Customer Reviews for

The Reason

Average Rating 5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The reason is a great song for everybody.

    It is a great song. I think that the lyric and the pitch is right on target.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Woah...

    This is an AWESOME cd! Full of songs that you can listen to on repeat for 3+ hours and not get bored (believe me, I've been listening to "Out of Control" everyday for at least 2 hours) The songs get to the point of no return once you find yourself air guitaring or drumming (again, I have been doing alot) along with the music. The lyrics are followable and the tune and beats vary from slower and calmer to Jump-on-the-bed-and-air-guitar fast. I would recomend this to almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great sound

    I used to think that there was an awfully contrived, calculated formula for the manner in which music actually gets to our ears. I mean- who decides what gets played and why- especially if the band is not known? Well, those questions still persist, but whatever their answer, I have to admit that sometimes the result is positive. After all, how else would I become familiar with the music of a group from Agoura, California?! In this instance, I heard "Reason" being played on HBO cable in the background of a promo for its original series. Couldn't resist the hook and with a little investigation found out that the song came from Hoobastank. I bought the CD (actually it's their second, but I wasn't aware of that) and the rest is history. This is a good band with a fresh sound. The vocalist is very capable with a sincere, emotional voice, while the music is driving and memorable. Sometimes reminiscent of straight-ahead pop (despite their claim to be alternative) the band still has an original enough approach to be distinct and rewarding. They're worth a listen. No apologies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!

    After seeing "The Reason" and "Out of Control" music videos and loving the songs sooo much, I decided to buy the CD. Let me tell you: IT'S AWESOME!!!!!! The music is loud and pounding, the vocals are sung nicely then growled. Sure, the music isn't heavy metal or anything, but it is still an excellent rock CD for any rock fan. So, listen to the samples, and if you like what you hear, then buy the CD: YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!! (I sure wasn't.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece

    This CD is a masterpiece of the rock genre. I only hope that this sophomore disc paves the way for even better releases by Hoobastank. My personal favorites are "What Happened to Us?", "Just One", and "Never There".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best!

    This CD appeals to all emotions. There are slow tracks like The Reason, and From the Heart (my favorite). There are also faster tracks like Out of Control. It is a good CD to listen to no matter what mood you are in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best cds ever

    This is one of the best cds ever!!! I love listening to rock like linkin park and three days grace and hoobastank is up there with the best of them I highly recommend getting this cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every Reason to Buy

    Hoobastank has outdone their first album--if that was even possible. Their lyrics, guitar and drum melodies and vocals are amazing and precisely on key. They do not miss a beat and keep the listener entertained and transfixed for ours. It’s difficult to find an album in which you say you “love” every song, however I can say, without a doubt, that is the case with this album. I am greatly anticipating their next. I recently saw Hoobastank in concert at the McDonald Theater in Eugene, Oregon and I must say that they are amazing to see in person. They crow went wild, the band was amazing and overall it was the best concert I have ever been to. They worked the crowd well and I loved that they sang “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” for the ladies—very appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best by Far

    Gets you pupmed. Love listening to them! and bands alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bobbing of the head

    So I can not stop listening to this cd. It is awesome. I thought I was going to be disapointed when I bought the cd because they only played their most popular song on the radio. I just figured it was a one hit wonder. Well I was so wrong. I love all their songs, I sit at my desk and listen all day to the cd and bob my head or do some air drums. I love the words and definently recommend this cd to anyone. I have already bought 3 of my friends this cd for their birthdays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From a fan

    I never thought that this could compare even slightly to the first album. It's very different, but still amazing. If for nothing else, have faith in the lead's voice and buy the album blindly, like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome

    i loved this band i first heard the song the reason on the tv channel the hits and since then i have heard it on radio 1. i have been meaning to get the album .and i am pleased that i have finally bought it .it was worth while as the songs are great i love all but one .out of control is ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album Rocks!

    this is the best hoobastank c.d. I wanted this c.d so bad so when i went to barnes and noble i got a copy and can't stop listening to it.Their lyrics are emotional and positive and a good beat.go get a copy you want regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hoobastank: The Reason

    Despite the somewhat unapealing name, Hoobastank is a showcase of young, promising talent. The Reason, being their sophmore album, is everything a second album should be; an improvement on the first. Songs like Just One show the sincerity of Singer Doug Robb, while songs like From the Heart boast Dan Estrin's guitar talent. What's a song without a great base part like Markku Lapinnen's in Out of Control, and kicking drum-set parts get a song's beat branded in your head like Chris Hesse's in Escape. then it all comes together in The Reason. Clean lyrics are the final key to the appeal of this group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy the Album

    This is by far the best Hoobastank album so far. It's got great beats and killer lyrics. I would recommend this album to anyone who has liked any of their earlier stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FREAKIN AWSOME!

    this cd is probably the best one out there today. it has no profanity and a great message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hoobastank's The Reason is awesome!

    Hoobastank's The Reason would have to be one of the greatest CD's out for purchase right now! Doug Robb sings with sincerity on every song giving them more meaning. I recommend this CD to everyone! Good Job Hoobastank and keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hearts on their sleeves

    I think that this album is positivley great. It is so well rounded. It also seems to have a lot more emotion. They really wear their hearts on their sleeves on this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy This Album!!!

    This is just such and awesome album. Their are very few cd's where I can say I love every single song. Buying this cd will be the best thing you ever do, you definately will not regret it. The emotion on this album is just unbelievable, you feel everything their playing. You have got to buy this album if you haven't already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have

    This is a wonderful C.D. They have fresh new songs and you can really just chill out to them or play them anywhere to get the party started. The vocalist has a great voice and the rythm is awesome. You must get this C.D.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4