Customer Reviews for

The Real America: Messages from the Heart and Heartland

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Message for The Average Guy/Gal...

I have started watching Glenn on CNN during the week and checking out his web site. I enjoy his pointed way of interviewing guests and getting to the heart of the matter. Most of the guests he interviews, he gives as good as he gets and at least for me...he often asks r...
I have started watching Glenn on CNN during the week and checking out his web site. I enjoy his pointed way of interviewing guests and getting to the heart of the matter. Most of the guests he interviews, he gives as good as he gets and at least for me...he often asks real questions and doesn't stop until he gets real answsers. I bought his book 'The Real America' via B&N and really enjoyed it. He spoke from life experience and his heart showed through. Some people may not enjoy hearing about his personal experiences but, for me, it made his journey and career come to life. I can enjoy him more knowing where he comes from. Due to people like Glenn, Rush, Laura, Bill and Laura...I am a converted life long Democrat. I have woken up and seen the light! What was I thinking? The Democratic party I thought I believed in and belonged to hasn't been in place for decades. I realized I want no part of a group of wacky lefties that feel marriage, love, fidelity, life and family are old, silly and outdated....be cool and indulge in mindless sex, partake in legal drugs, live a life of godlessness, and justify abortion for reasons other than why it's really done. This book and others exposes it all. I have discovered I am conservative first and then go from there on issue to issue, politician to politician. I no longer vote one party in the voter booth. Glenn is great in that his book is quick and easy to read and focuses more on messages of things are still solid, hopeful and good and not just the doom and gloom of the day. He knows a great America sprung from honest, hardworking and decent people and we are still out there. Nutty people and crazy ideas come and go - it's up to us - the genes of the founding fathers to keep the fight up and win our nation back. And we will. Thanks for a solid and heartfelt read Glenn. It's great to know more than 1/2 the nation gets it. We just have to work on the rest! Four stars and then some!

posted by Anonymous on November 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pablum

If you enjoy ignorant feel good material, read this book, and join the lemmings

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A Solid Message for The Average Guy/Gal...

    I have started watching Glenn on CNN during the week and checking out his web site. I enjoy his pointed way of interviewing guests and getting to the heart of the matter. Most of the guests he interviews, he gives as good as he gets and at least for me...he often asks real questions and doesn't stop until he gets real answsers. I bought his book 'The Real America' via B&N and really enjoyed it. He spoke from life experience and his heart showed through. Some people may not enjoy hearing about his personal experiences but, for me, it made his journey and career come to life. I can enjoy him more knowing where he comes from. Due to people like Glenn, Rush, Laura, Bill and Laura...I am a converted life long Democrat. I have woken up and seen the light! What was I thinking? The Democratic party I thought I believed in and belonged to hasn't been in place for decades. I realized I want no part of a group of wacky lefties that feel marriage, love, fidelity, life and family are old, silly and outdated....be cool and indulge in mindless sex, partake in legal drugs, live a life of godlessness, and justify abortion for reasons other than why it's really done. This book and others exposes it all. I have discovered I am conservative first and then go from there on issue to issue, politician to politician. I no longer vote one party in the voter booth. Glenn is great in that his book is quick and easy to read and focuses more on messages of things are still solid, hopeful and good and not just the doom and gloom of the day. He knows a great America sprung from honest, hardworking and decent people and we are still out there. Nutty people and crazy ideas come and go - it's up to us - the genes of the founding fathers to keep the fight up and win our nation back. And we will. Thanks for a solid and heartfelt read Glenn. It's great to know more than 1/2 the nation gets it. We just have to work on the rest! Four stars and then some!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Misinformed

    He has misinformed many people. This man is filled with hate. He has no clue as to what the real America is about.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    getting america back again

    "the real america" is a remarkable book that glenn beck spells out what this country needs to get back on its feet again and shows what certain hollywood liberals and politicans are doing to take this country down. the writer clearly shows what this country is all about and what our values stand for and what I really apprieate about this bestseller is he exposes what the other side has done great reference book and wonderful gift idea for friends and family

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Held my interest from the beginning of the book.

    This book is an excellent reading on har far away America has gotten from its roots and reminded me of how America used to be and should be now.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Glenn Beck is right!

    I found this book very informative & insightful. After reading this book, I have become a fan.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Yuck

    Waste of time, but then I knew it would be. Glenny-boy is good for a laugh.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Real American

    Stories about how America was and should be. A lot about common sense, and what the crazy hippies are trying to do to this country. A mid set from someone who doesn't align themselves with any political party and wishes the best for the country and the people. Kind of written as he talks on the radio show. A must for anyone that considers themselves A Real American.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    blueprint for change

    'the real america' is a very exciting book and I found it hard to put down.glen becks message is simple and easy to understand: as citizens and voters we have the power to make a difference.this little bestseller will make a big difference in the 2008 election cause it puts power back in the peoples hands.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    From Mexico, with Love

    Hello. I am not an American, but a Mexican. I read this book because I am a listener of the Glenn Beck program and was curious about it. Now, I can say that I understand American culture far better and for that I thank you. The simplicity that this book offers is outstanding. Now only does it show the reality of facts, but it takes you down the spiral without big words or encryptic messages. I've always been fond of Mr. Beck... and now he has all my respect.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Whether you're a republican or democrat, it's hard not to appreciate the straight forward and honest insight he gives on various topics including life, politics, and whatnot. He doesn't hide the fact that he's conservative but what's more important is that he sees beyond the boundries of partisan politics and tells it hows it is and what makes us, Americans, so special, that yes, America is not defind by just the talking heads in the media, but by the actions of everyday folks living between those people in NYC and Hollywood, where it seems they are the voice of all Americans to our overseas observers. Glenn is as great a writer as he is a great American. Easy and fun to read. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Truth and Integrity While Poking You in the Eyes

    Beck makes us look to ourselves as the reason we have failed and to ourselves yet again as the reason that we can succeed, both individually and as a nation. Easy, quick read that has depth without being deep.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Outstanding stories

    I enjoyed this book very much. It reminded me of the greatness of our country in times past and a hope for the future.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Old fashioned American values

    I wish the real America would walk up so we can all realize our potential. Glenn talks about values and hope. The book is a great inspiration.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Highly recommended

    This book is an inspiring look at what can be. It's very informative while being extremely funny. There is a lot of insight here and is definitely a must read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Great book

    This book tells how we sholud really be in America.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    Do you want to live in The Real America?

    This book is a must read. Glenn covers all the hot topics of today and gives the reader his often funny but completely heart felt opinion.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    The real american

    Isnt the real american someone who belives in freedom, limited government, and making your own fortune, not forcing other people to spend money on stupid things that the gov does?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3