Customer Reviews for

The Rancher's Second Chance

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so much better than I thought it was. Cole and Mel

    This book was so much better than I thought it was. Cole and Melanie had been around each other for years. Melanie always had a crush on Cole, but he was a few years older and always had his eyes on the woman he married. He found love early, and lost her to cancer. He vowed to never form an attachment to a woman again.

    Melanie, was so misunderstood. She had a very hard life growing up. Cole always assumed she was a materialistic girl, not knowing the reason that she came home with his sister was because it was the only safe and happy place she had ever known. She escaped her dads home, but has been all alone since her mom and sister were too afraid to leave with her.

    Mel is working as the wedding coordinator and has to spend time at the ranch, around Cole, and even though they're like oil and water at first, they seem to open up their eyes a little more and really learn who the other is. But there are complications to come in the form of old ghosts, and family.

    I'm hoping book 2 is Mel's sisters book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Rancher's Second Chance isn't the type of romance novel I ty

    The Rancher's Second Chance isn't the type of romance novel I typically read. I generally prefer younger characters or more sexy times and even a healthy dose of angst. This book managed to completely enthrall me though. I'm a sucker for a second chance love story, especially when the character is as good as Cole was. The devastating loss of his wife left him closed off and definitely not in the market for love. Until, that is, his baby sister Corrina ends up in the hospital with an emergency appendectomy in the process of planning her wedding. Her best friend, Melanie, shows up to help and she and Cole are thrown together. They share a mutual attraction, but it's one neither is willing to make a move on, until they are. Once they do, it's sweet and romantic. They have chemistry, but the love scenes are mostly fade to black and it was perfect the way it was. 

    Both Cole and Melanie were likable, relatable characters. Cole's friend Gage adds a bit of naughty, flirty bad-boy to the mix and Mrs. Harris, the meddlesome housekeeper is amazing. Gage and Mrs. Harris both play Cupid, in their own charming ways, and it all left me feeling warm and fuzzy. 

    This was a quick, easy, romantic read. The characters were well-written, even if they weren't particularly complex. Both Cole and Melanie were keeping secrets and while I had feelings about both of them, I didn't have strong feelings. I wasn't overwhelmed with emotion while reading this book, but I definitely enjoyed it for what it was: a beautiful story of a man getting a second chance at love and the woman who was lucky to find him. And vice versa. 

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5  warm and fuzzy stars. The Rancher's Second Chance was a sw

    3.5  warm and fuzzy stars.

    The Rancher's Second Chance was a sweet, quick read that told a beautiful story about two people who are learning to let go of the past and move forward.  Victoria James writes wonderful characters  that she pushes outside of their comfort zones and forces them to really look inside themselves to see what it is they want from life.

    I enjoyed The Rancher's Second Chance, it was a breath of fresh air after so many of the angst-filled and dark romances I have been reading.  While Victoria James tugs at your emotions and tackles some heavy issues it isn't going to leave you emotionally destroyed in its wake.  Cole won me over by just being himself,  a cowboy with a broken heart that is happy being alone and wants to be the best rancher he can be.  Melanie was a tougher nut to crack.  I feel like we really got to know Cole but Melanie's story was all stops and starts that we had to piece it together, I really wanted to know more about her background before it all came out at once.  Also, I would have liked a bit more tension and sizzle (but that may be my warped mind liking the behind the door stuff out in the open) from Cole and Melanie, it almost seemed to happen too soon at one point and I wasn't sold until a few chapters later.

    Victoria James is definitely an author I will pick up again and read more from.  I loved her witty dialogue and characters that had spunk  (That Mrs. H was a hoot!).  I am assuming that Passion Creek is the start of a series (or at least I hope it will be) since I would love to check in with Cole and Melanie and definitely would love to get my hands on Gage's story.

    If you are looking for a sweet, romantic read that tugs a pit on your emotions this is a great book to pick up!  Add The Rancher's Second Chance to your TBR pile and meet Cole and Melanie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2015

    I always enjoy Victoria James' books, and this one was no except

    I always enjoy Victoria James' books, and this one was no exception.  A very wonderful romantic love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2015

    Very good

    I enjoyed reading this book very much! I think it had a little bit of everything in it. Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story of second chances.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    by Kim

    I will not deny that I’m a huge fan of Victoria James. Her books always seem to draw me in and tug at my heartstrings. The Rancher’s Second Chance was no different.

    When it comes to writing likeable characters who have been through the ringer, Victoria has the midas touch. Cole Forrester buried his wife five years ago and doesn’t want to risk his heart getting broken again. Melanie Simms is courageous beyond belief. She’s carrying around a secret that very few people know about. I hesitate to say that she’s feisty, but she does stand up for herself and those she cares about.

    Melanie is planning the wedding of Cole’s sister, Cori. Melanie and Cori have been best friends, since they went to the same private school. With Cori stuck in the hospital, just days before her wedding, it’s up to Melanie with the help of Cole, to get everything prepared. Cole isn’t a fan of Melanie. In fact, he doesn’t even know her. He just assumes that because she went to a private boarding school, that she’s a spoiled princess.

    With a meddling housekeeper who’s like a second mom, an outspoken best friend who loves to flirt, and a blizzard, you have the recipe for romance. But before these two can find the happiness in their lives that they crave, they’re going to have to overcome their past and their fears. I was surprised by the secret Melanie has from her past. I think Victoria did a wonderful job of addressing it and showing the readers a small part of it.

    I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in this series.

    **ARC courtesy of Entangled Publishing for an honest and unbiased opinion. Plus I purchased the book myself.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Second Chance At Love. Rating:  4 1/2 stars I was gifted a co

    A Second Chance At Love.
    Rating:  4 1/2 stars

    I was gifted a copy of this book from the publisher and author in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any way.

    Melanie Simms is a wedding consultant doing a favor for a friend.  Cole Forrester owns a ranch.  Almost from the beginning, Victoria has the reader laughing.  So you will need to be careful if you have the munchies – you don’t want to choke.  It’s nice to have a romance where you can laugh at the characters – makes them seem more human.

    If you love reading about a sexy brooding cowboy then this book is for you.  Maybe you like to set the mood while you’re reading; wintertime is a perfect time of year to bundle up in your favorite throw/blanket, start a fire in the fireplace, and have a nice hot drink handy.  How about a female character that’s not perfect but has the hots for someone she shouldn’t.

    Not all families are picture perfect.  Just remember, you can pick your friends but not family (and boy do I know that first hand).  This story shows the reader how some men feel they have the right to treat the women around them any way they want to.  But I applaud those that are strong enough to walk away.  This is what makes this tale so real – Victoria’s characters seem so believable.  

    This author gives a good life lesson in this great romance – you don’t have to suffer alone.  Don’t be afraid to find someone you can talk to or even ask for help.  This book isn’t graphic but it allows the reader to be either sweet or erotic when filling in the blanks.  And it’s one thing that keeps the reader engaged.

    Personally, I feel that Victoria wrote the perfect happy ending – it shows that no matter how bad your situation may be, you deserve a chance at love.  She also gives the reader hope that there’s also someone out their for them (unless you are already in a committed relationship).  You can’t go wrong in adding this book to your library.  If this is the first piece of work that you’ve read of Victoria’s, you may find that you will want to read something else of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    These books can be read as stand alones - the characters do not

    These books can be read as stand alones - the characters do not cross over for more than a couple paragraphs in passing. 




    This book is about more than just one man's second chance - it's about a second chance for both Cole and Melanie, just in drastically different ways. Cole is grump and short and doesn't seem to like anything since his wife died several years ago. Even though he promised her to move on, he never really has. He is determined to see the ranch succeed and doesn't need some high society girl like Melanie to help him do it. 




    Melanie is not what she seems to most people. Coming from a incredibly wealthy family, most look at her and think "trust-fund kid". But she left that life far behind her for a variety of painful reasons that she chooses not to speak about - ever. She's now a struggling business owner just like most people in Passion Creek. 




    Melanie was hired by Cole's sister to plan her wedding - which has placed her in his path more than he really likes. Especially since there seems to be something special, different, about Melanie that he can't seem to wrap his mind around. This is the story of them trying to open up and heal each other's hearts - trying to find a way to move forward and past all the painful memories and moments that have been holding them back. 




    A very sweet story with some sass that Victoria James seems to enjoy spreading around - and I really appreciate her doing so. Some of the dialog about short people with blotchy faces was great (you'll know what I mean when you get there). 




    *This book was received in exchange for an honest review* 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Losing your soul mate to death is devastating to anyone. Every p

    Losing your soul mate to death is devastating to anyone. Every person handles it in a different way. For Cole, the devastation was complete. No one would ever take her place. He would work his ranch, cherish his memories and strive to achieve their dreams, all while living his life alone. He had had his one chance at love and had no interest in finding another. Then Fate dropped a bombshell into his path.

    When Cori, Cole's sister, was out of town, she was rushed into emergency surgery just a few days before her wedding. Appealing to her best friend and wedding planner to handle the last minute details, Melanie knew she was glad to help, but that meant dealing with her older brother, Cole. Although she had admired him from afar, he barely acknowledged her. She knew he thought she was a rich, spoiled, high maintenance socialite, but he couldn't be further from the truth. She had paid dearly for her independence, but those were her secrets. She knew he would never be interested in her. Only why did he have that scowl when his friend flirted with her and what about that look he gave her in the borrowed lingerie when the weather forced her to spend the night. Could she be mistaken? Was he as interested in her as she was in him? Could he be just better at hiding it? Was there a possibility of a future? Or would his late wife always be between them? And the most telling, would she be able to share her secrets with him and survive?

    Protective, sexy and handsome, Cole was any woman's dream of the perfect man. A tough exterior hiding a warm center, he had loved his wife and never wanted or needed another woman. Surprised at his feelings when he observed his friend flirting with Melanie, his sister's friend, and flabbergasted at the sudden interest and desire that ran through him after he observed her in the sexy lingerie, he felt confused. She was nothing like the wife he had cherished, but the pull of long forgotten emotions were definitely there. He was definitely attracted, but was he ready to take the plunge into dating again? Would it be a betrayal of his love for his late wife? What could a high maintenance spoiled city girl give him in return? Should he risk it? Was there a possibility that he could have two great loves in his life?

    An excellent story of a hot sexy cowboy with a broken heart and a society city girl with dark secrets finding their paths to an eternal love. Well written characters with a well developed plot provided a tale of the pitfalls in every new relationship. While they bare their secrets and hope for acceptance, they wonder if they have chosen wisely. The matchmaking antics of Mrs. Harris and Gage, were entertaining and provided many laughs as they steadily pushed them together. I laughed, cried and sympathized with the characters on their journey.

    I would recommend this story to all romance readers. I was given a copy by the author for an honest review.

    4/5 stars Did they have a chance for love?



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have read several of Victoria James' books in the past and rea

    I have read several of Victoria James' books in the past and really enjoyed them, so when I had the opportunity to read The Rancher's Second Chance, I couldn't wait to see what kind of story Victoria James would write that included a cowboy.  Needless to say, she didn't disappoint and has written a romantic and entertaining story that readers will love.




    Melanie Simms is a wedding planner and she just happens to be planning her best friend's wedding, which is being held at the family's ranch, a ranch which her friend's brother Cole Forrester runs.  As fate would have it, when her friend falls ill while out of town, Melanie must handle things on her behalf, which includes going to the ranch for some final preparations.  This also means she will be seeing Cole, who has always made her heart flutter.  Cole lost his wife several years prior and has been alone ever since, just the way he wants it.  In his mind, no one could ever replace her and he has no intentions of getting into a relationship now or ever, but there is something about Mel that causes a stirring inside he hasn't felt in a long time.  Melanie has her own secrets centered around a painful past.  When circumstances thrust these two together, the attraction they feel cannot be denied and the sparks begin to fly, but will the past and the hurts that still remain threaten to destroy any hope of a future for them before it even begins.




    I loved the characters in the story.  Cole is one super hot cowboy, and when he loosens up, he is a really fun guy to  He also has a very protective side, and he's determined to get what he wants.  Melanie is a city girl, but she's also very strong-willed, and strong as person.  She can be a lot of fun to.  One of my favorite characters in the book was Cole's friend Gage.  I absolutely loved him and I really hope he is getting his own book.  




    Overall, The Rancher's Second Chance is romantic and has just the right amount of sizzle.  I loved the story itself and found it to be romantic, sexy, and though it had its serious moments, it was also fun and enjoyable to read.  Victoria James has done an excellent job with this contemporary romance - it's most definitely something contemporary romance fans will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1