Customer Reviews for

The Raven Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

The Raven Boys is a story that is full of fantasy and supernatur

The Raven Boys is a story that is full of fantasy and supernatural occurrences that actually originate from factual, real life beliefs that I actually looked up after finishing the book. However, with this stellar and rich plot, The Raven Boys has a cast of unique, indi...
The Raven Boys is a story that is full of fantasy and supernatural occurrences that actually originate from factual, real life beliefs that I actually looked up after finishing the book. However, with this stellar and rich plot, The Raven Boys has a cast of unique, individualistic characters that you can’t help but fall a little bit in love with and also be jealous of their friendship and want to be a part of their posse. Four boys, The Raven Boys, the name given to boys who go to Aglionby, the private school for rich kids, are what the story revolves around, along with Blue, the girl that somehow triggers everything around them.
I honestly think what landed this book in my top books of 2012 list are the characters, their friendship with each other, and how the four boys, even with their differences and their distinct personalities, mesh so well together and would do anything for each other. Then enters the psychic’s daughter, Blue. She’s destined to either fall in love or kill one of these four boys, and we find which one at the beginning of the novel. Also, prophecies from all psychics have warned her about kissing the love of her life because with that one kiss, death will do them part. Blue quickly becomes a part of their group and I really liked how there are no lies, deceits, and backstabbing happening between them.
Blue ends up getting close to someone but who is NOT the Raven Boy we were promised in the synopsis and that our hearts, well at least mine, has been dying to get them together. But I must warn you, if you are expecting romance to be the leading theme, or even the secondary theme, then you are mistaken. The first theme is most definitely the boys’ obsession with finding out the ley line (click on the link to find out more about Ley Lines) and finding the buried one. The second is the friendship between them and how normal life still gets in the way of their quest to unraveling the supernatural that this world does indeed have. Maggie’s writing was so enchanting in The Raven Boys; I was holding my breath in so many scenes. I also somehow became as obsessed as the boys were in trying to find the ley lines. Also, Gansey, one of the boys, has totally stolen my heart. He was like the father of all the boys. He busted their butts when they weren’t studying, saved them when they got into fights, and vouched for them when they were going to get kicked out of school or were abused at home.
If you are not a fan of The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, then I still urge you to read The Raven Boys. This book is not in the least bit similar to the Shiver series. I honestly wouldn’t have guessed for the life of me that the same author wrote both books. I am so glad Maggie has decided to explore her own fascination in ley lines and create such a powerful and memorable novel that had me yearning to get my hands on the second book when the first hasn’t even come out yet!

posted by majibookshelf on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was expecting.

I did not enjoy this book like I expected to. I've read several other Maggie Stiefvater books, the most recent being, The Scorpio Races which is one of my favorites! This book was dark, heavy and less appealing to me but then again, I don't enjoy reading about mediums a...
I did not enjoy this book like I expected to. I've read several other Maggie Stiefvater books, the most recent being, The Scorpio Races which is one of my favorites! This book was dark, heavy and less appealing to me but then again, I don't enjoy reading about mediums and witchcraft.

The body of the story seemed very wordy (for lack of a better term) and I often felt like I was reading an Alice Hoffman novel. The alternating POV's were confusing at times because I wasn't sure who was speaking, causing me to have go back and reread sections which is both time consuming and annoying.

The characters themselves weren't bad and I enjoyed their personalities, witty banter and sense of humors but that was about it. The plot didn't hold my interest and I don't really see the need to spread it out over several books.

Having said all of that, not every book will please every person and I'm OK with that. I've no doubt that The Raven Boys will have many fans but I'm just not one of them. (insert frowny face)

posted by Cupcakegirly on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From one glance to the synopsis that I found on the book, I was

    From one glance to the synopsis that I found on the book, I was overly excited to read Maggie Stiefvater’s latest novel. I’m a big fan of hers and after just finishing The Scorpio Races I was expecting to read something that was as breathtaking as The Scorpio Races and I have to admit I was a bit let down by The Raven Boys which is the first book in the Raven Cycle series. If you’ve read The Scorpio Races and absolutely loved it to the extent that I did—you might be able to understand why I was expecting something that was on the same level of fantasticness and found this novel coming up short.

    It wasn’t bad. I feel I should just make that perfectly clear right now. It was very, very far from bad and was fairly good. And if what I say in the rest of the review is appealing to you, then you will probably fall in love with The Raven Boys. The novel itself focuses on main characters Blue Sargent and Gansey. The two characters cross paths on St. Mark’s Eve when Blue sees Gansey’s spirit meaning that he is going to die at some point in time very soon and that can only mean two things:

    1. Gansey is Blue’s true love or 2. Blue killed him.

    The two characters constantly find themselves meeting and disobeying her psychic mother’s orders, Blue helps Gansey and his fellow Raven Boys attempt to awaken the ley line.

    I personally loved the premise in The Raven Boys. It clearly states that if Blue has her first kiss that boy will die and with a kiss usually comes love. How would you feel if you were in her shoes? Pretty strange is my best bet.

    As a character I found Blue to be reminiscent of Nora from Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush personality wise. Blue was, at times, a strong character and I did enjoy the fact that she was cautious with her psychic family’s warnings about love and romance. The one thing that has me adoring Blue as a character is the way she chooses to rebel, in the novel, Blue is forbidden to be near Gansey after she saw him on St. Mark’s Eve—and like a proper teenager she completely disobeys her parental figures.

    As for the Raven Boys… well I’ve never seen a cast of characters like them before in YA. I`ll just start by explaining what a Raven boy is: A Raven Boy is a student who goes to the pre-Ivy League all boys high school known as Aglionby Academy, the school emblem is a raven and… well the rest seems pretty self-explanatory. And I don’t know for the life of me how to pronounce “aglionby”.

    The Raven Boys that we get introduced to in the novel are completely different for a ton of reasons. You get Noah who is as mysterious as he is a neat freak. Adam, who comes from an abusive home, is sweet and is also holding a ton of dark secrets. Ronan who can apparently make cussing sound like poetry and has quite the attitude and of course Gansey. When these four characters are around each other, the novel becomes a complete laugh riot and I mean that in a really good way. Ronan constantly gets on the nerves of all the characters and quips at just the right moments.

    The relationship between Gansey, Blue and Adam is one that I think should be seen more in YA. You have an almost-love-triangle where Blue shows obvious attraction towards Adam, but gets visions about a tragic future where Gansey and her are in love. While I personally wasn’t cheering for Adam and Blue, I thought that when Gansey and Blue were together the novel became ten times more fun. When the two characters first encounter (after the events on St. Mark’s Eve) it’s while Blue is working and her and Gansey have a conversation that consists of him throwing his money about and her asking him if he believes she’s a prostitute. Hilarious!

    The Raven Boys switches through the POVs of multiple characters in the novel going from Blue to Gansey and to Adam, just to name a few. I enjoyed the changes of POVs especially since we also got to see a few chapters through the eyes of the antagonist in the story that is also searching for a way to awaken the Ley Line. My only real complaint about The Raven Boys was the pacing and the detailing. In The Scorpio Races everything is fast paced and has you dying to know what happens next, whereas I found The Raven Boys to be lacking in that department. As for detailing, I also felt that I was being attacked with a barrage of details that didn’t need to necessarily be in the story.

    I’d recommend The Raven Boys to fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s previous works as well as YA paranormal novels and YA romance. Considering that this is going to be a series and the ending had me seriously intrigued, I am looking forward to the Raven Cycle book 2.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Ehhh....

    I look at the reviews and the book seems okay and i start reading it and im only like a chapter in and im confused. Not sure if i should try again or just move on

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not sure I have ever felt so conflicted over what to say abo

    I'm not sure I have ever felt so conflicted over what to say about a book. I wanted to love The Raven Boys so much, but it just fell short for me. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it either. I kept waiting for it to pick up for me and it just didn't until about 70% through, and unfortunately that's a long way into a book. I will say the writing was done very well, which is what kept me going. The concept too of psychics and "treasuring hunting" (I guess you could call it) peeked my interest, but unfortunately the story just lacked what I was looking for.




    I have to say my two favorite characters were the ones who I think weren't intended to be the front and foremost, and those were Ronan and Noah. Noah was broken, and adorable and funny and my heart just ached for him. Then, Ronan... I love his fierceness, how he's straight up with everyone, and yet he has secrets of his own and I just wanted to know them. With Gansey and Blue, I wanted so much more from them and unfortunately I just didn't get what I was looking for. Finally Adam... Adam was just Adam to me. I felt for him and wanted to hug him and then other times I wanted to kick him.




    I absolutely loved everything about Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver series, so many people raved (no pun intended) over The Raven Boys, and I admit the synopsis sounded so darn interesting, but the story just didn't do it for me. I just kept hoping it would pick up but it didn't until the very end and even then I found myself slightly confused. Unfortunately, and this is just my opinion, I feel like the story spent too much in a back story then actual action. Please, please remember this is just how *I* felt about the book. It in no way means I think it's a terrible book, because so many people did love it. The story just didn't peek my interest and I always want to be honest in my reviews. With that being said, I'm not sure I'll pick up the second book, but you never know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Just okay.

    I probably will not continue the series. The book was just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Oh what a suspenseful and mysterious read!  Blue has grown up wi

    Oh what a suspenseful and mysterious read!  Blue has grown up with a family of psychics and has always known a big piece of her future.  When she crosses paths with Gansey and a few other privileged "Raven" boys, Blue finds that she simply can't stay away.  Gansey is looking for a special energy path known as a ley line so that he may wake up a mythical figure who will grant a wish to the person who wakes him. Unlike the others, Adam must work his way through school and feels the pressure from both himself and his family.  Noah is a sweet kid with a mysterious path.  Roman is angry teenage kid who prefers to face his problems with his fists, haunted by a tragedy that hits too close to home.  In this story we've got it all.  There's a mysterious energy, an old mystery, an unsolved murder, betrayal, and mythology all center stage here. 




    On the story...
    On one hand the story is well-written and has such an exciting premise.  On the other hand, the underlying story about the missing guy and wanting a wish granted was a bit uninteresting.  The other mysteries that arose from this were intriguing but the story dragged too much in the middle for me.  Very little was solved in this installment and the biggest mystery of all--Blue's connection with Gansey--was left wide open.  The beginning and the end was great.  The beginning set an amazing stage and the end had some exciting adventure scenes.  I quite enjoyed this read and would continue the rest of the series, but I couldn't help but be disappointed overall.




    On the narrator...
    I loved loved Mr. Patton.  His voice was raspy and drew me in from the beginning.  The guy voices were better than the female voice but it wasn't too bad because there were so many men.    I can't think of a voice that could have been a better fit for both the characters and the tone of the read.




    Overall, it didn't meet my expectations but I still plan to continue the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Blackpaw

    Looks up and tells Skykit to get o. She charges at bagerpaw "U hurt my clanmate i hurt youres!" She bites bagerpaws nek biting harder and harder. She shakes her head.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    To zap and reaper

    R u guys wolves

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    problem

    I read the sample and liked it but after I purchased the book and was charged for it, I cannot get past the last page of the sample. Very frustrating!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    A Very Good Read

    At first this book is confusing and kinda of boring but hang in there towards the end it gets better and starts to make sense. What I didn't like is the ending felt like it just stopped without a good conclusion. Hopefully the next is better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and Scorpio Races b

    I have read the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and Scorpio Races by Steifvatar and really fell in love with her simple writing style. She doesn't give the reader a lot of details which usually make me want to skip ahead to the good parts so I like that about her. You figure things out on your own as the story plays out. In Raven Boys, I particulary liked that it wasn't overly teenagy angst with passion and forever, blah blah. I do like that there is the possibility of Blue and Gansey in the future. Stiefvatar doesn't rush that nor does she rush anything with Blue and Adam. I like Adams character with his high moral values and sense of purpose to make it on his own and that he's very aware of being 'collected' by Gansey even though gansey doesn't seem to realize that. I think my favorite chracter is Ronan. he's very complex (making the raven out of nothing) it's just perfect. it's the storyline and the plot that really make this book fun to read. It's a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Stunning book, great insights.

    I love this author. I don't know why I still get surprised by how awesome she is with words that help you picture and feel people's relationships with each other. Here's a paraphrased example: the three boys were so comfortable with each other that it made it impossible to be comfortable with them. I know I've felt that before, and it was perfect in allowing me to really understand the characters. Maggie also does a great job of creating heartrending intimacy in a few sentences, and does it in a way that you are grateful you got to experience that with them for a time, instead of feeling like you need to shower.

    I recommend any and all of Maggie's books. She is definitely one of my favorite authors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I only liked this book. I loved Miss Maggie's last novel, The S

    I only liked this book. I loved Miss Maggie's last novel, The Scorpio Race, so I was really excited to read this one. I found it hard to get into the story. I was about 200 pages into the story before I really got interested. The book is under 400 pages if that tells you anything. I also found it confusing as to who Blue was supposed to be with. I've seen by some of the other reviews there will be sequels - I'll give them a try. Maybe the story will get better. But if you really want a good one - try this author's last book. I could not put that one down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2