Customer Reviews for

The Reason

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel Th

First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel The Reason is definitely influenced by the place I am in at this time of my life. I have just finished spending two weeks in the Intensive Care Unit of a hospital with my mother. The things we as a family wit...
First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel The Reason is definitely influenced by the place I am in at this time of my life. I have just finished spending two weeks in the Intensive Care Unit of a hospital with my mother. The things we as a family witness and experienced during that time and after have caused us to be more aware of the miracles around us than we were before that.
Having said that, I really enjoyed The Reason, and would recommend it to everyone. There was one place where one of the characters acknowledges that they know who the carpenter really is, and then shortly afterwards they question him again, which threw me off but other than that, I found the story line flowed seamlessly, the plot and the characters were well devolped and believable.
I resonated with Alex's mother as she hopes for a miracle, just as we hoped for a miracle with our mom and realized together with Macey Lewis the oncologist James Lindy the churche's blind minister and the friends of Alex and his mom, in the novel, that truly, no matter how much we try on our own, we must come to the conclusion that God is ultimately in control! What a mighty God we serve!
No matter what you have experienced I think this novel will give you fresh hope and courage in God's Love.

posted by MitziAB on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I wasn't initially drawn to The Reason. The premise didn't make

I wasn't initially drawn to The Reason. The premise didn't make sense, but when I started reading it, I was immediately drawn into the story. The story begins on a dark and stormy day. The lightening from the storm strikes the large wooden cross in front of a small chur...
I wasn't initially drawn to The Reason. The premise didn't make sense, but when I started reading it, I was immediately drawn into the story. The story begins on a dark and stormy day. The lightening from the storm strikes the large wooden cross in front of a small church in Mighican. The repair of the cross unites a group of characters that together meet Kenneth, a man who is different from anyone they’ve ever known. 




Kenneth joins the group as they work to repair the cross and his life begins to intersect the other characters in very mysterious ways. His faith is strong, even stronger than Pastor Jim. As this group of people faces difficulties Kenneth encourages them to “Only believe.” Will they be able to believe in the face of tremendous heartache? Trouble from the past? A belief in modern medicine?




I really enjoyed The Reason.  I didn’t want to put it down, but when I was forced too, I found myself thinking about the story and wanting to know what was going to happen. There was a lot in the book and the various and varying storylines were a bit confusing to follow at times, but they eventually all made sense. This is a great book for anyone as it is a tremendous story sure to help build or reinforce your faith. 




Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

posted by esosweet on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel Th

    First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel The Reason is definitely influenced by the place I am in at this time of my life. I have just finished spending two weeks in the Intensive Care Unit of a hospital with my mother. The things we as a family witness and experienced during that time and after have caused us to be more aware of the miracles around us than we were before that.
    Having said that, I really enjoyed The Reason, and would recommend it to everyone. There was one place where one of the characters acknowledges that they know who the carpenter really is, and then shortly afterwards they question him again, which threw me off but other than that, I found the story line flowed seamlessly, the plot and the characters were well devolped and believable.
    I resonated with Alex's mother as she hopes for a miracle, just as we hoped for a miracle with our mom and realized together with Macey Lewis the oncologist James Lindy the churche's blind minister and the friends of Alex and his mom, in the novel, that truly, no matter how much we try on our own, we must come to the conclusion that God is ultimately in control! What a mighty God we serve!
    No matter what you have experienced I think this novel will give you fresh hope and courage in God's Love.

    44 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Outstanding first novel. Looking forward to many more excellent stories from William.

    Great characterizations, The Reason has good pacing and excellent prose. Very descriptive, emotional, and uplifting, but have tissues handy for several parts if you are empathetic at all.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Dont give bad ratings for griping reviews

    You know what really gets me is the people who give books bad ratings because they dont happen to like peoples"reviews". Other people, like me who go by the overall star rating to try and figure out if a book is worth getting can't do that any more because of this. Here's a little bit of advice to those of you who do this...if you dont want to
    know every detail of the book, DONT READ THE REVIEWS. A review is not only for people to tell weather or not they like it but to give some insight as to what the book is about! I am greatful sometimes that people do this because sometimes the description just doesnt give enough detail. So therefore, i am going to give this book a 5 star rating to override the 1 star some dimwit decided to give when they wern't even reviewing the book.

    16 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    The Reason William Sirls ©2012 Thomas Nelson Publishers ISBN 978

    The Reason
    William Sirls ©2012
    Thomas Nelson Publishers
    ISBN 978-1-4016-8736 (trade paper)
    396 pp. plus author’s note and Reading Group Guide

    The Reason is a story so well written readers can believe such events really could happen. And since with God nothing is impossible, these events surely could happen.

    Brooke Thomas never told her former boss, Ian, that he was the father of her son, Alex—until Alex needed a bone marrow match to recover from leukemia.

    Brooke’s boss, Carla Miller believes she’s worthless and can’t forgive or be forgiven. Dr. Zach Norman doesn’t realize he’s destroying relationships with his selfishness and self-centeredness. Dr. Macey Lewis believes she personally must cure every child with cancer.

    Pastor Jim and his wife Shirley love their brain-damaged, seven-foot tall son, Charlie, even though he cannot speak. They also love the small church they lead. The cross outside the church has just been damaged by lightning and they can’t afford to replace it. Charlie loves Alex.

    Tim Shempner is thoroughly rotten--not worth saving. Or is he?

    How the mysterious Kenneth affects each character in this story will change their lives forever. The Reason will leave readers filled with hope that nothing happens without a purpose and with the satisfaction of reading a tale well told.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great book- Highly recommend!!

    Great book- Highly recommend!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Loved the "reviews". I give 5 stars to these informative reviewers. Problem-I save money by not needing to purchase book but the author loses money. Keep up the good wirk writing mini novels, reviews.

    Want-to-be writers continue to share their plot spoilers as reviews. Sad

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    At St. Thomas Church, the cross on the front lawn is a beacon of

    At St. Thomas Church, the cross on the front lawn is a beacon of hope; that is, until a lightning strike leaves it in splinters. Many of the people around the church are as broken as the cross: Carla, who can't forgive or forget the secrets of her childhood; Brooke, who faced life alone as a single mother until meeting the minister and his family; and Zach, the doctor who cannot forgive himself for a past failure. But when a mysterious stranger arrives on the scene to repair the cross, they find that there is hope for their broken lives, as well. All they need to do is . . . "only believe" . . .


    Forgiveness is as much the central theme of this novel as is faith. The author has, in his first novel, found a way to express that most basic tenet of the Gospel. There is forgiveness for all, if we only believe.


    5 stars


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Must Read!"

    Outside a church in a small town in Michigan stands a 15 foot wooden cross. Brooke was cleaning inside the church with her 5-year-old son, Alex, when the lights went out. “It was deadly still outside. The air was thick and had a strange smell to it. The clouds were now a dark gray and the sky behind them an eerie crayon green, casting down a steady shadow of the same color over everything she could see.”

    The thunder rolled closer, getting louder. Lightning striking down, lighting up the church for an instant. Brooke glanced outside to see a reddish-orange flash followed by thunder so loud it shook the church.

    The storm was over as fast as it came. Brooke and Alex stepped outside to see Pastor Jim on his knees in front of the cross. Lightning had struck it in two, the upper section lying in a puddle on the lawn.

    ~

    Brooke and Alex met Dr. Macey Lewis at the East Shore Community Hospital. Alex has not been feeling well for a while and getting many nosebleeds. Alex told Macey about the cross and Macey said she would help fix it. Her friend and nurse, Kaitlyn, offered to help as well. Dr. Zach Norman offered to help as well, though his intentions were selfish. He wanted to look good in front of Kaitlyn, who he used to date and who he wants back. A construction worker who was working on the expansion of the hospital stopped by Macey’s office and offered his help. Everyone agree to meet at the cross after Sunday service at the church.

    Macey and Kaitlyn decided to attend the church service. Zach was a nonbeliever. As everyone gathered around the cross and saw the extent of the damage, they knew there would be no way to fix it, but it was still worth a try. They left Kenneth to change out of their church clothes. They spoke about how they thought they would not be able to help and all offered to pitch in money to buy a new cross when they looked out the window to see that the cross had been fixed.

    It was a miracle to some and unbelievable to others. How could one man fix an unfixable cross in a matter of minutes? Not only was the cross heavy, but also stuck in the ground when the mud dried after the storm. The two fire-burnt ends of the cross could no longer fit together like two puzzle pieces. Who is Kenneth and what did he do?

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 5 out of 5 stars

    In the beginning of the book, I was having trouble keeping track of who was who. Was Macey the doctor and Kaitlyn the nurse? Which one dated Dr. Zach? Once I got the characters down, it was smooth sailing.

    This book is a must read! It made me laugh, get angry, become frustrated and heartbroken. Keep the tissues around; this book will make you cry. These characters become a little family through the instances in the story and the book makes you feel like you are a part of that family as well. This book will leave you wondering, confused, and second-guessing with a sense of unbelievable.

    I cannot say much more about this book to show you how great is it. There are no words. Just know that your faith may be challenged. You may cry. And you just might love this book as much as I do. If you only believe.

    If you don’t believe me, check it out for yourself!

    Until next time, take life one page at a time!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Great Book! The Reason by William Sirls

    This story is filled with many different characters that have extremely different situations in their individual lives that send them all searching for the same thing…answers.
    I was captivated by the authors ability to bring the characters alive to the point where you can visualize them in your head.
    I am convinced that everyone of us, if we are honest, can say that we daily have questions in our minds that are very similar to those of the people in this story.
    Questions of why? Questions of when? And ultimately a question of how?

    The journey that Brooke, her son Alex, and all of their friends take in this story will leave you sleepless because this book could keep you turning pages and losing track of the time.
    I found that the book had a little bit of a slow start but only about the first 2 chapters and then it breaks open into a suspenseful and emotional ride. You will swing from sadness, excitement, suspense, and thankfulness for what God is doing on your own life through the course of this book.
    When life gets tough, just remember that God is always there with you and will take care of things, even if it doesn’t seem like the way you would do things. Only Believe!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - this is a must read!!

    The Reason by William Sirls is a novel about faith and believing in a higher power, for me this would be God. Sirls captures something personal about every character in ‘The Reason’; he does not miss a beat. Very well written novel Mr. Sirls, full of inspiration, love and hope for all who read your book. A small community comes together when lightning struck the cross at their church and destroyed it, the cross that gave so many of them hope. Pastor Jim and the parishioner’s wonder how they will have the cross-repaired with no funds to hire anyone, and then Kenneth happens along. The characters ask the questions we have all asked at some point in our lives, “where is God when bad things happen”, and “does He really hear us when we pray”? They will make you laugh and cry, they we all teach you that we need to have faith and to believe. You will find it very hard to put this book down, this is a book that will you will read again.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Reason William Sirls In a small town in Michigan a storm is

    The Reason
    William Sirls

    In a small town in Michigan a storm is brewing. As the storm builds the lights inside St. Thomas church go out, then the night sky is brightened by a lone lightning strike that splits the wooden cross outside of the church. Since it is a small congregation the blind minister wonders how they will repair the damage that was wrought. When Macey Lewis, an oncologist at the local hospital, finds out about the dilemma she gathers a group of strangers together to repair what was done. Soon their lives are intertwining as they each find peace with themselves and with God.

    The Reason is a beautiful novel full of love and God’s grace. In this book you learn that anything can be possible as long as you believe, to quit living in the past and live in the present, and appreciate what is around you that you have been blessed with. With such a strong positive message and beautiful scenes this is one of those novels you just don’t want to put down. William Sirls has created not only a book worth reading but something that will impact and change the way you view the things in your life. I do think novels like this need to come with tissues that would be enough warning that there is a strong chance you will end up blubbering like a baby.
    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Amazing tearjerker that will re-ignite your faith!

    Amazing tearjerker that will re-ignite your faith!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

     William Sirls' books are compelling reads. Even though I read t

     William Sirls' books are compelling reads. Even though I read them several weeks ago, I can't wait to read them again because I know I will stiil enjoy it and get more from it. They are  deep, thought-provoking, inspiring, enjoyable books. I can't wait to read more of this author. The Reason revolves around a church family,a doctor,  and a carpenter. Each one brings their own story and their own part to the other characters stories. There is illness, hospitals, lightening, crosses, and disbelief. It all comes together to make a suspenseful, emotional, lesson learning experience.
    I recieved this book from the author and the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    This book begins with the cross of a small town church being de

    This book begins with the cross of a small town church being destroyed by lightning. I was quickly captivated by the characters – a single mom, her adorable little boy, the blind pastor and his wife, their gentle giant mentally challenged son, 3 medical personnel, and one miracle performing carpenter. The characters seemed so real and William Sirls has woven an incredible story, almost a modern What Would Jesus Do? As I read I wondered if I would have the faith that the characters in the story have, especially as the pasts of several characters are reveled and the circumstances of some get harder.
    What an amazing book! “Only Believe” is the theme that runs throughout it – believe in the miracles that God can perform when we believe. I loved this book and look forward to reading more by William Sirls. I highly recommend it - I couldn’t put it down until I finished it! I received this book from TBCN in return for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Wow! What a very thought-provoking fiction book! While this book

    Wow! What a very thought-provoking fiction book! While this book is fiction, it really taught me a lot about "only believing". This book centers around a group of people associated with the church. Some different scenarios happen with everyone in the book but they all center around one theme. I loved the way the author brought them all together. And just when you think you know the ending, there is a twist. This book had me in tears near the end and I was amazed at how inspirational this fiction book was. I would recommend this book to everyone!
    I received this book from bookfun for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Often we ask ¿why God¿ when tragedies happen, when good people s

    Often we ask “why God” when tragedies happen, when good people suffer injustices and when we cannot explain away heartbreaking events. In his book, The Reason, William Sirls weaves together a story of “why God” events with characters who must face their realities without knowing why things have happened. Along the way, each person is given time to examine their own beliefs and their own struggles and given one job “only believe”.

    When good enough is not enough, faith becomes a life line. When trying desperately to hold on with blind faith, the deepest questions surface, and need to be exposed so that God’s truth can bring peace even if the situation is not changed.

    Mr. Sirls does an incredible job of telling about God’s sovereignty and providence with a delightful cast of characters. The book was incredibly touching and not easily forgotten. Although the story is fictional, I was swept into the story and found myself literally enveloped in tears at one point. The Reason is a must read book.

    I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    The Reason, the first published novel by William Sirls, is pheno

    The Reason, the first published novel by William Sirls, is phenomenally amazing. I find it a challenge to put into words the way this novel reaches into the heart of the reader and compels from the beginning. Its messages speak to one’s heart gently, yet with all the intensity of the lightning that split the cross at St. Thomas Church and set it afire.
    Pastor James Lindy, eyes blinded by disease, has a heart of wisdom and gift of discernment that aids him in caring for those in his church and home. His family includes Shirley, his wife of many years, and their son Charlie, a gentle giant of a man, who is mute and developmentally disabled. Pastor Lindy’s extended family includes Brooke, a young single mother who was in need of a home along with Alex, her five year old son.
    After an unusually harsh thunderstorm in which lightning struck and splintered the huge cross on the church grounds, a group of church members and volunteers from the local hospital plan to repair the cross if at all possible after a Sunday service. The volunteers include a young man named Kenneth who is a carpenter working at the expansion of East Shore Community Hospital. With only James and his mute son Charlie present, Kenneth repairs the demolished cross to perfect condition in a matter of seconds, stunning the volunteers who had been gathered in the house with Shirley.
    Inexplicable miracles begin to occur within the community. Those who spend any amount of time around Kenneth know that there is something different about him. That includes a young lady whose heart he seems to see directly into, knowing everything, including the shame and pain that she hides from everyone. It also includes Pastor James, Charlie, and others who take his challenge – “only believe” – seriously. Others mull over the individual challenges Kenneth offers them.
    Then what seems to be the worst happens – young Alex is diagnosed with leukemia – and as treatments are determined and begun, Brooke’s questions echo those that have been around since the fall of man. Where is God…why my only child…. “Only believe” sounds so simple until the diagnosis is made.
    Mr. Sirls has been silent, coming to know that God is truly God – the God of love, of grace, and of second chances. The circumstances that brought him to an incredible relationship with the Lord are nothing short of a miracle in disguise, a miracle that showed him the reason. If you read one Christian novel this year that demonstrates the potential every church community has for God’s supernatural work, make this your choice. It is written with the excellence and assurance of a man who knows his Lord and Savior and what He can do. If you miss The Reason, you could miss the challenge of your personal gift if you will only believe.
    I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    The Reason by William Sirls How can one family face adversity

    The Reason by William Sirls
    How can one family face adversity, tragedy, miracles, and heartbreak. And yet still have faith. They can because they ….. only believe. Pastor James Lindy and wife Shirley have taken in Brooke and her young son Alex. They complete their small family along with their special needs son Charlie. A storm destroys and takes out the church’s cross but brings so much more to the community. As repairs are made they see miracles. Kenneth an ordinary carpenter is new to town but where he goes strange and wondrous things happen.
    Quote: “ He knew without a doubt that miracles took place all the time, and that everyone - without exception - was from the hand of God. There were big ones. There were small ones. There were those everyone noticed, like surviving life-threatening illness and accidents. Then there were many more that went unnoticed, like healthy children, something to eat, a roof , someone to love, birth and sometimes, even death. He wondered what the world would be like if people would just stop and take the time to look at everything they were given everyday of their lives and be thankful --to offer thanks and try to realize their personal miracles were coming from, and give credit where it was rightfully due.”
    The author William Sirls is new to me. In fact this is his first book. I found his work to be a breath of fresh air, well written with compelling stories of faith. The authors strong faith shines in this great book. I am so looking forward to his next book The Sinners Garden. Author Carrie Daws once said, “You know it's a good book when you are emotionally invested in it,” and I promise you will be invested in this wonderful story.
    I give this book 5 stars and highly recommend it. High-five to the author William Sirls and publisher for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. The Book Club Network Inc. provided me with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for their, the authors and publishers generosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Great read!

    This book will stay with you. It is written well and gives a true message. One of my favorites. I hope William Sirls has more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Read it

    Wow. I saw it on the $5 rack one day at Books•A•Million and I was really looking for something spiritually soothing. As soon as I saw it, I knew it was defenatly for me. It started out really nice, and had a few great twists and turns that i did not expect! A book I would defenalty advise to someone who wants to just cuddle up and read something about Gods amazing wanders and miracles. It just woeed me over d over again and i was hooked! Read it and I hop you dont regret it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4