Customer Reviews for

The Ravenscar Dynasty (Ravenscar Series #1)

Average Rating 2.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    I'd give it no stars, if I could

    I've read all of Ms. Bradford's books, and without a doubt, this is the worst. There wasn't one person in the whole book that was likeable. They were back-stabbing, ruthless, deceptive, philandering, traitorous -- I could go on and on. Even the so called 'hero' was an incurable womanizer who kept a mistress while he fathered eight children. Granted, it was based on The War of the Roses, names and all, but it took place in the 20th Century, not the 15th! Hopefully, we've become a little more civilized since then. And Ms. Bradford's dialogue is totally insipid. About the only good thing I can say about the book was that it WASN'T about that interminable Harte family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Cast of Characters

    The cast is difficult to figure out... cousins, brothers, uncles, mistresses...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've never read this famous author before...thank goodness. I kept waiting for the story to begin. This was like reading an outline of a story idea with all the characters to be fleshed out before publishing, worst luck, they published before that could happen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Boring, hard to read, and not remotely interesting. Forced myse

    Boring, hard to read, and not remotely interesting. Forced myself to read it because I bought it.
    DO NOT BUY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I really enjoyed it

    and read the other related books...The Heir and Being Elizabeth

    Enjoyed the contrast to "The Tudors"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Love the Author, have read everything she has written

    Great read..Barbara Taylor Bradford delivers again in a very enjoyable beginning of a new family storyline. I hope she goes back and writes about the origins of the family who created this dynasty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the ravenscar dinasty

    the character edward deravenal is everything a woman can ask for. the story revolve around the deravenel's life. i just like the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    I'd give it no stars, if I could

    I've read all of Ms. Bradford's books, and without a doubt, this is the worst. There wasn't one person in the whole book that was likeable. They were back-stabbing, ruthless, deceptive, philandering, traitorous -- I could go on and on. Even the so called 'hero' was an incurable womanizer who kept a mistress while he fathered eight children. Granted, it was based on The War of the Roses, names and all, but it took place in the 20th Century, not the 15th! Hopefully, we've become a little more civilized since then. And Ms. Bradford's dialogue is totally insipid. About the only good thing I can say about the book was that it WASN'T about that interminable Harte family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Christopher Deravenel is NOT a man of substance

    I am hoping that I did not lumber through this cumbersome, hesitant, posturing, obtuse, 482 page drivel for nothing. Aside from the cost for the hardcover edition! This is not even Emma Harte with her multiple progeny and endless red haired relatives! I am very disappointed and can only hope that something better is coming from this 14 year old father who has a penchant for gilded haired, hourglass figured, widowed or married women who are older always. This man is supposed to possess a briliant business sense along with being a stud and a dynasty maker!! His present wife, a widow with two children, who are never mentioned after the marriage and their own dozen or so offspring don't fit at all. I will read the next edition in this saga and that is IT! The book and story are too fragmented, making it impossible to hold one's attention. I hope that all of this dull background is for a purpose and will undoubtedly bring Deravenel into his own as a very young widower with umpteen kids and his own siblings to continue to raise - will prove to be at least readable. Neville, the only character of any weight, died far too early and having his car chased by his cousins as a murder weapon was really over the top. Dull, dull,dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    A Thrilling New Family Saga

    If you are a fan of Barbara Taylor Bradford, you will certainly love The Ravenscar Dynasty. This is clearly one of her most ambitious and most satisfying books to date. Ravenscar is flled with plot twists, history, murder, revenge and romance. If you have never read a Barbara Taylor Bradford novel before, shame on you! But seriously, this first book in her latest family saga is a great place to begin. This is a historical thriller at its best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Didn't live up to her usual storytelling capabilities.

    Tedious and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    EDWARDIAN ERA ROMANCE AND INTRIGUE FINELY NARRATED

    For a woman who began her professional career in the typing pool of England's Yorkshire Evening Post, Barbara Taylor Bradford has come a long, long way. Her first novel, A Woman Of Substance (1979), as much of the world knows, almost instantly rose to the top of the lists. Following in short order were 20 more novels. Using the appellation 'bestselling author' in regard to Ms. Bradford is not a publicist's hype - there are some 76 million copies of her books in print. She's a wonder. Now, she offers her 22nd novel, The Ravenscar Dynasty, another intriguing family saga which is the first in a planned trilogy. She has set it in one of the most exciting time periods - turn of the century England. Thus, as is often the case, her tale is rich in period detail penned so precisely that colors and shapes seem to leap off the pages. Hero Edward Deravanel is a young man, in his late teens, who seemingly had little interest in the business world,. However, his life changes when his father, brother, uncle, and cousin are killed in a fire and he finds himself thrust into the world of commerce. Was the fire an accident? He hardly thinks so. The blaze has taken virtually his entire family. There is a fortune at stake. Edward and his cousin, Neville Watkins, determine to find the truth. Not only that but to secure total control of the family's corporate empire. With a Barbara Taylor Bradford novel it's not necessary to add that there's romance aplenty, a mentally challenged villain wed to a conniving, greedy lass, plus a multitude of devious schemes when money and power are the rewards. Actor Ric Jerrom is a multi-faceted performer who has spent three decades with Interactive Theatre throughout the world. He has 30 audio plays to his credit as well as the same number of audiobooks read for BBC. A perfect voice to narrate the ups and downs of life in the Edwardian Era, he does so with panache and arresting nuance. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Save your money

    As in Woman of Substance, the men are weak. The characters are not sympathetic and all are self serving. An 18 yo kid has an affaire with a 32 yo woman. She becomes pregnant, but they are so adult about it in that she will have the baby and he can be a part of her life or not. She is wealthy because of her two late husbands. In fact everyone is wealthy because of inheritances. Someone had to earn the money, but in this book wealth magically appears. The racial profiling of the horseman who caused the accident in Hyde Park is unacceptable. The plot doesn't anchor, and then that is questionable, until the last 100 pages. Books are expensive. There are better ones out there. Much better ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Disappointed

    I am halfway through and finding it difficult to believe this is a Barbara Taylor Bradford book. It's work to read this one. The names alone!! First there is Edward who in the next line is called Ned. I have also read 'darling Lily' too many times to count. Will finish, but can't wait to start another book by another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Worst I've Ever Tried to Read

    I love Barbara Taylor Bradford, but this has got to be the most boring book I've tried to read in years. After about a week trying to get 'into' this one, I gave up. Very, very disappointing. What a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Names, names, names

    I think I have read every book Barbara has written, and was really looking forward to this one. However, the characters just didn't seem as real to me as the Emma series. And I know that the Edwardian era was full of sexual encounters, but this was endless. The worst of my problems was the interchangeable use of Edward and Ned. Then you add Neville to the mix and the whole plot is muddled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    A Great New Begining For A Veteran Author

    Wow! The Ravenscar Dynasty was superb. I'm a huge fan of Barbara Taylor Bradford and this new book is a great start to a new trilogy. This is one of those books with dozens of characters on two sides of a family at war. Neither side is comprised of perfect people, though Edward Deravel is clearly part of the branch that has been wronged. He and his cousin, Neville seek revenge for the deaths of their fathers, and an assortment of other attacks. Game on! Ravenscar Dynasty is filled with memorable characters and a great deal of history. It is set in the early 1900s in England and Italy. A very promising start to a new saga from an author we all know and love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    One of these is enough

    Does anyone edit books anymore? The dialogue in this was atrocious. If I came across 'endeavor' one more time I was ready to scream. I'm beginning to wonder if Mrs. Bradford really wrote 'A Woman of Substance' by herself. The subsequent books in the series were not as good as the first, and she has avoided the historical genre until now - a wise move as this disaster proves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AN EDWARDIAN SAGA OF EPIC PROPORTIONS

    For a woman who began her professional career in the typing pool of England's Yorkshire Evening Post, Barbara Taylor Bradford has come a long, long way. Her first novel, A Woman Of Substance (1979), as much of the world knows, almost instantly rose to the top of the lists. Following in short order were 20 more novels. Using the appellation 'bestselling author' in regard to Ms. Bradford is not a publicist's hype - there are some 76 million copies of her books in print. She's a wonder. Now, she offers her 22nd novel, The Ravenscar Dynasty, another intriguing family saga which is the first in a planned trilogy. She has set it in one of the most exciting time periods - turn of the century England. Thus, as is often the case, her tale is rich in period detail penned so precisely that colors and shapes seem to leap off the pages. Hero Edward Deravanel is a young man, in his late teens, who seemingly had little interest in the business world. His life changes when his father, brother, uncle, and cousin are killed in a fire, and he finds himself thrust into the world of commerce. Was the fire an accident? He hardly thinks so. The blaze has taken virtually his entire family. There is a fortune at stake. Edward and his cousin, Neville Watkins, determine to find the truth. Not only that but to secure total control of the family's corporate empire. With a Barbara Taylor Bradford novel it's not necessary to add that there's romance aplenty, a mentally challenged villain wed to a conniving, greedy lass, plus a multitude of devious schemes when money and power are the rewards. Don't miss this one! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Boring

    I was extremely disappointed with her writing style, character development, and flow. I lost interest in the main character early on and it never got better. Save yourself time and money. Read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2