Customer Reviews for

The Recruit (Highland Guard Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could not put down!

I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians...
I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians.

posted by michellewils on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hard to review something you haven't read yet!

B&N sent me an email today asking me to review my purchase. Imagine my surprise to find that they want me to review something that I have ordered but hasn't yet been published! That being said, I'm pretty sure I'll like it as the rest of Monica McCarty's 'Robert Bruce...
B&N sent me an email today asking me to review my purchase. Imagine my surprise to find that they want me to review something that I have ordered but hasn't yet been published! That being said, I'm pretty sure I'll like it as the rest of Monica McCarty's 'Robert Bruce's Highland Seal' team stories were good.

posted by ruthgold18 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Hard to review something you haven't read yet!

    B&N sent me an email today asking me to review my purchase. Imagine my surprise to find that they want me to review something that I have ordered but hasn't yet been published! That being said, I'm pretty sure I'll like it as the rest of Monica McCarty's 'Robert Bruce's Highland Seal' team stories were good.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Could not put down!

    I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book including all of the one in the series.

    The Recruit is both thrilling and funny and extremely sensual. I loved it. I have all of Monica MCCarty's Highland Gard books. I have loved each and everyone. I give five stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Keep this series going!

    I hope Monica keeps this series going! I cannot really choose which book I like the best. I have already read each book several times .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Highland guard novel

    Not a bad read. Had difficulty getting into this book, Why? Cant put my finger on it. Well written, tad on the slow side maybe? Good author, liked previous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Not her best

    I have read every book she has written and am a huge fan. That being said, this book was very disappointing. Long on sex, short on plot. Felt rushed and shallow. The sex scenes were overlong and took up too many pages, like she couldn't come up with a story, hence sex, sex and more sex. I love her older books and hope she returns to that formula, i.e., strong plot with romance and shorter sex sequences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Must read series

    Another great one. . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT  I was a bit disappointed with this book.  It felt

    SPOILER ALERT  I was a bit disappointed with this book.  It felt it was rushed to end. I would have liked to see Mary rekindle some relationship with her son, or form a bond with Kenneth at least. I thought Kenneth would find Janet for Mary or something of that affect, her showing up somewhere unexpected. I thought the authors ending to "Janet" was weak. Why put it in that the Monk had information that may lead to her discovery then not really say for sure whether she died in the blast or not? Only that it was Sir Adam behind it. Maybe she will be in another book, but then why was the at the Church and not seen her sister somehow? From what we've learned from her character she wouldn't have gone that far to not see her in person. I was also disappointed with the lack of rising action with a weak climax.  I really thought there was more to Sir Adam was going to turn and be a bad guy. But i was disappointed that there was no twist at all, very predictable ending. Not her usual good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I recently discovered Monica McCarty and subsequently acquired a

    I recently discovered Monica McCarty and subsequently acquired and voraciously consumed the MacLeod and Campbell trilogies, and the six books to date iin the Highland Guard series. Reading the books in sequence is recommended. Ms. McCarty is a gifted story teller and has brilliantly woven elements of real Scottish history with fanciful fiction rendering a wonderful escape into a world of wonderful characters, adventure and imagery that I found compelling, engrossing and overall excellent. I will re-read these books. Further I read all 12 in 8 days. Ms. McCarty's research of Scotland and Scottish history is significant and to be commended. I will read anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Another exceptional Highland Guard novel from Monica McCarty. Ju

    Another exceptional Highland Guard novel from Monica McCarty. Just when I think she can't get any better, the next book comes out and I'm hooked all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Nice read :)

    I loved that Monica didn't drag the story out...action from the first few chapters. I was hoping we'd see what happened to Janet before it ended though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Another AMAZING Highland Guard Novel!!!

    I cannot wait for the next story in this series. I am an avid historical romance reader (I like them sultry & steamy) and have been completely captivated by every book in Monica McCarty's Highland Guard series. It is easy to follow as a stand alone, but please read all of the others as well. Every Highland Guard has his own exciting and sexy story that longs to be read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    awesome

    you have read the sequels it's more fun that way even though it stands alone you will feel your in the story so intense can't wait for the next one enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you are a fan of Monica McCarty and loved her "Highland

    If you are a fan of Monica McCarty and loved her "Highland Guard Novels", then this one is for you. "The Recruit" is a great medieval romantic suspense starring lead characters, Mary and Kenneth, who find love. Great characters, a tight plot, an atmospheric historical setting, and of course, well written by Ms. McCarty, which makes this book a must to read. I really liked the time period and the story which was set in the Highlands. I will definitely be reading more books of Ms. McCarty for her Scottish romances with sexy alpha heroes. I highly recommend this book if your are a fan of medieval romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Grreat read!

    The interplay between the main characters was wonderful, erotic and invigorating. The story continues with the highlandguard and their war against the english with the rich history bringing it to life once again. If you liled this series you'll love it now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Her books are all GREAT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    THE RECRIUT

    Way to much sex in this book. Took away from the story. The book has under 340 pages. The first 3 vooks,THE CHEIF,THE HAWK AND THR RANGER WERE EXCELLNT read. But I will not recommend rhis one. The sex is veey graphic and pron and not an enjoyabe to read. I had to skip way to many pages. I am throuh reading MONICA MCCARTY book. And i have read about 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Great series!

    I really like this whole series. Each one is a totally different character even though the formula is the same I still really enjoyed all the books and the history lesson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    5 stars

    Love all the Highland Guard series! GREAT read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Awesome Series...Hot!

    Ice isn't even one of my favorites in this series but this book will change anyone's mind. This read is steaming hot. Monica McCarty skillfully mixes History and Fiction, excellent series brings true stories to vibrant life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4