Customer Reviews for

The Real James Herriot: A Memoir of My Father

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It made me laugh, and it made me cry. What higher praise can I give?

In the paperback section of my college's bookstore, in 1975, I bought what I intended as a Christmas gift for an elderly lady who'd been kind to me in a strange city. Luckily I read its first chapter before I wrapped it, and I wound up keeping the book as a result. I co...
In the paperback section of my college's bookstore, in 1975, I bought what I intended as a Christmas gift for an elderly lady who'd been kind to me in a strange city. Luckily I read its first chapter before I wrapped it, and I wound up keeping the book as a result. I couldn't imagine my sweet elderly friend reacting to a graphic calving except by turning green - but I fell in love with All Things Bright and Beautiful, by James Herriot. I wasn't alone. Readers all over the world, and in the United States especially, fell in love with the writing of a Yorkshire veterinarian who had nothing published until after his 25th wedding anniversary. I knew vaguely that 'James Herriot' was a pseudonym, and that his books - while presented as fiction - were solidly based on real-life characters and events. But that's all I knew, going into this biography of James Alfred 'Alf' Wight that's authored by his son Jim. Yes, 'Jimmy' from the books, who took on this task at the urging of his father's publisher after Alf Wight's death. Jim Wight doesn't profess to be a writer. He's simply a son telling his father's life story, based on considerable research as well as on his own memories. The result is a loving but honest portrait of a wonderful but far from perfect man, who always - even after writing made him a millionaire - thought of himself first, last, and always as a practicing veterinarian. It's a marvelous character study that no Herriot fan should miss.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Biography

This is a nice biography of the "real" vet who wrote as James Herriot. From his son's point of view, we see the man behind the name. Though not quite as gifted a writer as his father, Jim Wight makes us see his dad as the man he was--father, friend & of course, veteri...
This is a nice biography of the "real" vet who wrote as James Herriot. From his son's point of view, we see the man behind the name. Though not quite as gifted a writer as his father, Jim Wight makes us see his dad as the man he was--father, friend & of course, veterinary surgeon. Like most fans of James Herriot's books, I wish I had had the chance to know the man, he sounds like a wonderful one. Nice pictures of Mr. Wight, his family & those who portrayed him & his colleagues. This one stays on the shelf of my library!

posted by GardenLady42 on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    It made me laugh, and it made me cry. What higher praise can I give?

    In the paperback section of my college's bookstore, in 1975, I bought what I intended as a Christmas gift for an elderly lady who'd been kind to me in a strange city. Luckily I read its first chapter before I wrapped it, and I wound up keeping the book as a result. I couldn't imagine my sweet elderly friend reacting to a graphic calving except by turning green - but I fell in love with All Things Bright and Beautiful, by James Herriot. I wasn't alone. Readers all over the world, and in the United States especially, fell in love with the writing of a Yorkshire veterinarian who had nothing published until after his 25th wedding anniversary. I knew vaguely that 'James Herriot' was a pseudonym, and that his books - while presented as fiction - were solidly based on real-life characters and events. But that's all I knew, going into this biography of James Alfred 'Alf' Wight that's authored by his son Jim. Yes, 'Jimmy' from the books, who took on this task at the urging of his father's publisher after Alf Wight's death. Jim Wight doesn't profess to be a writer. He's simply a son telling his father's life story, based on considerable research as well as on his own memories. The result is a loving but honest portrait of a wonderful but far from perfect man, who always - even after writing made him a millionaire - thought of himself first, last, and always as a practicing veterinarian. It's a marvelous character study that no Herriot fan should miss.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A joyous and heartwarming closure!

    Alf Wights books were the most enjoyable reading of my 63 years of life. This book brought closure and understanding of the real people and situations involved. I am so happy to have read this! Thank You so much Jim Wight for giving me the opportunity to do so!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Great Read

    Great read! Wonderful story in the tradition of the James Herrot books. I loved meeting the people behind the beloved characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Home Again with Herriot

    It was such a pleasure to read this memoir from the son of one of my favorite authors. It has been almost a decade since the passing of Alf Wight (James Herriot) and his good natured, warm reflections on the people he served as a veternarian in England have been sorely missed. I am very thankful that his son wrote this book; he seems to have the same warm affection and eye for humor that his father did. It was fascinating to read about the continuing lives of 'Sigfried' and 'Tristan' as well as 'Helen' and to know how well Rosie and James fared as well. All of them became like family members through James Herriot's books, and James Wight's memories in this tome keeps them alive and dear in our hearts. Thank you, Dr. Wight, for writing and sharing this funny, sweet, and heartbreakingly joyous book about your father, your family, and the continuing lives in the Yorkshire Dales.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    The Best Book Ever!!!!

    I knew I would like 'The Real James Herriot' a lot, but little did I know how much. This is a very fine book: one for all James Herriot fans. Jim Wight introduces you to his dad, Alf Wight in a way nobody else could. This book is much worth the time to read!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Forever a fan

    Did not want this book end. 30yrs after reading my first Herriot
    Forever a fan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This is a must read, especially if you have read any of the books written by, James Herriot. His son has a great wit and writes much like his dad. The book gives you even a greater insight on the real man, his love, dedication, commitment, and passion for his family,friends and the animals. The humor is great, written in such a way that you must force yourself to put it down. You will leave the pages of this book not only more informed about the life of a vet but a good feeling, ... knowing that such a man and his amazing family does exist. I bought several copies for friends. James Herriot was not only a great vet and writer but has inspired many people to take up the veterinary practice. His son is also amazing. My vet was one, who as a child read his works and later became a grand vet. I love this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Whitefoot to Cloudheart

    "When I go on the Warriors rp website, Horseclan doesn't show up." ~Whitefoot

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Mistpaw to skyleaf

    Hey do you want to go train?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Jaykit

    I will get my revenge soon

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Skyleaf to Mistpaw

    I posted where we are training. Skyleaf

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Birdkit to velveteyes and cloudheart

    Omg i looooovvvvveeeee usher!!!!!!! Cloudheart, i checked it out, but didnt join. Im fine just posting on my nook

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Lilystar to Cloudheart

    Cloudheart, you wanted to talk? ~ Lilystar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1