Customer Reviews for

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be

As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be a text book for understanding Autism.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation come

Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts...
Don't read this book in English unless a better translation comes out. Even then only read it if it can be proven that it wasn't written through facilitated communication. At this point that remains unclear to me.

Anon's 1-star review from 10/4/13 reflected my thoughts exactly... "The level of “insight” articulated would be beyond even the normal thirteen year old’s developmental abilities." This book reads like it was written by a middle-aged man (named David Mitchell), especially the last half of the book.

The 13 year-old portrayed in this book is essentially the classic “noble savage” from romantic literature. He has ASD and appears limited to the outside world, yet has achieved a level of self-actualization never reached by many adults. Here are a few examples:

Q39 Why do you like being in the water?
We just want to go back. To the distant, distant past. To a primeval era, in fact, before human beings even existed. All people with autism feel the same about this one, I reckon…. We are a different kind of human, born with primeval senses.

Q58 What are your thoughts on autism itself?
We are more like travelers from the distant, distant past. And if, by our being here, we could help the people of the world remember what truly matters for the Earth, that would give us a quiet pleasure.

I'm assuming there is a grain of truth contributing to the original concept for this book. And I would have loved to hear that part of the story.

For now, If you want to read an authentic first-hand account by someone with autism, read Temple Grandin’s "Thinking in Pictures." If you want to remind yourself what an insightful, articulate 13 year-old sounds like, re-read Anne Frank's diary. If you want to read an adult without autism’s educated guess about the inner thoughts of someone with ASD, read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." If you want to support a fraudulent translator and a potentially fraudulent method (if facilitated communication was used), then read "The Reason I Jump."

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be

    As a psychologist I can honestly say The Reason I Jump could be a text book for understanding Autism.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Naoki is a brave man and his book The Reason I Jump is an amazin

    Naoki is a brave man and his book The Reason I Jump is an amazing look into the mind of an Autistic person. The writing really lets you know what it is like in his mind. I was totally captivated and learned so much. Five Stars.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason I jump is unlike any book I have ever read. The book

    The Reason I jump is unlike any book I have ever read. The book gives a clear glimpse into how the Autistic mind works. I loved the details. There wasn’t one boring page in the entire book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    In response to " Don't read this book in English"

    I am truly sorry that you must not be capable of wrapping your mind around this young boy's precious and very personal thoughts. My daughter just turned four and she too, has an extremely high intellect. If I have heard her say it once, I've heard it a thousand times over: "Momma I wanna go HOME." (Mind you, we WILL be in our house) there are many more incidents but personally they are not of your judgemental concern. And yes I am aware of who Temple Grandin is but you forget that no two people are exact...and that goes for Autism, too. Please work a little harder on having not only an open mind, but an open HEART, as well..

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Just what I was expecting

    Our son is 9 years old and mildly autistic. I purchased The Reason I Jump in order to get a glimpse inside a autistic child's mind. Naoki's ability to express himself is a gift to parents. Although my son's answers would be different, Naoki's answers give me food for thought and a place to start the conversation with my son.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason I Jump is a fascinating book written by a fascinating

    The Reason I Jump is a fascinating book written by a fascinating young man: Naoki Higashida. Naoki suffers from Autism. But he doesn’t let that stop him from living a full and rewarding life. The Reason I Jump is his story in his own words. It is a fascinating book and very informative. Naoki is so brave to share his story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    The "sea change" of parenting has been led by parents

    The "sea change" of parenting has been led by parents of children with autism. Thankfully, parents of children with autism include people who are able to affect the "sea change." People who have been diagnosed with "Autism," and their parents and caregivers are in a position to advance civilization. Listen to them. Thanks to increasing assistive technology, we will, within the next decade, go beyond "alphabet boards" etc., and tap in to the advanced cognition that exceptional human beings that _____ (insert your child's name here) will contribute.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Beauty

    I found every page helped me better understand my son. I laughed, teared up and had many a "ah ha" moments. Thank you for helping us.
    This book is a must read if your child or loved one is autistic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Great read for autistic moms

    This book gives great insight into the autistic mind. Mind blowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    People with autisim (wont be mean)

    You people with autisim i love you people how u stick up too stuff people say i say u guys are true underdogs :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Carmen

    Sup lily

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Maddie

    I am autistic and i am struggling to get through every day life i am the ourcast i need someone to understand me so please take atisum seriously and not as a joke my type of autsium is high fuctioning atisum so i have good grades but have no freinds .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Lily

    Im not stupid. Get out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Zixzans spirit

    Waits one last time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Excellent incite into a young Autistic boys mind

    This book is very thought provoking. If Autism has touched your life you should read it. If nothing else it will help you deal with the world that's coming up. Many children are growing up with Autism and will find
    a place in society. A little understanding of their world will help you realize there real potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    love it

    I am a person on the autism spectrum and I can relate to the person who wrote this book. the book is well written and i absolutely love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Awesome

    I have autizum and it is a very interesting book for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Highly recommend... Especially parents of children with autism

    Read this book in an hour was very insightful and answered some questions I've always wondered about. An easy read but well put would definetly recommend and have already ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3