, i just wish it was writtin better.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Love it

    I loved this book. There were surprises at every end and you never predicted the ending. I loved how you felt her emotions. Its a great book and as i said before I loved it and so did my friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    The Raft

    This book makes you think. What would happen if I didn't have anything and was stranded on an island... What Robie experiences is amazing. The story is extremly well written and I couldn't put the book down. I would reccomend this to any adventurous reader out there :)


    ----
    reviewed by a middle school girl

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So when it came to The Raft by author S.A. Bodeen I have gotta a

    So when it came to The Raft by author S.A. Bodeen I have gotta admit that I was a bit hesitant. The last time I read a novel about a character being deserted and left to survive by themselves, I was left majorly disappointed and slightly annoyed… but I’m glad that the Raft finished and left me in a fairly positive mood. The Raft was the type of novel that I personally believe survival stories should be about, just because it focuses more on the fact that the character is aware of her imminent doom and is left to fend for herself.

    The Raft focuses on main character Robie who after being left alone in an apartment in Hawaii, stows away on a plane to get back to the island her parents are at. The plane crashes and Robie finds herself lost at sea in a life raft with limited supplies with the plane’s co-pilot Max. Robie battles the ocean itself, her humanity and comes to term with the fact that unless she comes across a miracle she will die. In The Raft, you find yourself watching Robie as she struggles not only physically but—and more excitingly—psychologically.

    The Raft began in a way that I found amusing and a bit relatable, it starts with the main character getting her nose pierced. Immediately I found myself smiling and getting bitten with a bit of jealousy (I’ve always wanted a nose piercing!!) and considering the fact that Robie is told that if she gets ocean water into the piercing hole that it would get infected I noticed the irony. And spoiler alert: It totally gets infected, in case that much wasn’t obvious enough already. Anyhow, Robie finds herself left to her own business in her friend’s apartment and after getting assaulted in the mall, leaves to go be with her parents.

    While surviving in the raft, Robie grows close with Max who throughout the novel slips in and out of consciousness. I have to admit the entire novel I questioned Max’s existence as a character, he seemed strange and wasn’t built up on all that much—he didn’t seem ideal to the plot until the very end of the novel which I’ll get into later. I will say that Max did seem romantic considering whenever he spoke about his dead girlfriend you got a real sense of tragedy from Bodeen’s writing style.

    I think it’s a bit bad that the entire novel I was secretly hoping that the novel would get very realistic and that Robie would in fact die. I mean, there would be a total sense of realism there right? How many people who get lost at sea actually survive and get to come home all perfect and peachy? Zero. (And if I find a bunch of comments with statistics and how the above was completely wrong… Gabby ‘gon find you. )

    The ending of the novel I found would have been my favorite part, considering that the climax of the plot (I found) is when we learn that Max is actually *omitted from review via the bat cave computer*. It was crazy and makes your eyes widen in shock and the fact that everything suddenly makes sense after the *omitted* event.

    I would recommend the Raft to fans of Lost Girls, readers who want a quick entertaining read that can be finished in one sitting and fans who want to know what it feels like to be lost at sea.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    This looks like a very good book

    This looks very entertaining

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Pretty good

    Not a bad read. It was an easy book to get in to and it wasnt as boring as i thought it was going to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Great Read and will Keep you On Ur Toes- for teens!

    This book was purchased as a group reading (of 4) in my daughter's freshman high school English class. She was in awe of it. She loved the dynamic ending and was totally surprised how it ended. A great read for Teens!! Similar ways to the sixth sense movie. :):)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Poorly written

    I was expecting much more after reading the review. Then after reading the book i was so let down! First of all it was poorly written, then the story line wasn't even that good. What a wast of money!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;)

    This was a really good book.It always had me on the edge of my seat. Go SA Bodeen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    L

    LOVE IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    PERFECT!

    I love this book!! Its so thrilling and exiting! Well done!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    VERY VERY GOOD !!!!

    Loved this book, suprisingly the book tricked me. Though, it is still very good.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Love it

    I love this book so much when i seen the covet i wanted to fead it so much and when i got it i loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4