Customer Reviews for

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be a text book for understanding Autism.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation come

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts...
Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts exactly... "The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities." This book reads like it was written by a middle-aged man (named David Mitchell), especially the last half of the book.

The 13 year-old portrayed in this book is essentially the classic “noble savage” from romantic literature. He has ASD and appears limited to the outside world, yet has achieved a level of self-actualization never reached by many adults. Here are a few examples:

Q39 Why do you like being in the water?
We just want to go back. To the distant, distant past. To a primeval era, in fact, before human beings even existed. All people with autism feel the same about this one, I reckon…. We are a different kind of human, born with primeval senses.

Q58 What are your thoughts on autism itself?
We are more like travelers from the distant, distant past. And if, by our being here, we could help the people of the world remember what truly matters for the Earth, that would give us a quiet pleasure.

I'm assuming there is a grain of truth contributing to the original concept for this book. And I would have loved to hear that part of the story.

For now, If you want to read an authentic first-hand account by someone with autism, read Temple Grandin’s "Thinking in Pictures." If you want to remind yourself what an insightful, articulate 13 year-old sounds like, re-read Anne Frank's diary. If you want to read an adult without autism’s educated guess about the inner thoughts of someone with ASD, read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." If you want to support a fraudulent translator and a potentially fraudulent method (if facilitated communication was used), then read "The Reason I Jump."

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Don't read this book in English unless a better translation come

    Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

    Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts exactly... "The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities." This book reads like it was written by a middle-aged man (named David Mitchell), especially the last half of the book.

    The 13 year-old portrayed in this book is essentially the classic “noble savage” from romantic literature. He has ASD and appears limited to the outside world, yet has achieved a level of self-actualization never reached by many adults. Here are a few examples:

    Q39 Why do you like being in the water?
    We just want to go back. To the distant, distant past. To a primeval era, in fact, before human beings even existed. All people with autism feel the same about this one, I reckon…. We are a different kind of human, born with primeval senses.

    Q58 What are your thoughts on autism itself?
    We are more like travelers from the distant, distant past. And if, by our being here, we could help the people of the world remember what truly matters for the Earth, that would give us a quiet pleasure.

    I'm assuming there is a grain of truth contributing to the original concept for this book. And I would have loved to hear that part of the story.

    For now, If you want to read an authentic first-hand account by someone with autism, read Temple Grandin’s "Thinking in Pictures." If you want to remind yourself what an insightful, articulate 13 year-old sounds like, re-read Anne Frank's diary. If you want to read an adult without autism’s educated guess about the inner thoughts of someone with ASD, read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." If you want to support a fraudulent translator and a potentially fraudulent method (if facilitated communication was used), then read "The Reason I Jump."

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I have never returned a book I bought but I did return this one

    I have never returned a book I bought but I did return this one after reading two chapters. I didn’t realize the book was written supposedly through facilitated communication, a highly controversial and often criticized method. The book would have us believe that the writer, a thirteen year old child with autism, was fully capable of forming and expressing complex and introspective thoughts. The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities. There are many other books that truly help parents and others understand autism. Leave this one at the book store.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    sample is useless

    9 pages of a melo dramatic forward, a waste of bandwidth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Dadadda

    Hjjbvbnb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    The Reason I Jump

    The reason I'm not jumping ... couldn't finish the book -a thirteen year old? With autism?
    Would not recommend it to anyone and certainly not to a parent of a child with autism or special needs.
    Who wrote this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1