Customer Reviews for

The Recruit (Highland Guard Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could not put down!

I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians...
I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians.

posted by michellewils on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hard to review something you haven't read yet!

B&N sent me an email today asking me to review my purchase. Imagine my surprise to find that they want me to review something that I have ordered but hasn't yet been published! That being said, I'm pretty sure I'll like it as the rest of Monica McCarty's 'Robert Bruce...
B&N sent me an email today asking me to review my purchase. Imagine my surprise to find that they want me to review something that I have ordered but hasn't yet been published! That being said, I'm pretty sure I'll like it as the rest of Monica McCarty's 'Robert Bruce's Highland Seal' team stories were good.

posted by ruthgold18 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Could not put down!

    I've loved every single one of Monica McCarthys books. The last one with McCay could have been better but I would still recommend! This one did not let me down. It was sensual, incredible love scenes. Awesome history! I just can't say enough about the Highland Guardians.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book including all of the one in the series.

    The Recruit is both thrilling and funny and extremely sensual. I loved it. I have all of Monica MCCarty's Highland Gard books. I have loved each and everyone. I give five stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Keep this series going!

    I hope Monica keeps this series going! I cannot really choose which book I like the best. I have already read each book several times .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Must read series

    Another great one. . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I recently discovered Monica McCarty and subsequently acquired a

    I recently discovered Monica McCarty and subsequently acquired and voraciously consumed the MacLeod and Campbell trilogies, and the six books to date iin the Highland Guard series. Reading the books in sequence is recommended. Ms. McCarty is a gifted story teller and has brilliantly woven elements of real Scottish history with fanciful fiction rendering a wonderful escape into a world of wonderful characters, adventure and imagery that I found compelling, engrossing and overall excellent. I will re-read these books. Further I read all 12 in 8 days. Ms. McCarty's research of Scotland and Scottish history is significant and to be commended. I will read anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Another exceptional Highland Guard novel from Monica McCarty. Ju

    Another exceptional Highland Guard novel from Monica McCarty. Just when I think she can't get any better, the next book comes out and I'm hooked all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Another AMAZING Highland Guard Novel!!!

    I cannot wait for the next story in this series. I am an avid historical romance reader (I like them sultry & steamy) and have been completely captivated by every book in Monica McCarty's Highland Guard series. It is easy to follow as a stand alone, but please read all of the others as well. Every Highland Guard has his own exciting and sexy story that longs to be read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you are a fan of Monica McCarty and loved her "Highland

    If you are a fan of Monica McCarty and loved her "Highland Guard Novels", then this one is for you. "The Recruit" is a great medieval romantic suspense starring lead characters, Mary and Kenneth, who find love. Great characters, a tight plot, an atmospheric historical setting, and of course, well written by Ms. McCarty, which makes this book a must to read. I really liked the time period and the story which was set in the Highlands. I will definitely be reading more books of Ms. McCarty for her Scottish romances with sexy alpha heroes. I highly recommend this book if your are a fan of medieval romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Her books are all GREAT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    5 stars

    Love all the Highland Guard series! GREAT read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Awesome Series...Hot!

    Ice isn't even one of my favorites in this series but this book will change anyone's mind. This read is steaming hot. Monica McCarty skillfully mixes History and Fiction, excellent series brings true stories to vibrant life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    as posted at The READING CAFE 10 Aug ARC of THE HUNTER provided

    as posted at The READING CAFE 10 Aug
    ARC of THE HUNTER provided by NetGalley for an honest review
    COMBINED REVIEW with The Saint and The Hunter

     5 out of 5 for this reader folks!

     So before I get into this combined review I need to give you a brief synopsis of the previous books. This review consists of books 5, 6 and 7 but to appreciate these books, I do think that the reader should indulge in 1 through 4 first. That being said, Monica McCarty does give brief explanation in each book when other characters from previous books are included.

    Our setting is early 1300's, medieval Scotland/England just after William Wallace was executed. Robert the Bruce is trying to win control of the Scottish crown and has decided to form an elite warrior army. These warriors are the best of the best and each warrior possesses their own particular skill that is crucial to the team. These warriors are not all friends, and truth be told, they come from warring clans. However, to ensure that "The Bruce" wins this war, they put their differences aside. This elite army is top secret, and they are known as phantoms who attack in the curling mist and disappear just as quick. When they strike, it is quick, precise and DEADLY!

    Here they are (the warriors that have their own book so far, with more to follow)!

    THE CHIEF - Tor MacLoed, team leader and expert swordsman
    THE HAWK - Eric MacSorley, seafarer and swimmer
    THE RANGER - Arthur Campbell, scouting and reconnaissance
    THE VIPER - Lachlan MacRuairi, stealth, infiltration and extraction
    THE SAINT - Magnus MacKay, survivalist and weapon forging
    THE RECRUIT - Kenneth "Ice" Sutherland, explosives and versatility
    THE HUNTER - Ewen Lamont, tracker and hunter of men

    Of course it goes without saying ... behind every great warrior is a great woman! WINK! LOL

    THE SAINT - Book 5 of The Highland Guard Series

    DESCRIPTON

    Magnus MacKay is the ultimate Highlander: tough, proud, able to master any terrain and to best his enemies. Called “the Saint” for his refusal to discuss women, as well as for his cool and steady leadership, Magnus hides a painful truth. It isn’t virtue or piety that keeps him silent, but a wound of love and loss that cuts so deep he cannot bear to speak of it. But when the woman who refused him is betrothed to his friend and fellow Guardsman, Magnus is tested by love’s battle cry.

    A wild and innocent beauty, Helen chose family duty over her desire for Magnus. Now the anger in his eyes mirrors the tormented regret in her heart. But as deadly subterfuge stalks the King and his Guard, Helen vows to right her youthful mistakes with a woman’s determined spirit. Still, Magnus harbors secrets and an iron will not to weaken to temptation—or heartache—again. But as danger looms, it’s the kiss not of a saint, but of a sinner, that can save them.

    REVIEW

    Oh Magnus, bless your saintly heart my dear ... you never had a chance with a woman like Helen! LOL

    Magnus Mackay, the quiet saintly warrior of the bunch, holds a secret injury close. His broken heart. Years ago before this war, he met Helen Sutherland (the MacKay's and Sutherland's are warring clans) at the Highland Games. There is an instant connection that leaves a serious imprint. Through many years they secretly meet and fall in love, never consummating their love and leaving it honourable. Magnus proposes to Helen in front of her brother (whom he hates) and Helen is stuck making a quick decision that will alter their entire lives. She says NO! Her father is ailing and she cannot leave his side nor go against her families wishes. They are both heartbroken!

    Years pass and Magnus is attending his fellow warrior and best friend William's wedding. He is completely gobsmacked when he learns it's to his beloved Helen (Helen is just as gobsmacked to learn her betrothed is BFF's with her one true love). However, in true honourable warrior fashion, Magnus tells Helen that he doesn't love her and her future belongs with William. She marries William.

    William ends up dying in battle and has Magnus promise to watch over Helen (no one knows that the marriage was never consummated). Magnus reluctantly agrees. Off we go in the cat and mouse chase that these two engage in. However, what I loved about it was that the roles were reversed. Helen does everything she can to chase Magnus and make up for the wrong decision she made years ago. She is a strong girl who knows what she wants and uses her sensuality, healing capabilities to make her a commodity of the elite team, and favour of the king to seduce Magnus.

    Secrets are revealed, lust if fed and a love stronger than both of them takes root all in the midst of a deadly war.


    THE RECRUIT - Book 6 of The Highland Guard Series

    DESCRIPTION

    Fiery, aggressive, and bold, Kenneth Sutherland is a true champion—skilled with any weapon and driven to win. Now Kenneth is ready for his greatest challenge: joining Robert the Bruce’s secret army to fight among the elite. Kenneth’s best chance to attain that honor is by winning the Highland Games. Focused and prepared for victory, he is caught off guard by a lovely wisp of a woman—and a stolen moment of wicked seduction. Her innocent arousal and her shameless hunger fire his blood. He will win his place in the guard—and in Mary of Mar’s bed.

    The ruggedly handsome hero-in-the-making stirs a heart that should know better. Mary vows that her surrender will be sport only—no promises, no heartbreak, just one night of incredible passion. Nothing, she swears, will persuade her to give up her hard-wrought independence and put her fate in the hands of another powerful man. But with every gentle touch and heart-pounding kiss, Kenneth makes her want more. Now Mary wants his heart. But is this determined champion willing to surrender everything for love?

    REVIEW

    Next to THE HAWK Eric, The RECRUIT was my next fave. There was something about Kenneth Sutherland that made me crave more. We first met Kenneth Sutherland in The Saint, as he is Helen's brother. Throughout The Saint, Kenneth begins to put the pieces together and discovers that this elite army is exactly his calling. He begs The King to give him a chance, but it's his brother in law (Magnus MacKay) who stands in his way. Magnus lays it on the line and tells Kenneth if he wins the Highland Games he'll petition the King on Kenneth's behalf to consider allowing Kenneth to become a member of the team. Magnus has no intention of letting Kenneth win anything (and plays dirty in the process). Magnus doesn't end up getting what he wants and Kenneth ends up going through recruit training (seriously harsh) and proves that he can be a contributing member.

    While at the highland games, Kenneth is spied upon by Mary of Mar while he is having a "role in the hay" with another lady. There eyes meet and something explosive happens between them. When Kenneth tracks her down she agrees to one night of passion. Well one night isn't enough and Kenneth is beside himself when he awakens to discover Mary is gone.

    Mary of Mar was previously married to a Lord who neglected his family (Mary has a son with this Lord who is removed from her home to squire for an Englishman), while placing them in serious danger so he could participate in the war. Once he was killed, she vows never to marry again and live her life unnoticed. Well once Kenneth finds her, that all goes to the wayside.

    The King has announced she is betrothed to Kenneth an it just so happens their brief night of passion has resulted in pregnancy. Slowly, Kenneth begins to peel back the barrier of Mary's heart and makes her believe that marriage is possible. His secret of being an elite member of this phantom guard however just may change all that!


    THE HUNTER - Book 7 of the Highland Guard Series

    DESCRIPTION

    Pri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Love all of these books.

    Have all of Ms. Mccarty's books. Always sad when they end. The sex is sizzling and has great action scenes or fight scenes. As chief cook and bottle washer, there are a few hungry people around when I pick up one of these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Skai

    Yay! Now what?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Nage

    Ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Answer to the first test

    Blood

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Great series!

    This has been a great series of books. All of which have great chemistry & storylines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    This series keeps getting better!

    I have loved every book in this series but this one is by far my favorite. I read the whole book in one day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2