Customer Reviews for

The Real Thing [DualDisc]

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME !!!! TRY IT, BUY IT!!!

    I honestly cannot find a bad song on this CD. The dual disc gives you a peek into the life of a newcomer making music, and you get to hear 3 other songs which are acoustic and you really get to hear Bo in these tracks. If I have to choose a favorite on this CD I guess you could bend my arm, but I would be hard pressed to find a favorite. I love them all. This is a must buy and easy to listen to all the way through, over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fact-checking optional?

    Not only was "Remember Me" NOT written by Richie Sambora, but it bears not even slightest resemblance to anything ever done by Bon Jovi--by ANY stretch of the imagination. It is, however, my favorite song on this excellent CD. Rock lives again... thank you, Bo, for resurrecting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This isn't the real Bo Bice

    This guy has the voice and the potential to be the next great Southern rock singer in the mold of Ronnie Van Zant & Greg Allman. Instead, they have tried to turn him into some kind of cheesey modern day Rick Springfield. I was excited about this album, but now only disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well worth the wait

    A good mix of songs, esp. like The Real Thing and Valley of Angels, showcases his voice and his feelings without being sappy, wish there were more songs on the CD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT DEBUT!

    This CD is everything I expected it to be! Bo really sounds wonderful. The songs are very good, too. Definitely worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bo Bice IS The Real Thing

    I fell in love with his style when he did a cover of The Whipping Post on American Idol. The CD is rock music and the band is great. The best part is the voice. Bo has an awesome voice (as witnessed in his a capella performance on previously mentioned show). I have been waiting for this CD to be released and I have to say - I am not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bo is "The Real Thing"

    Bo has a winner on his hands here. All the tracks are great..I especially love Valley Of Angels and You're everything 2 different styles but Pure BO..Valley of Angels was written by Bo collaborating with Cliff Magness and Kara..This song is a beautiful touching song that shows his songwriting ability off so well. "You're Everything" was written especially for Bo by Chad Kroeger of Nickelback and he rocks this song...the lyrics are catchy and have you singing along. BO doing this live is a pure treat. The rest of the tracks show his voice in a more pop way but if you loved him singing "Don't let the sun go down" on Idol you'll love these.. I personally love hearing Bo try different styles it shows what a multi-faceted performer he really is.. Bo fans will not be disappointed with it..I loved it... Bo, your fans love you Keep on Rockin...Much Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BO BICE IS THE REAL THING

    The guy is outside the box............he is true to himself and his fans.......each song is unique and has its own appeal...............the more you listen, the better it gets.................been so tired of new music out, until this guy came along..........have bought everything he puts out and cannot wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love the DVD

    Yall have just got to get this dualdisc...the DVD of a day in the life is fantastic, and the extra cuts are pure Bo (since they were written by him.) This is a great debut CD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it

    Awesome, I was definitely not disappointed by Bo's first CD. Valley of Angels is so beautiful, and perfect for Christmas time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding, totally listenable

    Completely and totally addicting. There is not a "filler" tune in the collection. And Bo sounds great. Especially strong tracks: The Real Thing, You're Everything, Remember Me, and the absolutely gorgeous Valley of Angels (co-written by Bo). It is actually very hard to pick out the best tunes, the collection is that strong and cohesive. For Bo fans expecting a Southern rock CD: you will like this anyway but be sure to get the Dual Disc because it has incredible bonus tracks written by Bo that fall more within the Southern rock he does so perfectly: Cinnamon & Novacaine, Sinner and a Sin, and Whiskey Women & Time. I've heard these songs live in concert, and they are SMOKIN'. Anyone who can see Bo in concert, DO IT, this guy is a force of nature on stage. This CD is a total winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where's Our Rocker Bo?

    I guess I loved the crashing all out style of real rockin Bo. This album is good and shows off his vocal ability but it's a liitle too polished for my taste. There are some songs that have soul , but I want a whole album like that!!! I wanted a pic of Bo on the cover with hair aflyin', grabbin that mic and givin his all. Maybe the next one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Real Thing - It s Good for a First Album CD

    No, you won't be hearing much of the AI Bo's gritty growling vocals, except for Willing to Try, Nothing Without You,and Valley of the Angels, because most of the CD is over produced. The single, The Real Thing, is a catchy tune for radio play. The more and more I hear the song, it grows on me. You're Everything is a fun song where you crank up the volume. My favorites are Willing to Try and Valley of Angels. We knew this CD album would not be perfect, but I'm still recommending everyone to buy the dual disk, because there is something for everyone. Bo Bice is on his way to becoming a big star in the music industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bo Bice IS "The Real Thing"

    Bo Bice is truly a remarkable and talented artist. His performances are a breath of fresh air! This CD was well worth the wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Debut CD

    Awesome CD, Real, True and Pure, just like the Bo we grew to love on Idol. Standing Ovation!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blown Away

    I wanted so badly for Bo's debut album to be good and not only did I get my wish---it was surpassed!!!! Bo's songs are catchy, singable and memorable!!!! Smells like success to me!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bo's dual disc is a slam dunk!

    I've been lucky enough to be able to hear previews of most of the tracks on this CD. It is extremely appealing and listenable. Bo fans will be very pleased and he'll make a ton of new fans with this. The Real Thing, Remember Me, You're Everything... the kinds of tracks that record themselves in your head. Addicting. PLUS, the bonus DVD side is pure vintage Bo, with material he has written. The song Whiskey, Women and Time is a Southern rock smoker with serious crossover potential. This is perhaps my favorite on the entire CD. Cinnamon Novocaine is very, very catchy. Sinner and a Sin is soul-baring, introspective. For any of you who have not seen Bo perform in a live show, you are in for a treat. He lays it out there and he is absolutely The Real Thing, and every rocker he's worked with (Lynyrd Skynyrd, Trey Anastasio, Scott Ian, Ben Moody, etc.) has backed that up publicly. Forget American Idol. Bo is so far beyond that. He is authentic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1