Customer Reviews for

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be a text book for understanding Autism.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation come

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts...
Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts exactly... "The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities." This book reads like it was written by a middle-aged man (named David Mitchell), especially the last half of the book.

The 13 year-old portrayed in this book is essentially the classic “noble savage” from romantic literature. He has ASD and appears limited to the outside world, yet has achieved a level of self-actualization never reached by many adults. Here are a few examples:

Q39 Why do you like being in the water?
We just want to go back. To the distant, distant past. To a primeval era, in fact, before human beings even existed. All people with autism feel the same about this one, I reckon…. We are a different kind of human, born with primeval senses.

Q58 What are your thoughts on autism itself?
We are more like travelers from the distant, distant past. And if, by our being here, we could help the people of the world remember what truly matters for the Earth, that would give us a quiet pleasure.

I'm assuming there is a grain of truth contributing to the original concept for this book. And I would have loved to hear that part of the story.

For now, If you want to read an authentic first-hand account by someone with autism, read Temple Grandin’s "Thinking in Pictures." If you want to remind yourself what an insightful, articulate 13 year-old sounds like, re-read Anne Frank's diary. If you want to read an adult without autism’s educated guess about the inner thoughts of someone with ASD, read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." If you want to support a fraudulent translator and a potentially fraudulent method (if facilitated communication was used), then read "The Reason I Jump."

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be

    As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be a text book for understanding Autism.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Don't read this book in English unless a better translation come

    Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

    Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts exactly... "The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities." This book reads like it was written by a middle-aged man (named David Mitchell), especially the last half of the book.

    The 13 year-old portrayed in this book is essentially the classic “noble savage” from romantic literature. He has ASD and appears limited to the outside world, yet has achieved a level of self-actualization never reached by many adults. Here are a few examples:

    Q39 Why do you like being in the water?
    We just want to go back. To the distant, distant past. To a primeval era, in fact, before human beings even existed. All people with autism feel the same about this one, I reckon…. We are a different kind of human, born with primeval senses.

    Q58 What are your thoughts on autism itself?
    We are more like travelers from the distant, distant past. And if, by our being here, we could help the people of the world remember what truly matters for the Earth, that would give us a quiet pleasure.

    I'm assuming there is a grain of truth contributing to the original concept for this book. And I would have loved to hear that part of the story.

    For now, If you want to read an authentic first-hand account by someone with autism, read Temple Grandin’s "Thinking in Pictures." If you want to remind yourself what an insightful, articulate 13 year-old sounds like, re-read Anne Frank's diary. If you want to read an adult without autism’s educated guess about the inner thoughts of someone with ASD, read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." If you want to support a fraudulent translator and a potentially fraudulent method (if facilitated communication was used), then read "The Reason I Jump."

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Naoki is a brave man and his book The Reason I Jump is an amazin

    Naoki is a brave man and his book The Reason I Jump is an amazing look into the mind of an Autistic person. The writing really lets you know what it is like in his mind. I was totally captivated and learned so much. Five Stars.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason I jump is unlike any book I have ever read. The book

    The Reason I jump is unlike any book I have ever read. The book gives a clear glimpse into how the Autistic mind works. I loved the details. There wasn’t one boring page in the entire book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    In response to " Don't read this book in English"

    I am truly sorry that you must not be capable of wrapping your mind around this young boy's precious and very personal thoughts. My daughter just turned four and she too, has an extremely high intellect. If I have heard her say it once, I've heard it a thousand times over: "Momma I wanna go HOME." (Mind you, we WILL be in our house) there are many more incidents but personally they are not of your judgemental concern. And yes I am aware of who Temple Grandin is but you forget that no two people are exact...and that goes for Autism, too. Please work a little harder on having not only an open mind, but an open HEART, as well..

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I have never returned a book I bought but I did return this one

    I have never returned a book I bought but I did return this one after reading two chapters. I didn’t realize the book was written supposedly through facilitated communication, a highly controversial and often criticized method. The book would have us believe that the writer, a thirteen year old child with autism, was fully capable of forming and expressing complex and introspective thoughts. The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities. There are many other books that truly help parents and others understand autism. Leave this one at the book store.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Just what I was expecting

    Our son is 9 years old and mildly autistic. I purchased The Reason I Jump in order to get a glimpse inside a autistic child's mind. Naoki's ability to express himself is a gift to parents. Although my son's answers would be different, Naoki's answers give me food for thought and a place to start the conversation with my son.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason I Jump is a fascinating book written by a fascinating

    The Reason I Jump is a fascinating book written by a fascinating young man: Naoki Higashida. Naoki suffers from Autism. But he doesn’t let that stop him from living a full and rewarding life. The Reason I Jump is his story in his own words. It is a fascinating book and very informative. Naoki is so brave to share his story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Interesting.

    As the mother of an adult autistic son I thought this book might give me further insight into his world. It really did not tell me more than other books I have read by autistic people. Still very interesting though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    The "sea change" of parenting has been led by parents

    The "sea change" of parenting has been led by parents of children with autism. Thankfully, parents of children with autism include people who are able to affect the "sea change." People who have been diagnosed with "Autism," and their parents and caregivers are in a position to advance civilization. Listen to them. Thanks to increasing assistive technology, we will, within the next decade, go beyond "alphabet boards" etc., and tap in to the advanced cognition that exceptional human beings that _____ (insert your child's name here) will contribute.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Not a Keeper

    Started with a lot of anticipation which steadily diminished as I continued To read. It isn't a bad read just not the fascinating book that it had been presented as being. I didn't feel as if I learned anything groundbreaking. The author seems to have self awareness and ability to communicate his feelings

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    sample is useless

    9 pages of a melo dramatic forward, a waste of bandwidth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Eh...

    At times heartwarming while at others mundane. Remembering that an autistic child wrote this kept me reading but did little to garner anything more than the two-stars I give it. Higashida is impressive and inspiring but unfortunately this book is not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Beauty

    I found every page helped me better understand my son. I laughed, teared up and had many a "ah ha" moments. Thank you for helping us.
    This book is a must read if your child or loved one is autistic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Good book

    Helpful in understanding autism as explained by one who has it. Every little bit of information we get about autism helps to understand this difficult condition!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Great read for autistic moms

    This book gives great insight into the autistic mind. Mind blowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Naoki Higashida is thirteen years old and severely autistic, &qu

    Naoki Higashida is thirteen years old and severely autistic, "a writer still with one foot in childhood," as described in the introduction by translator David Mitchell. He is nonverbal, communicating via an alphabet grid. Written in Q&A format and concluding with one of Higashida's short stories, The Reason I Jump is a quick read which offers a peek into the mind of an autistic child.

    I think it's important to remember this is one person's perspective. The word "we" is used so often in his responses, it'd be easy to make sweeping assumptions that Higashida's perceptions mirror what others with autism experience; but we all know that autism disorders vary greatly from person to person. However, The Reason I Jump offers unique insight and hopes to clear up common misunderstandings. For example, "calming down" might look different than we'd expect: repetitive movement could help to calm while trying to sit still makes things worse. Outward "childish" behavior is often motivated by intricate thoughts and emotions within. Higashida explains why making eye contact is difficult. He expresses frustration at being talked down to, as well as the assumption that his feelings aren't as subtle and as the feelings of others.

    Yet...here comes the dose of skepticism: I couldn't help but wonder about the incredibly profound manner in which Higashida expresses himself, especially his perceptions of the world around him and when comparing his own experiences with those of "normal" people. He is impressively astute and at times, downright philosophical. I thought, how trustworthy was the translation process? I did some Googling, and I found this New York Times article (among others) which brought up a number of valid concerns.

    Even so, that didn't negate the positive aspects of The Reason I Jump. At the very least, Higashida challenged me to consider people and look at life from angles that had never before crossed my mind. Well worth the read, even with the grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    People with autisim (wont be mean)

    You people with autisim i love you people how u stick up too stuff people say i say u guys are true underdogs :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Nix

    Looks around. Up and down her arms are tattos of dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5