Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    decent but broing.

    This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Teddeh

    Anyfink teh pi<3>ss you off, Bloodeh buddeh :3 What did yew dew, Shat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Gray

    I have, Blood. The fourth book is funneh. :3 LOOOL I thought no one ever used this book anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Tedders

    Calm yo' self, Iceh baby. He was tryna find a secret res, not blow up your mother country. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Ted

    Nope, Orgy. Because bears aren't smart enough to know stuff like dat. <p> Lol Bloodeh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Blue

    I dunno. I just felt like we needed or should have had a book, dat's all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Just another plain old war story...

    I picked up this book for my English class. About two chapters in, I realized that I had made a bad choice. First off, the author purposely misspells certain words in order to help the reader understand how they were pronounced back in that time. At first I sort of liked this and thought that it was somewhat interesting, but it got very old, very fast. Not only did the author misspell a few words, he misspelled many and some are very hard to even read and understand.
    Aside from the annoying and confusing grammar used throughout the book, the storyline is plain and boring. The author did a good job at making the storyline easy to read and understand but not a very good job at making it entertaining. In my opinion, it is just another plain old war story.
    To summarize the story, there is a man named Henry. His passion is war, and he wants to make his dream of being a soldier a reality. He enlists and his mother is against his decision. Henry goes to war and meets a buddy named Jim. Jim and Henry become close and later are considered the best soldiers in the army. Throughout Henry and Jim's experience, they overcome many challenges. In the end, they are best friends.
    With that being said, I wouldn't reccommend this book unless it is your first time reading a war story. It is very plan and boring but does cover the key points of a basic war story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    MADYSEN'S REVIEW OF THE BOOK...

    THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE IS A BOOK ABOUT A BOY BECOMING A MAN IN THE CIVIL WAR.THE WAR HAD ALOT OF AFFECTS ON HENRY....HE WAS SCARED,A COWARD AND FRIGHTENED OF THE WAR AT THE BEGINNING OF THE BOOK,BUT LEARNED LATER ON HOW NOT TO BE A COWARD.IT WAS PRETTY INTERESTING BUT HARD TO UNDERSTAND BECAUSE HOW SOME OF THE WAYS IT WAS WORDED AND EXPLAINED.IM REALLY NOT INTO WAR BOOKS SO IT WAS KINDA BORING TO ME BUT I FEEL THEY SHOULD HAVE MORE INTERESTING BOOKS THAT KIDS ACTUALLY LIKE AND UNDERSTAND WHAT THERE READING.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    About the red badge of courage..

    In, Red Badge of Courage, I thought the characters were very well thought out and their personalities were believable. For example, you see people everyday who are egotistical like Wilson and people who have their own reality like Henry. In my opinion, I think the book was a little too long and drawn out, but it gave you a great sense of scenery and you could picture what he is talking about. Also, I did not like Henry at all. I thought he was arrogant, immature, and needed to grow up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The red badge of courage.

    I read the red badge of courage for school and i thought that this book was very hard to understand. Each day our teacher would give us a summary of the book and then i thought it was easier to understand. Over all i thought the book was good but i think that it would have been better if it was easier to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Unfortunately.....it sucked.

    I hate to say that about books because I am usually very accepting towards them and appreciate all different genres. But, I gave this book a shot and even the benifit of the doubt when it started out bad, but it certainly didn't redeem itself. It was dull and cryptic and just had no point that I could see. Save your time and rent the movie. I'm sure its much better. It has to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    It's alright....

    Some think that this is great, but I don't. Just because I said this, that doesn't mean don't read it. The only good parts I like is when he expresses how he feels about death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Do not read if you are looking for a good book.

    Sure, this book is a classic, so I assumed it would be better than it was. I read this book for a book report, and I am extrememly disappointed in it. There is are so many adjectives in the descriptions of the forst that the youth stays in, that the book quickly lost my interest. The book DOES however show that the soldiers' life was not all just beatin' the 'stuff' out of people. You did have to walk, and people DID get scared. Overall, I don't suggest reading this book unless required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    I thought this was a classic?

    This book was very disappointing. It was very confusing at times and boring all the time. Unless you have way too much time on your hands skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Somewhat disappointing but important to read

    In The Red Badge of Courage, Henry Fleming, a recent recruit in the Union regiment, worries about his courage during the Civil War. Henry fears that if he were to see battle, he might run. Throughout the story the narrator reveals that Henry joined the army because he was drawn to the glory of military conflict and not for any particular duty he felt towards his country. The main idea in the book focuses on Henry¿s inner turmoil towards whether or not he possesses any courage. Courage, striving, defining courage, desiring, and ultimately achieving is the most essential aspect of the story. The Red Badge of Courage is a profile of an inexperienced young soldier, Henry Fleming, undergoing his first experiences in battle. He makes a journey of self discovery, but what he learns and whether or not he learns from his experiences is a point that is still debated by scholars. In the novel, the narrator describes situations as Henry perceives them, and Henry¿s observations are highly colored by his emotions. At times, Crane writes as though Henry¿s surroundings almost seem to be an extension of his personality. While the descriptions of what Henry sees may seem distorted and unrealistic, they provide a highly accurate picture of Henry¿s reality. In constructing the book, Crane drew upon a predictable pattern followed in Civil War memoirs and novels. His approach was far from conventional. He wrote about the violence and confusion of the battlefield, he went beyond giving a realistic picture of war. He focused on the effects of war on the human mind. Crane himself called the novel a ¿psychological portrayal of fear.¿ The settling of The Red Badge of Courage is an unnamed battle during the Civil War. Historians however have studied details in the novel relating to time, weather, the geography, and the movement of troops during the battle. Using these details, they have come to the conclusion that Crane was describing a portion of the Battle of Chancellorsville, Virginia, which lasted from May 2nd to May 6th, 1863. Crane not only withholds the name of the battle but also never mentions the Civil War. He devotes relatively little space to the physical setting. Many believe that the real setting of the novel is Henry Fleming¿s mind. This reviewer felt that though the book may not have been my favorite book to read, one did enjoy its in depth descriptions of places and events. Though at times it did become somewhat tedious to read, it gave the read the unique insight and sense of actually being on the battlefield with Henry. While reading the book, this reviewer discovered that had they been a Civil War period enthusiast, they may have enjoyed the many different ways in which the author chose to describe the era and battle scenes. By examining all aspects of the book, one will discover that it is well written and it is a book worth reading at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    The Red Badge of Courage

    The red badge of courage was disiponting. The story was week and was vary slow. I exspected more from such a clasic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    Namelss and Hard!

    The Red Badge of Courage is a book with alot of potential.The way this book is written, none of the potential shows.This book was hard to follow and had some words that noone would really know what they ment unless they looked them up in the dictionary. Yet that is not what people want to do when they read a book. When you read a book you want to beable to understand what is going on. I`m a very advanced reader and I even had a hard time understanding parts. This book also is a book that you cant read for a while and put down to read later. If you do you can get pretty confused. If you want to read this book you have to read the whole thing in one sitting. This is why this book only recieved two stars in my rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Put it on the bottom of your list...

    I was expecting this book to be a classic war story with depth and breadth. After reading All Quiet on the Western Front, which was is a much more fastinating read, I was eager to read The Red Badge of Courage. The story failed to keep my attention. Although it has a few well written passages and is a short story I wouldn't put it at the top of your to read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2