Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book

    The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
    It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    decent but broing.

    This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    A book you can lose yourself in

    I thought this book was interesting. The writing in it was definitely different from any other book I have ever read. At sometimes it was difficult, other times it could be too descriptive, and other times it was just confusing to the point that you had to read it a second time. If you could understand it, there were parts that were actually very good. Personally, i thought the characters were very well created, and i liked the ways that they changed at the end of the book. I wouldn't recommend the book, but if you are up for a challenge, give it a shot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hated It

    Read part of it in high school - just enough to make a book report out of. Hated it then. Thought I would give it another try from the eyes of an adult and I could barely dredge my way through the thick plot that drug me down like quicksand and left me with the feeling that I had sand in my pants. Ick.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    The Red Badge of Courage

    This amazing book that I read is called The Red Badge of Courage. This is a good historical fiction book by Stephen Crane. This book is interesting because of the battles that the main character goes through.
    Henry Fleming, the main character of this book, is a country boy. He is sensitive, and he is also confused about the war. There is another character in the story. In the story he is called tall soldier.
    The setting of this story is during the Civil War, it doesn't give a particular date, but I'm guessing it's around 1861 - 1865 or so. It is also set in a southern state.
    This book is about bravery and courage. It is this because Henry has to have bravery and courage while he's in the war, because of all the battles.
    Henry Flemings signed up for the army at the beginning of the story. He then was accepted to the army. He then went into many battles. At one of the battles he tried to run away because he got scared. After that he had to march for a really long time to go to another battle. Then most of his friends he got in the army were all being killed. Three of them were stabbed.
    I thought this book was pretty cool. I liked the book mostly because of the battles he goes into, it makes it exiting. The only thing I didn't like about the book was it was kind of boring in some parts.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Dig A Little (And Not For Corpses)

    As far as classic literature goes this is one of the more engaging. The entirety of the book takes place on and between battlefields. Some people will claim the book has no plot but more experienced readers will find that the conflict lies within the narrator himself. The book combines elements of the struggle within our own minds to protect ourselves and do what we¿re suppose to with the physical struggles of war. This literature will probably not be as enjoyable to readers who don¿t wanting to dig any deeper than surface deep into the book, but for those that do the novel holds some very interesting things to muse on.<BR/><BR/>The real story is father down than skin deep if the reader is willing to look.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Bold. Daring. Valor.

    The Red Badge of Courage, a book written by Stephen Crane tells us about a young boy who decides to fight in the American Civil War. The story revolves around a farm boy named Henry Fleming. Dreaming of the glory of war, he recklessly enrolls to join the 304th Regiment and is confronted with the hardships of battle. At first Henry is doubting whether or not he will run from a confrontation with the opposing Confederates. Unfortunately, Henry runs away from his first battle after thinking it was the smart move to do. The soldiers who stayed behind ended up winning, underscoring the cowardice of Henry. He ends up running into a forest, and witnessed the death of a soldier in his regiment. With the dying thirst to prove himself, Henry has an internal conflict within himself. He fights with courage and valor the next battle and distinguishes himself as one of the best fighters in his regiment. His commanding lieutenant comments that if he had 10,000 wildcats like him, they could win the war in a week. I have mixed views about this book. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, themes, and symbols that are conveyed throughout the book. I dislike the sudden difficulty of vocabulary and understanding the concept of the book proved to be a challenging endeavor. One part of the plot I enjoyed was the time when Henry went all out during his second battle and took down many foes. His lieutenant even commended him on his awesome talent. One of the themes in the book is courage. Henry believes that he will be honored greatly for his courage if he joins the war efforts against the Confederate states. He joins the war blindly without second thought and greatly worries his mother. Last but not least, a symbol that is highlighted in this story is when Henry encounters the dead man in the forest. This symbolizes that even though the man died in battle, he is not even given any recognition for his actions. This proves that Henry's original reason to join the war is invalid.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    Henry Fleming, a young man who joined the army against his mother's wishes, wants to know the meaning of courage. He wants to be brave, to fight in the war and be honored for his love for his country. But then come the doubts, the rage, the fear. And Henry, the youth, must learn the hard way what it really means to wear the red badge of courage.


    It's a short novel, and beautifully crafted and written and built, but it's not an easy read, per se. (I want to read it again soon because I had a to read it a little fast for my liking in order to get my homework done.) Most of the characters have names, but Crane tends to use their character handles in reference to them. Henry is most often referred to as "the youth." There is the "tall soldier," "the loud soldier," etc. This is a very original and - I found - fascinating way to identify the characters, but for a reader who is not used to reading like that, it is more difficult and takes more time. Crane also uses many metaphors to describe the battefields and what "the youth" is feeling. He also uses a lot of color. And while this makes for a beautiful story with beautiful illustrations, it is a bit harder to follow.

    But don't let that stop you. By all means, read this book. What fasinated me most about it was the way I felt while reading it. I could picture everything perfectly. The battlescenes flowed from beginning to end, ever deathly and beautiful all in one. I almost felt like I was reading in slow motion. I could picture "the youth" scrambling in the field, avoiding every bullet and tumbling into the trees in fright. I was there, among the soldiers. I was fighting and killing and brandishing a weapon. I saw the battles in a three dimensional whirl-wind of color, with bullets singeing my face and debris cutting my skin.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE

    The Red Badge Of Courage is a great book.I recommend this book to any 7th grader, it's easy to read and if you like books about wars this is the book for you

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Ugh

    PEOPLE!!!!! STOP USING THIS FOR TEXTING USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TJIS IS A BOOK REVIEW PLACE, NOT A CELL PHONE! IF YOU WANNA TALK, JUST TEXT EACH OTHER on your phones*!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    *lower case for emphasis


    SAY THIS IS HELPFUL IF YOU AGREE!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    A must read

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. If you are like me and love military novels you will love this book. As soon as you pick up this book you will be lost in the journey and history of the civil war. In this book you fallow a young man that comes into the store a week little boy but at end he comes out a strong man. If you think you will never de strong you should read this book and you will soon change your mind. This book would be best for teens or adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    The Red Badge Review

    The Red Badge of Courage is a book about young Henry Fleming, a newly recruited Union soldier during the American Civil War. Henry deals with feelings of cowardice during the war and he desires nothing but to have a "red badge of courage," a wound showing his bravery in battle.

    I really did not enjoy this book. It was not entertaining in the least and it felt like I was swimming through sludge to get to the end of it. And after both my favorite characters (this does not include Henry) were killed off, there certainly was not much reason for me to finish it other than that I had to do a book report on it. The battle descriptions that Crane writes go on for pages but include minimal action, making the supposed-to-be exciting scenes something a person would read in order to fall asleep.

    Henry Fleming and Jim Conklin were the only two characters I would consider well developed. I do not believe this is a flaw, for it definitely assists in Stephen Crane's point that the army is simply a "blue demonstration."

    The theme had a lot of potential at the start. However, I really think Crane blew it all. I understand he tried to make a point about war being horrendous, but that's not what I'm getting from this. (I completely understand that war truly is horrendous, but this book did not make that point.) The only point I got out of the book was that war is really quite loud with a lot of smoke floating around in the air. (Crane took up an endless amount of needless pages conveying that.)

    The language used by the characters while they converse with each other was extremely easy to understand once it was gotten used to. The language used for the narrative was very confusing, even though the words Crane used were usually rather concise. He did not specify exactly what was going on and left the book in a fog. This made the tone of the book very dark, although Crane may have planned it that way. All the action was blurry and confusing, almost like a dream. That was yet another reason the book was boring.

    To be frank, Crane's book was boring, hazy, and confusing. I would definitely not recommend this book to anyone and I am certainly not planning on reading it again anytime soon.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    The Red Badge of Courage.

    I found this book to be a little hard to follow when the characters are talking, but overall, it was entertaining. There were some suspenseful moments, boring parts, and parts that just made no sense at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Booklover

    Best book ever i love it highly recommened

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Red Badge of Courage.

    This book is a war story about a man named Henry who enlists in the war. He is what you would call a dreamer, and makes mountains out of molehills. In the story, he has some internal conflicts going on. First, he is afraid of running from battle. Second, he wants to earn a red badge of courage. So, this story is a long story that explains courage and believing in yourself.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    The red badge of courage

    The Red badge of courage was one of the most unique books I have ever read. Reading this book is like reading a movie script through a prop directors eyes. It gives you all of the details about the scenery and then a few lines of script. One of the things that I really disliked about this book was the fact that the author told every minor insignificant little detail about the scenery. One thing I did like about this book though was the fact that Henry went a little bit crazy, so I think this made the book a lot more interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Historical Fiction is a very tricky genre. On one hand it gives

    Historical Fiction is a very tricky genre. On one hand it gives a wondrous and personal view of the participants in major historical events. Yet on the other, the line between fiction and fact bleeds onto one another, mixing so thoroughly, you can no longer tell which is which.  Historical fiction is definitely preferable to the regular old and dull (and often quite biased) textbook, and to read from the (supposed) perspective of a participant like you would read one of a fictional character in a fantasy book, really enlightens the reader to grasp, on the individual level, the thoughts, feelings and roles of the previously insignificant character you had never heard of. 
    The “Red Badge of Courage” is a work of historical fiction, and also fulfills the aforementioned description of the genre. The blurb does a very poor job of describing the classic text, so I will revise their summary.  The “Red Badge of Courage” is a compelling text about the moral struggles of a young man in the Union Army who struggles between the glory and dignity of the battle field and the self preservation, running from battle in order to preserve one’s  life.  The first battle takes place and the youth finds himself  running when the Confederates return after a long battle. He eventually returns with the wish to receive a “Red Badge of Courage” or a wound in battle.  This text describes in great detail the thoughts and feelings of the pre-battle adrenaline rush and the thoughts we all  wish we didn’t have that lean toward the cowardly side in an epic tale of the battles of  the Civil War.
    This text while immensely difficult with language and the mixing of metaphors and the actual events happening, does bring new light to the Civil War, in the sense that the author (while most likely using a lot of guesswork) shows the reader the thoughts that go through a young soldiers head when faced with an actual battle, building much empathy for the character because seeing their thoughts opens the character up, and makes it exceedingly easy for the reader to connect or at least understand the character. Thus understanding the gravity, gore and events in the Civil War.
    While a very difficult text (with the speech and descriptions) this book is extremely informing and helpful to build understanding of the Civil War. A classical text with a very important moral theme. I would recommend this text to any bookworm / book-aholic who likes a good challenge and enjoys classical texts and very-hard-to-read-english-sort-of.  :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Classic


    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    The Red Badge of Courage is a book that was published in 1895 an

    The Red Badge of Courage is a book that was published in 1895 and was loosely based on the American Civil war, although the book never mentions the name of the war or any battles that took place in it. This book itself is about a young man named Henry Fleming who has a flawed sense of courage and honor that begins to manifest itself into the characteristics of a true war hero as he encounters more battle and death. He is very quick to justify his actions no matter how good or bad they truly are. He even ran from a battle that had just began and then justified this by stating that he was the smart one for running because the enemy would have overwhelmed his fellow soldiers. He eventually made his way back to his regiment and continued with them for the rest of the novel. Over time, Henry begins to realize how a true soldier should act and that his previous actions were that of a coward. In the final battle of the book, Henry finds himself surrounded by his fellow soldiers and he realizes how a true soldier acts. He fights with intent and selflessness and is then rewarded by the officers for this. He learns that running away and lying will not solve your problems or make you a hero; you need to believe in yourself and your companions no matter what happens. Never give up, especially when people are counting on you. This was a very good book and I believe that it should be on most people to do list. A few things that I really enjoyed about this book was how vivid the detail was, how much the characters progress and grow, and the style of the writing itself. Stephen Crane wrote this book and filled it with emotion that you would expect to come from someone who had experienced these events. Crane was not a war veteran, he had never seen a battle, and yet he was able to invoke an astonishing amount of realism in this book. Some of the bad things about this book have some slivers of positivity to them. The way this book was written makes it hard for the reader to completely understand what is happening, but this is the way books and grammar was over a hundred years ago. Even though it can be hard to read at times, the reader still is able to get a full grasp of the emotion and thought in this book. Another thing about this book is that it can be slightly racist/sexist at times but once again, this was common in those times. A song sung by the troops in the book said “A dog, a women, an’ a walnut tree, the more you beat ‘em, th’ better they be!” which is very sexist but shows how the people of this time thought. Overall, I give this book an 8.5 of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Wow, reading this book gave me the chance to experience the raw

    Wow, reading this book gave me the chance to experience the raw emotions of being in a war. /the Main character Henry spoke to me personally. Having to always be on my A game in sports and keeping up with my grades in school, Henry, gave me confidence to do that.

    A book like The Badge of Courage was a dramatic thriller which you kept you on your toe ready to face every emotion coming at you. Sad,Horrified and Anger made me keep reading. Words cannot describe how the soldiers in this book might have felt.

    The Author Stephen Crane did the best job at describing how the Civil war felt the fateful night . He also did a fantastic job portraying the friendship between Jim, and Wilson. Who managed to stay close through the worst of times.

    I would strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in joining any arms forces. It teaches a valuable lesson of revenge and friendship. The book was a very good read and kept you on your toes while reading. Overall 5



    - Kyle W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9