Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The Red Badge Of Courage, a great read involving a soon to be ma

    The Red Badge Of Courage, a great read involving a soon to be man named Henry Fleming. He was a young country boy who eventually
     was enlisted in the Civil War on the Union side. He joins the war, wanting to become someone worth talking about. He liked the
     War scene. Henry soon finds out he was wrong.

    Henry's troops, including Henery's best friend Jim, begin a long march to a battlefield. When he hears the first shot fired he tries to run. He was
     so tarrified but he couldnt go any where. He was boxed in. Henry finds his nerves and tries to sleep it off like a bad hangover. The next morning
     Henry was awoken from a swift zoom flying past his head. Henry runs.

     Henry finds many good soldiers along his vast journey in the military. Some he loves and others, not so much. Henry finds one
     solder  who sticks out more than all of the others, a solder who has taken two bullets. Henry believes it is an honer to be injured. He calls it "The
    Red Badge Of Courage". Hence the title. Henry befriends this solder, but the solder keeps asking Henry were his "badge" is. Henry was too
     imbarresed to admite that he doesnt have one. Later Henry leaves him in the forest to pass on.

    These two passsages from the story are my favorites because it shows how scared Henry was when he joined the war. 

    This book is one of my favorite books i have ever read. The book involves massive fights but sad and touching moments. i have rated the book
    5 stars out of 5 because of the sure intensity of the story. It is a short read which is one of the reasons why I like it. Most books become dragged 
    out and long for me but with only 151 pages, it keeps me floored threw out the novel. I would show this book to anyone who is looking for an 
    interesting read.


    Shane Reuther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    AWESOME

    Was an amazing and awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Summer

    Of coursssseeee notttt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    After ur done with hw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    Ok well u txt me tomorrow when ur done with school

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Dj

    Sorry 2 hear that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    Y dont u ever txt me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Lena

    Im spendin thr night at my aunts house now. Ttyl!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Sam

    Hm.....wut ones do u play?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    TO ALL HSERS

    Move back to the last book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Sam

    Hello......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Sam

    I dont wanna feel like his tomorrow....i dont wanna live like this today...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Leah

    Happy new year

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Just another plain old war story...

    I picked up this book for my English class. About two chapters in, I realized that I had made a bad choice. First off, the author purposely misspells certain words in order to help the reader understand how they were pronounced back in that time. At first I sort of liked this and thought that it was somewhat interesting, but it got very old, very fast. Not only did the author misspell a few words, he misspelled many and some are very hard to even read and understand.
    Aside from the annoying and confusing grammar used throughout the book, the storyline is plain and boring. The author did a good job at making the storyline easy to read and understand but not a very good job at making it entertaining. In my opinion, it is just another plain old war story.
    To summarize the story, there is a man named Henry. His passion is war, and he wants to make his dream of being a soldier a reality. He enlists and his mother is against his decision. Henry goes to war and meets a buddy named Jim. Jim and Henry become close and later are considered the best soldiers in the army. Throughout Henry and Jim's experience, they overcome many challenges. In the end, they are best friends.
    With that being said, I wouldn't reccommend this book unless it is your first time reading a war story. It is very plan and boring but does cover the key points of a basic war story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    The Red Badge of Courage is a timeless classic written by Stephe

    The Red Badge of Courage is a timeless classic written by Stephen Crane, It follows the story of Henry Fleming during several Civil War battles he was involved in. The book begins with Henry enrolling in the 304th New York and going off to war. The regiment clashes with the south, and holds back their charge. While the battle is in progress, Henry runs from the battle, but later hears the battle was a win for the union. Henry regroups with a group of soldiers, among them a friend from his hometown who eventually dies. While with the group of men, Henry is ashamed that he went through the battle unscathed and nearly everybody else suffered an injury. Henry eventually deserts that group and runs into a retreating regiment. A member of that regiment hits Henry on the head when Henry refuses to move. Henry regroups with the 304th, and convinces everyong else that his headwound was from a grazing bullet in battle. Henry goes on to fight valiantly with the 304th, but in an effort to not spoil the ending, I will say any more about the plot.

    The plot of this book was tremendous, teaching me what true courage was. It shows the change from a worried 20-year old soldier to one of the most inspirational soldiers in the Civil War. The book is written in a very diffferent way from what I've read before. It's in thrid person, and instead of using names, Stephen Crane chose to adress Henry as "The youth," Jim Conklin as "The youth's friend," and a beaten up man from Henry's regiment as "The tattered man." He adresses many characters in this way, such as the flag bearer and the general. This technique, along with a lot of vocabulary, confused me multiple times as I read the book.

    I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, mainly because of its inspirational plot. I recommend this to anybody interested in the Civil or anyone who likes inspirational stories. This is surely on book that you have to read in order to truly understand its meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Cool story!

    This is a good book .You should read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Cheese

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    My Thoughts

    It was a really good book. I like how You could feel the fear that Henry had. Also how it seems like you are right next to Henry the whole time of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    Sensational Book!

    The Red Badge Of Courage is a great book about a young man named Henry Fleming and his inspirational struggle into man hood. Young Henry has constantly thought of doing a Heroic deed in battle since he was old enough to know about war. His chance soon comes when he joins the civil war, but he faces trials and challenges that will test his skills in making the right decision.

    This book is different from that of others because it is about life decisions that influence the entire future of an individual. The major message of this book is to show the reader the character and strong will it takes to go into war a boy, and come out a man. Throughout the book Henry is constantly tested for his bravery, but interestingly enough there is only one battle in the book so many of his life changing experiences come from surviving the military life style and cooperating among his comrades.

    I liked the idea that the book was about a boy wanting to make a heroic act in war, but lacks the experience, and nerve to do so. To me this is very realistic because although I think we all dream of being the hero, when the chance comes many of us lack the nerve to act. Another observation I had about how this character depicts himself as a hero is that we often only want to be a hero for the love and attention that comes from it.

    But being a true hero means only acting in complete selflessness, and if you are only doing the deed for attention that entirely defeats the meaning of the heroic act you just created. Throughout the book Henry looks for his chance for glory, but that will not come unless he realizes the sacrifice that must be made, and learning that one must be truly selfless when acting on impulse to truly do something amazing.

    Although the book was good and I liked the over all idea of heroism, it was too slow for me and all the real good actions comes in the end making the rest of the book really dry. I often found myself drifting onto thoughts other than the book because the book failed to capture and then sustain my attention till it was done. The book became a chore, and not something I could enjoy.

    People should read this book to see the elements necessary for someone to obtain amazing character. Over all I would rate this book a four; although the ending was great because it was filled with all sorts of meaning I wouldn't give the book a five because it took way to much building, and it just lost my attention before I got to the climax of the book. All in all the book was pretty good, and it opened my eyes to many things I didn't see about my self before. So I guess the book changed me as long as the main character, which makes the Red Badge Of Courage, a pretty good read!

    - Logan Sant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8