BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hated It

    Read part of it in high school - just enough to make a book report out of. Hated it then. Thought I would give it another try from the eyes of an adult and I could barely dredge my way through the thick plot that drug me down like quicksand and left me with the feeling that I had sand in my pants. Ick.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Ugh

    PEOPLE!!!!! STOP USING THIS FOR TEXTING USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TJIS IS A BOOK REVIEW PLACE, NOT A CELL PHONE! IF YOU WANNA TALK, JUST TEXT EACH OTHER on your phones*!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    *lower case for emphasis


    SAY THIS IS HELPFUL IF YOU AGREE!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    The Red Badge Review

    The Red Badge of Courage is a book about young Henry Fleming, a newly recruited Union soldier during the American Civil War. Henry deals with feelings of cowardice during the war and he desires nothing but to have a "red badge of courage," a wound showing his bravery in battle.

    I really did not enjoy this book. It was not entertaining in the least and it felt like I was swimming through sludge to get to the end of it. And after both my favorite characters (this does not include Henry) were killed off, there certainly was not much reason for me to finish it other than that I had to do a book report on it. The battle descriptions that Crane writes go on for pages but include minimal action, making the supposed-to-be exciting scenes something a person would read in order to fall asleep.

    Henry Fleming and Jim Conklin were the only two characters I would consider well developed. I do not believe this is a flaw, for it definitely assists in Stephen Crane's point that the army is simply a "blue demonstration."

    The theme had a lot of potential at the start. However, I really think Crane blew it all. I understand he tried to make a point about war being horrendous, but that's not what I'm getting from this. (I completely understand that war truly is horrendous, but this book did not make that point.) The only point I got out of the book was that war is really quite loud with a lot of smoke floating around in the air. (Crane took up an endless amount of needless pages conveying that.)

    The language used by the characters while they converse with each other was extremely easy to understand once it was gotten used to. The language used for the narrative was very confusing, even though the words Crane used were usually rather concise. He did not specify exactly what was going on and left the book in a fog. This made the tone of the book very dark, although Crane may have planned it that way. All the action was blurry and confusing, almost like a dream. That was yet another reason the book was boring.

    To be frank, Crane's book was boring, hazy, and confusing. I would definitely not recommend this book to anyone and I am certainly not planning on reading it again anytime soon.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Red Badge of Courage.

    This book is a war story about a man named Henry who enlists in the war. He is what you would call a dreamer, and makes mountains out of molehills. In the story, he has some internal conflicts going on. First, he is afraid of running from battle. Second, he wants to earn a red badge of courage. So, this story is a long story that explains courage and believing in yourself.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    The red badge of courage

    The Red badge of courage was one of the most unique books I have ever read. Reading this book is like reading a movie script through a prop directors eyes. It gives you all of the details about the scenery and then a few lines of script. One of the things that I really disliked about this book was the fact that the author told every minor insignificant little detail about the scenery. One thing I did like about this book though was the fact that Henry went a little bit crazy, so I think this made the book a lot more interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Gray

    Orgy: A drunken ritual OR a sexual affair involving many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Ferns

    Oops, l lied. Red five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Ferns

    The reses changed. It is at res four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Ferns

    TEDDY, BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Ferns

    I'M GOING TO FU<_>CKING TEAR HER DA<_>MN HEAD OFF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Luc's reveiw of The Red Badge of Courage

    The setting in this book is good and well described. The only problem is it goes into such great detail it is hard to follow. It takes a whole chapter to describe one thing that I feel should only take about one to two pages. It is so complex it is hard to follow; even the actions of the characters were confusing at times. The Red Badge of Courage is a good book, but not very exciting it seemed boring at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    it was boring

    i thought that the book was not very good i thought it was really boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    I don't like to read...so reading this was the torcher.

    I was SUPPOSED to read this for my summer reading for honors english. I didn't get past chapter 4 in two months. THAT BAD. But you be your own judge.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    terrible

    i had to read this book last summer for english. it took me all summer to read it. i read other books while reading this in a day. i can see why it was popular when it first came out, because it was with the times. i'm sure if there was the tale of a soldier in Iraq, we would enjoy it. overall, the worst book i have ever read. and i would not suggest it to anyone who i actually liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Not A Good Read

    The Red Badge of Courage was a book that I had to read for my English class and I truely believe that this is one of the worst books I have read, and I am a very avid reader. My teacher has my class read background information on this book and the can see the reason why it was so popular when it came out, it was because it was the first book to tell the story from the soliders point of view but for this century it is very easy to fall asleep while reading pages you are assigned to read. 'As I did many times in the week that I had to read this.' I read this book two weeks ago and at the moment I can't for the life of me remember any details about it even though I have to write an essay about the book. All in all, I would not recommend this book to anyone who actually wants an intresting read, if you want something that will put you to sleep after half a page than this is the book for you. - - - And the thing I say to everyone is, 'Go Die in a hole filled with The Red Badge of Courage.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Avoid it like the plague

    this book was the worst war account, historical fiction, school book, and one of the worst books I've ever had the misfortune to read!!! Mr. Crane apparently didn't put great stock in details for this absurd work is void of them! He also didn't put stock in a readable, interesting plot either! Having said that, my advice would be to avoid it like the plague, and contemplate why this is a classic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Terrible

    This book was the WORST book i have EVER read. I have read a lot of books, but never have I read a novel with more stupid, hidden messages. All i have to say about this book is that it was TERRIBLE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    worst book ever

    it was the worst book ever i had to read it for school and only read the 1st page dont read it unless you have to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    BAD WITH A CAPITOL B

    I thought that this book was VERY BAD. You can't even understand what the author is trying to say. He tells the story in riddles and in other weird ways. Don't read it inless you have to, like I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    BORING

    I had to read this book for school. It is so BORING! I dislike the book very much. It is hard to understand what the author is saying. I had to go back and reread each page several times before I could comprehend the story. No one should be forced to read this book, but worst of all, no one should be forced to write a report on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2