Customer Reviews for

The Reaper and the Cop

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 9, 2014

    Great new series!! This is the first book in a new series by Min

    Great new series!!
    This is the first book in a new series by Mina Carter, and it was great! Laney is a Reaper which was passed along her family. She is tuff, snarky, and kicks ass. She comes to the town of Liberty, Oakwood expecting the normal reap job that she is used to. However, her “grimm” is telling her a different story, it is telling her that there will be many reap’s in this town before it is over.  Laney goes into a local bar looking for her reap when she sees Troy. Troy is a local cop who is aware of paranormal creatures. Troy wants to protect Laney but soon realizes that she may not need protecting. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!
    A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    great story line. Enjoy the concept of a female reaper. can't wa

    great story line. Enjoy the concept of a female reaper. can't wait for the next one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Enticing Couple and Fast-Paced Action!

    Find this review and more at Lusty Penguin Reviews!

    Mina Carter pens an enjoyable paranormal romance in The Reaper and the Cop, the first story of the Liberty, Oakwood series. Carter creatively tells this story through the eyes of the reaper, Laney Larson.

    Recently promoted to violent deaths, Laney finds herself in Liberty, Oakwood, because the Grimm inside of her believes a lot of reaping will occur in this little town very soon. Laney knows from experience that the fastest way to get to fresh bodies is to follow a cop. Hanging out at the local bar, Laney doesn’t expect to find a handsome cop who can see past her disguise. Policeman Troy Regan is thoroughly captivated by Laney when he first sees her. Instinctively, Troy knows that Laney is some kind of creature, he just has no idea what kind. After Laney is injured fighting a werewolf, Troy tends to Laney’s injuries, which in turn awakens a desire that Laney long thought dead. The sexual tension between them ignites instantly, as does the sizzling passion between the sheets. With werewolves threatening Liberty, it’s a good thing Laney and Troy will be working together to keep the town safe.

    An enticing couple and fast-paced action scenes make The Reaper and the Cop a compelling read right up the stunning cliffhanger ending, which leaves readers wanting more.

    I received an eBook copy of the book for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Hot, entertaining, sexy and sassy, this was the perfect lunch ho

    Hot, entertaining, sexy and sassy, this was the perfect lunch hour read. It’s well paced and the story never felt rushed, allowing the reader to discover things slowly as the story continued. I loved the concept of the book, Laney is refreshing and was great to get to know, and Troy fits the role perfectly. Together they make quite the couple. The book definitely serves as an introduction to the series, giving just enough to leave you wanting to know so much more about not only the characters but the town as well. I can’t wait to see where this is all going to lead.

    I received an e-copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    The fact that I love books by Mina Carter had me interested but

    The fact that I love books by Mina Carter had me interested but that she had written about a sexy female reaper
    and I was into it, and believe me I wasn't wrong. 
    Troy and Laney have immediate chemistry, the fact that he can see through her disguise to her has her surprised
    but then so do a lot of things in this town. Troy can't help feel protective over Laney after all someone so petite
    couldn't do anyone any damage could they. And as for Laney, for the first time in a long time she is attracted to
    someone and he's a cop, worse the Grimm is being quiet. And then you throw in a whole town of paranormals
    and you have the beginning  of a wonderful new series. 
    This one ended rather abruptly, the work had been done, but it left you wanting more, so can't wait for the
    remainder of the series and to learn more about the town of Liberty, as well as Laney and Troy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    This one starts off with a lot of exposition that, while necessa

    This one starts off with a lot of exposition that, while necessary, is also a little daunting and confusing.  However, once it’s out of the way, it gets interesting and fun.  The world building is really neat and the chemistry between the characters is really sexy.  It’s a short read with a couple exciting action scenes and a hot love scene that promises more.

    I can’t find any mention that this is going to be a series, but it’s very obvious after reading it that it is.  There HAS to be more coming, because the ending is far too abrupt – even if it is a slick one.  I’m looking forward to more in the world setting, but also surrounding these particular characters.  I was just getting to really like them when the story ended!

    The Reaper and the Cop is a quick, sexy read that will is set in an enthralling world with plenty of room for just about anything you can imagine.  Don’t miss out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    ***Received from author for an honest review*** (This is a short

    ***Received from author for an honest review***
    (This is a short story/novella. This review is not based on story length but story content as length has very little to do with how much I enjoy a book.)

    Laney's a Reaper. Troy's a cop. She's supernatural. He's...not.

    I love a kickass heroine, the kind the hero drools over. Not because she's sexy and confident and fills out a pair of jeans just right, but because she's not afraid to jump into the fray and show she doesn't need a man fighting her battles for her. That's Laney, a female Reaper with deadly sickles who collects souls from violent deaths.

    Then there's Troy, a detective who's seen his fair share of weird since moving to Liberty but has not seen anything, or anyone, like Laney. His recent experience with the supernatural gives him the gumption to help Laney when she faces off against a Werewolf, and that's something I had to admire. He knew she was strong, knew she could do damage, but he still stepped in to help in anyway he could.

    Although this is a short (Loc 601 of 789 was the end), there was a lot packed into it--information on Reapers, chemistry, romance, and action. The ending seemed more like an HFN to me, but it didn't lessen my overall enjoyment of the story or make me feel cheated. I enjoyed the characters, loved the action, reveled in the gore (description of that last fight scene was incredible!), and can't wait to find out if there's more to come involving Troy, Laney, and the tiny town of Liberty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1