BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Real George Washington: The True Story of America's Most Indispensable Man

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must read for anyone under 80

    I am learning in this book ALL the history which I DID NOT receive in my scholastic (College Grad) education. My Father, on the other hand, is 84 years old, and in discussing the contents with HIM, why, he not only was taught EVERYTHING I have learned in this book, he remembers it all, and is constantly adding more information to what I have read.
    I am well educated, but am amazed at the disinformation I received from grade school thru college about the founding of our United States, and it's government. MY education began in 1956. What I hear from the young people who are in there 20's and 30's today, indicate that their education in history is VERY SADLY LACKING and I recommend this very interesting and esay-reading book to them all! Get with it, America, and
    learn what principles our nation was founded upon.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Fantastic overview of General George Washington and the Revolutionary War!!

    Once you begin to read this historical account of George Washington and the Revolutionary War you will have a hard time putting the book down. The book is packed with just enough information to lead the reader in the right direction for further indepth studies. I've learned a great deal of knowledge from this book, from childhood, to the last battle at Yorktown. This is a great book for someone who's just starting out their study of the man and the war.

    The book reads quickly, allowing the pages to fly by - never getting dull or losing the readers interest. After the history lessons and the path of George Washington is discussed, the writer gives the accounts of George Washingtons peers and then list Washington's own writings on all types of issues. You will love this book if you love America and the idea of Freedom. I highly recommend this book - no matter where you are in your study of America!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    What a man!

    Being a student during the 1960's I was very lacking in the history of our founders. Well, all right, it was non existent. George Washing was a moral, Godly man who put his countries interests before his own time and time again. When you read this book it becomes crystal clear how far our current administration has distorted the original concepts of the constitution. Oh how we need to reread our learn for the first time the basis on which this great country was founded. This is a monster of a book, but so worth the knowledge you will glean.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Remember G.W.

    How long has it been since you heard about the ways one man was used to form this great country. Where are the men and women with his values today? A must read for inspiration and hope of how we can live and why the U.S.A. is great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Indispensable Book of an Indispensable Man

    I am compelled to write a review of this book despite only having completed the first one-third of the volume. While it is a book fit for academia, it reads like a novel; a historical reference book composed to be as captivating as any cloak-and-dagger fiction.

    The writing, recounting George Washington's life and the Revolutionary War, captivates with an equality only matching the saga itself. The author's goal of retelling history with the assistance of President Washington's own words, is masterfully executed. The amount of quotations per page is proportional to the number footnotes. Illustrations and maps from the time help complete the understanding of events.

    Nearly 200 pages, at the conclusion of his story, make up "Timeless Treasures of George Washington". The 'Timeless Treasures' are excerpts of writings from Washington. For convenience, the entries are broken into subjects and alphabetically ordered for easy reference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Informational and Direct

    This overview of George Washington's life was very informational and came right from the man himself. The style of the book is told through letters to and from George Washington. There is no biased about the man in this book. Everything is only facts and information. Very simple to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    NEVER TOO OLD FOR HISTORY

    This book was so well written. I couldn't put it down after I got it, always something new popping up like a mystery story, only this was a real life mystery. The differing opinions of this wonderful man outlined a person of great courage and discipline and love for HIS country. Many other reputable men of his time commented on his qualities and commitment to a strong, Christian character. I wish I had met him, maybe I will as you never know what's on the other side? I think teenagers should read this book, do a book report on a topic that is very rarely touched upon in our schools. I know, I never really got to know him either in my school and I am now a Senior citizen who believes "its never too late to learn something new"....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THE REAL GEORGE WASHINGTON... A REAL THREE DIMENSIONAL MAN AND HERO FOR US TODAY

    THE REAL GEORGE WASHINGTON... A REAL THREE DIMENSIONAL MAN AND HERO FOR US TODAY

    this is the life of a real man... he may be from a different time from a long time ago in a far far land but in an era with only it only seems to have sports heroes, it is time for the life of a real hero

    we have been fed chopping down cherry tree tales in our youth to revisionist histories. THE REAL GEORGE WASHINGTON... so how about real events from his early teen years working in the frontier wilderness as a surveyor to iconic events in pre-revolutionary battles in the french and indian wars.

    THE REAL GEORGE WASHINGTON is largely his own words... so get a dose of real history, a three dimensional man and real hero that is relevant in today's world.

    let mw know what you think...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1