Customer Reviews for

The Raw Food Detox Diet: The Five-Step Plan for Vibrant Health and Maximum Weight Loss

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

i LOVE NATALiAAA!

This woman is amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon her book one day at Barnes and Nobles. Her book is so insightful and she offers a whole section on 'transitioning' from your regular lifestyle into a raw food lifestyle. So there is something for meat lovers! I have rea...
This woman is amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon her book one day at Barnes and Nobles. Her book is so insightful and she offers a whole section on 'transitioning' from your regular lifestyle into a raw food lifestyle. So there is something for meat lovers! I have read other books about raw foods but this is the only book I believe. If you want to see proof on how raw foods can make you Vibrant, just check out her blog: TheRawFoodDetoxDiet.com and look at her pictures! She looks amazing at 30-something years old. She even looks better that me, who is just 19! You can have your cheese 'goat', chocolate 'dark', and other yummy sweets on this diet! No deprivation for me!! She gave me hope on clearing a nasty skin condition I have had all of my life, keratosis pilaris. She really does care about every reader and a genuinely warm person!

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Need to make a complete life change.

All though in theory this all sounds great - it's not pratical for a lifestyle. If you are an average person that works and lives in the real world this is a very hard diet/lifesytle to stick with - if you can more power to you but I have my juicer up for sale. Make sur...
All though in theory this all sounds great - it's not pratical for a lifestyle. If you are an average person that works and lives in the real world this is a very hard diet/lifesytle to stick with - if you can more power to you but I have my juicer up for sale. Make sure you can stick with the diet before investing in the most expensive and elite juicer. Also eating all fruits before noon created a sugar issue for me - so check with your doctor if the same happens to you.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    i LOVE NATALiAAA!

    This woman is amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon her book one day at Barnes and Nobles. Her book is so insightful and she offers a whole section on 'transitioning' from your regular lifestyle into a raw food lifestyle. So there is something for meat lovers! I have read other books about raw foods but this is the only book I believe. If you want to see proof on how raw foods can make you Vibrant, just check out her blog: TheRawFoodDetoxDiet.com and look at her pictures! She looks amazing at 30-something years old. She even looks better that me, who is just 19! You can have your cheese 'goat', chocolate 'dark', and other yummy sweets on this diet! No deprivation for me!! She gave me hope on clearing a nasty skin condition I have had all of my life, keratosis pilaris. She really does care about every reader and a genuinely warm person!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    This is a really good transition book if you are considering going raw or just majorly improving your health. It's easy to ready and she explains everything in a very simple way. I've been following her diet at a level 3 for less than a week and already lost 5 pounds, this is just a bonus compared to the energy you feel, and m skin and hair are looking better already, this book is worth having.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will help you change your diet now!

    I needed a push to improve my diet and health with some easy steps. This book has it. Yes, it's about Raw Food however this book explains the benefits and small steps you can take immediately to get more whole, raw food into your diet starting today. The other important item in this book is about limiting the foods you mix at meals to enhance digestion which will ultimately help you loose weight. If you eat the right foods, you can eat all you want. Everyone interested in improved health, loosing weight and increasing your energy level should read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I became interested in the raw food movement because a friend of mine really transformed her skin by going raw/vegan. She'd been plagued with skin problems for years and swears that her new "glow" is attributed to her raw foodism. I bought this book completely prepared to be bombarded with militant vegan propaganda. I was wrong. This book is very informative and convinced a hard-care carnivore such as myself to give raw foods a try. The book is easy to read and the author is never preachy. Because of this book alone, I have increase my fruit and raw veggie intake by leaps and bounds. I still eat meat, but I'm better about my choices. I feel great and don't have the stomach issues I'd recently developed (alternate "can't go" and "can't get to the potty fast enough" . . .know what I mean?) I would recommend this book to any of my meat-eating friends in order to get them to take a different view on raw veggies and fruits. Excellent, excellent book, especially for someone just starting to experiment with raw foods.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    A Great Resource for Raw Food Beginners

    This book presents a diet rich in produce and devoid of almost all processed food. I am currently eating at the third (out of five) level the author offers as flexible meal plans (with level 1 being the most raw and 5 being the least). Honestly, I am continually surprised at how easy this is. I am always satiated. Of course the commitment comes in the form of having a kitchen continually stocked with fresh produce. Overall, I love the way I feel when eating this way.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Very helpful and informative

    This is an excellent book for the aspiring raw foodist. There are lots and lots of tips to help make the transition easier. The recipes that I have tried are easy and quite good.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    i read this book :)

    I am a "new" vegetarian and am reading everything I can get my hands on to educate myself and for ideas about recipes, etc. For me, this book was a keeper. I really enjoyed the author and her point of view.

    I see that it is easy to eat tons of carbs as a vegetarian, and even in the vegetarian market there are junk foods and convenience foods. What is left to eat??? VEGETABLES :) thus, "vegetarian." Anyway, lol, I believe the diet that Natalia Rose proposes in this book is a near ideal diet. I am not sure I totally buy into food combining but I naturally want to eat fruit in the morning and veggies in the afternoon.....When I followed this diet more strictly, I found that I was not thirsty anymore, I felt more alive, and I...errr...."eliminated" more efficiently. Oh, and when I finally got hungry, the hunger pains were NOTHING. Not sure how to explain it...I knew I was hungry but my hunger was not as agonizing at it often is on diets if that makes any sense at all. I felt like I was doing something really good for my body and this diet seems like a natural way to eat i.e. the way we were meant to eat. Unprocessed, un-manipulated things that grow out of the earth, are fueled by the sun, and don't rot in your intestines are the way to go!!!

    That being said, this diet did not cure my laziness! LOL!! Putting salads together is not hard, but it still takes a few minutes...it is so much easier to just grab some crackers and be done with it. I need to read this book again for some more motivation! This book is not about a diet so much as a lifestyle choice. If you can stay motivated and stick with it you will be glad you did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Totally Doable

    The author does not come across as an arrogant raw foodist. She started where we all started and doesn't ridicule or guilt you into her way or it won't work. The steps to get you there are spelled out and you can choose to what level you aspire to. After taking the self quiz in the book, I am already at a level 3 without juicing anything. My next step will be a juicer!!! I don't hope to be a level 1 anytime soon but according to the author, it took her years to get there, too. Once you start, and realize how much better you feel, you will want to improve yourself even more. A definite must try for those who look to be healthy and eat as clean as possible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Great for all

    Although I do not aspire to live a fully raw lifestyle, this book was a GREAT supplement to a detox diet a friend and I started - and, after 3 weeks, have decided to live with. The differences we have both noticed from adjusting our habits are amazing. The book serves not only as motivation, but also as a great reference no matter what your 'level,' as we pick it up at least once or twice a week even after we read it cover to cover. Our constant reaction - 'wow, that really just makes a lot of sense.' I definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to live a healthier lifestyle!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    wow.

    Insightful and inspiring...this book is way ahead of its time in terms of todays cultural dietary habits. Hopefully it will help to spread nutritional awareness and the benefits of living a healthful life to this culture. Simply amazing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Very Informative and easy to follow

    I enjoyed this book because Natalia breaks down the information in an easy manner. I liked that she was flexible with her concept. She writes in a very encouraging manner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is life changing!

    I have had issues with my stomach and a co-worker told me how she started the detox and that Natalia is a very good source of knowledge. So I went to BN and picked it up and started that week. I started reading this book adn feel in love with her thinking. I am full and never starving for food. The juice in the morning is so easy to do. I wish i could just tell everyone I know about this book and how great it is.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Wonderful Book-Lifesaver

    This book is such a lifesaver. Natalia Rose is truly a genius and I recommend you get her other book detox for wowen as well. This book assist you in living a better life. Make sure you really invest in other books/resources to a better health and let this book be one of the guides. Then you will see great results.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    life-changing.

    This book is like a religion. It is equally inspiring and informational. I'm not even trying to lose weight, but it changed my way of thinking and eating as soon as I read it. I started eating raw and felt a positive difference in 24 hours! I learned so much - I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2