BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent And accurate A must reaf A must read !

Matches my 30 years of research from first edition sources at the time prior, during, and immediately after the war of northern aggression!

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A polemic, not history

This book does not deserve even one star. Although it purports to be history, it is a grotesque distortion of the historical record. For example, DiLorenzo quotes primary source material which impugns Lincoln's motives. If you are not a historian and are unfamiliar with...
This book does not deserve even one star. Although it purports to be history, it is a grotesque distortion of the historical record. For example, DiLorenzo quotes primary source material which impugns Lincoln's motives. If you are not a historian and are unfamiliar with the sources, you would likely accept the conclusions that the author draws from the quotes he cites. However, if you take the time to check the sources, you find that DiLorenzo has lifted phrases out of context, and even attributed words to one person that were clearly uttered by another. It is clear that this book was written with one aim in mind: to 'prove' that Lincoln was a tyrant who started the Civil War in order to impose Whiggish economic policies on the South. Lacking proof, DiLorenzo is not above deliberate distortion and misinformation. In short, beware of 'history' written by those who have a political or economic axe to grind.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Excellent And accurate A must reaf A must read !

    Matches my 30 years of research from first edition sources at the time prior, during, and immediately after the war of northern aggression!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    Lincoln Exposed

    This book shows Lincolns real agenda. Which was a massive Federal Government, and the destruction of the opposing political power. Lincolns party-The New Republican party, which was formed in 1856- was a totally sectional party. The Republicans hated Southerners, and everything Southern. Lincoln was backed by the wealthiest Northern people. Lincoln spent his entire political career, advocating more power for the wealthy Northern people. As an Account, (PhD) the author breaks it down, in very clear terms to dollars and cents. Myths are not popular when they are exposed as 'myths'. This book is a good start to understanding 'The REAL Lincoln' I also recommend: 'Lincoln, the Man'--Edgar Lee Masters' 'Tariffs, Blockades, and Inflation'-Mark Thornton and Robert B. Exelund Jr.;'Lincoln Takes Command'-John Shipley Tilley;-'The Real Lincoln'-Charles L.C. Minor; 'Forced Into Glory, Abraham Lincolns White Dream-Lerone Bennett Jr.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Every American should read this book!

    Like many others, I've always wondered to myself why Lincoln got a "free pass" in history because he led the Union to victory in the War between the states. I really never knew whom to blame for the countless loss of life on both sides of the war. Lincoln's uncomprimising quest for centralized government cost this country deeply and Lincoln has really never been held accountable for his ridiculous actions during his tenure in political office. I realize even more after this book that Lincoln is not someone I would have voted for now or then.

    Mr. DiLorenzo pulls no punches in this great history book. If you want the real truth no matter how uncomfortable it may make you feel, I suggest this book. If you refuse to see Lincoln on any platform other than a hero, you probably won't get past the first couple of chapters.

    With everything going on in Washington D.C. today, I think the states rights message pouring from this book is very timely.

    Great book that I hope my children will read and embrace one day.

    Danny Littleton
    Tupelo, MS

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Finally, the Truth

    Along with, 'When in the Course of Human Events: Arguing the Case for Southern Secession.' finally present Lincoln and the North's 'Watergate.' After the War the standard rule applied, which says 'The victor writes the history.' This viewpoint has preveiled for the last 138 years, but is starting to be challenged. If you as an adult, read how a standard High School textbook treats the War you would be shocked. There is no balanced treatment there, so only in books like these can we get the -- rest of the story.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    A real eye opener!

    I¿m always amused when professional historians suggest that lay readers should not waste their time reading this or that book. This is like basing your movie viewing preference on the local movie critic¿s opinion! I would suggest that you read as many Lincoln books as you please (by historians - if you wish) and then read DiLorenzo¿s book last. DiLorenzo is a libertarian and an economist, so it is only natural that the book is written from that perspective. You may not agree with his conclusions, but the book is well written, entertaining and thoroughly documented. A free and active mind should be open to all thoughts and perspectives on any given topic, how else can you make an informed decision about any subject? So what, if Lincoln was not the saint historians have made him out to be ¿ get over it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    The truth has come out

    Great book to see the other side of the story on Lincoln. Great detail and lots of facts.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Positively Stunning

    Although the information Dr. Di Lorenzo presents is not new, the clarity of its presentation amidst constant and forceful reminders of the Founders' own views and ideas about the relationship between the Federal government, the States and the Citizenry leaves no doubt that Mr. Lincoln turned the American Foundation on its proverbial ear: the ineffectual and bloated self-importance of today's Washington establishment is, along with the rather tangential (for Lincoln) good of abolition, one of the other important Lincolnian legacies. It is a shock to the system to realize that the haze of idolatry in which the mythical Lincoln has been wrapped for so many years has served to conceal a concept of government that was so completely alien to the Founders' original intent, a concept that because of the legacy of Mr. Lincoln's dictatorial behavior has come to be viewed as an ideal. Having read The Real Lincoln, one understands as never before why so many totalitarian 'leaders' have held the 16th President in such high esteem. Messrs. Davis and Lee (was there any doubt about the Honor of General Lee?) are looking better and better!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    How Lincoln Began Federal Government Tyranny

    I always wondered what historical precedent gave birth to the federal tyranny Americans suffer under today. Like others, I assumed it began with FDR. How shocking to discover that the first traitor to the American presidency was Abraham Lincoln! Setting his rhetorical genius aside, this rail-splitting ascendant from the 'common man' is clearly responsible for the strong hand of government that labors unceasingly to erode what little remains of our constitutional rights and protections today. For those who wish to smear DiLorenzo's scholarship, I ask you: Did Lincoln suspend habeas corpus - an egregious offense to all who proclaim their right to due process? Did Lincoln jail NORTHERN editors and publishers for their objections to the war, and for agreeing that the Southern states had every RIGHT to secede for their legitimate grievances to punitive government tariffs? The list of abuses is long and difficult not to get upset about, but even apologists for Lincoln agree that these unconstitutional acts did occur. The book explains Lincoln's motives and there is nothing unreasonable about DiLorenzo's conclusions. I suggest that all truth-loving Americans read the book for themselves to find out what really happened. There are pages and pages of footnotes and references to research if desired. Reading this book will better explain how Lincoln established the precedent for ignoring the constraints of the constitution on executive power 'as wisely incorporated by our brilliant Founding Fathers'. This explains how the abuse of power by government over the American people continues to this day. Find out why America as a nation lost much after the South lost their War of Independence. If the first step to defeating tyranny is to become better informed, then pick up this book and read it!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Lincoln's Descent from America┬┐s Pedestal

    Mr. DiLorenzo has written an absolutely riveting, well-researched book that, at base, takes ¿Honest¿ Abe to task for what he actually did and said; he does not, like so many professional myth-maker/historians, give Lincoln a mulligan. Mr. DiLorenzo argues, very convincingly, that Abe Lincoln planned for and was the culmination of the Hamiltonian sect¿s wish for a powerful, centralized government; the embodiment of everything the Founders feared the federal government could become. He painstakingly details Lincoln¿s assault on the Constitution, his disregard for human rights, his provocation of the South into a war, and his ¿spectacular lie¿ that no state in our voluntary union had a right to secede. Rather than portray Lincoln as a saintly myth, Mr. DiLorenzo instead looks at the man¿s words and actions ¿ and finds him to be one of the worst presidents this country has ever had. A tyrannical, racist, power hungry, corrupt politician through and through, the damage Lincoln inflicted on the political structure of these United States was permanent. If even half of what this book posits is true, the best thing Abe Lincoln ever did on behalf of freedom was to take in a play at Ford¿s Theatre.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    1864 Election

    Five stars says it all! Makes one ponder that we would probably be two nations today if JWB had killed Lincoln before the '64 election.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    Could Another Lincoln Become President?

    The horror of this book is that another Lincoln could arise in the future, and there might not be another Booth. How have the Lincoln apologists succeeded so well in blinding us to the real career of this madman? Everyone should read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating

    Worth the time and money to read; get the perspective from the other side of Lincoln. I enjoyed the thesis presented.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    I suggest any true American should read this book.

    Honest Abe didn't pull any punches back then. His own words and actions show that indeed he had his agenda of abolishing states rights rather than slavery. Its silly to think that he trampled on the Constitution to preserve it, thats the most far fetched statement I have ever heard. Read it, it will open your eyes and help you see why things are happening in our day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    My favorite actor, John Wilkes Boothe!!

    Professor DiLorenzo has performed a valuable service for all the Lincolnphiles! Especially for those who are apologists for what Lincoln did to the country, and we are still paying the price for Lincoln's arrogant and anti-Contitutional running of the country. When John Wilkes Boothe jumped onto the stage at Fords theater, and said Sic Semper Tyrannis; He was right! Death to Tyrants!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    You have to admit, no politician has anyone's best interest at h

    You have to admit, no politician has anyone's best interest at heart. They are always out to prove themselves at the expense of the American public. This is an important read. For those of you who disagree with the information of this book, you must also believe in the fable of Washington chopping down his imaginary tree that was stuffed down our throats thru out our school years. I pity you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    A Great Read

    I've read some of the other reviewers comments. Some of them claim the author is 'cherry picking' and is completely false on a lot of his arguments. I, like most people, followed up on a lot of his claims and read through his citations. I must say that they were just about spot on as can be. Not only that, he's not the only whose also been talking about this (Lerone Bennett, Jr, whose a longtime Ebony magazine executive and wrote the book 'Forced into Glory: Abraham Lincoln's White Dream').

    What I can say is that it definitely showed Lincoln in a new light. More so than that, I've learned of the true reasoning behind the civil (Spoiler Alert: It had little to do with slavery, as a whole, and more to do with tariffs & the Fugitive Slave Act). What's most appalling is that, Lincoln actually supported the 'Corwin Amendment'. This was the original 13th amendment. It would have given each state their individual rights to state what they wanted to do and Congress has no say in the matter. Meaning, if the Southern states wanted to keep slavery & the Northern states wanted to abolish it, they were both equally capable of doing just that. Lincoln supported it.

    This book is just the beginning of your research into what Lincoln truly was. More so than that, Mr. DiLorenzo also goes into the economical policies implemented by Lincoln. He shows how, with Lincoln believing in the 'Whig' party philosophy, Lincoln started the centralized government theme. From there, we've only seen the government get exponentially bigger, never smaller.

    If you only can pick one book to read on Lincoln, I highly recommend reading this one. Soon thereafter, you'll begin to see the similarities between Lincoln & Obama. As you continue to piece things together, you'll further see why more people are joining the Libertarian party movement.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    They say history is written by the victors and nowhere have I fo

    They say history is written by the victors and nowhere have I found a better illumination of the victor's lie than in The Real Lincoln. Contrary to popular belief, Abraham Lincoln did not go to war to free the slaves. Rather, he intentionally and irrevocably denied Americans the freedom that was established by the founding fathers, from the 1860s straight into modern times. Lincoln defenders have, for years, argued against these facts with nothing but their denial to back up their claims. Thomas J. DiLorenzo shatters the myth of "Honest Abe" with dignity and transparency, thoroughly documenting every quote, argument, and opinion at the source. Clear and easy to understand, this book sets our history books straight with the real facts about our Great "Emancipator."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great

    factual and no nonsense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2