Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    A book you can lose yourself in

    I thought this book was interesting. The writing in it was definitely different from any other book I have ever read. At sometimes it was difficult, other times it could be too descriptive, and other times it was just confusing to the point that you had to read it a second time. If you could understand it, there were parts that were actually very good. Personally, i thought the characters were very well created, and i liked the ways that they changed at the end of the book. I wouldn't recommend the book, but if you are up for a challenge, give it a shot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    The Red Badge of Courage.

    I found this book to be a little hard to follow when the characters are talking, but overall, it was entertaining. There were some suspenseful moments, boring parts, and parts that just made no sense at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Four

    Gtg. :c

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Four

    And Hetalia has the Pictonians! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Cool story!

    This is a good book .You should read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Entertaining

    Throughout the whole book there are many vague references to what Mr. Crane is speaking of. To truly understand the meaning and uniqueness of his writing you must have a good grasp upon American literature during the late 1800's. Also, along with a good grasp on American literature, you should also have a good understanding of personification and oxymoron's, due to the fact that these are incorporated throughout much of the book. Along with a good understanding of America through the 1860's, this book also details the life of many of the soldiers living in an American warzone, which is the only war Americans have ever fought on our soil except for the Revolutionary war. Though this is a highly entertaining piece of literature, it is not for those with a low level of reading comprehension or for those who are not fond of reading, especially classic American literature. Although the book does not start out with much of a plot, it slowly begins to develop through the characters' and the ideas as you continue to read. It shows how many men who were fighting in the war at this time thought of the war around them' they showed that they were scared of death but not so scared that they are unable to fight. Again, in the beginning this book is very dry, however, as it progresses it devolps and progressively gets bets better. Throughout the course of what feels like months, and maybe years to some readers, the main character Jim Conklin, a young boy from the Union states, retreats, fights, and retreats again throughout the course of this very exquisite book. Though to most this a very dull and odd book that makes little sense, to people such as myself who enjoy books of war and fighting, this is a wonderful piece fit for any high school student, or adult who enjoys classic American literature. There are points in this book, however that will tend to dull and bore the most avid of readers, if you push yourself through it and continue to read, you will begin to enjoy this book more and more as it progresses. Although a very enjoyable book, I would not recommend it to those who have a short attention span or those who do not enjoy reading due the fact that it does indeed require a large amount of attention and avidly displaced reading times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    The Red Badge of Courage was alright.

    This novel wasn't very good to me, because the plot and conflicts of the novel just werent very catchy or interesting. Also, the overall dialogue of the novel just didnt keep me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Red Badge of Courage: My Personal Review

    The Red Badge of Courage is about a young recruit who has never seen a war to fight and watch all his friends die right before him. Recruit Henry Fleming has to conquer his fears of the war to save many more lives. The characters includes: Mrs. Fleming, Henry's mother whom is worried about her son in the war. A loud soldier who is the mail carrier in the war named Wilson. Bill Smithers, a soldier who has been the first soldier to get wounded during the war. The cheery soldier was a drunken soldier who helped Henry come to his senses. The author Stephen Crane tried to tell us that we could all face our fears and that you sometimes have to go against our instincts. I would most likely recommend this book to a group of high school students because as they move up in each grade they will begin to understand what they are reading and would be a good book to improve their comprehension skills. The book has words spelled how they were back then in the 1800s. Yes, the words are complicated to say and put together in a way to understand the text but you can always go back and reread if you're ever having troubles with the understanding.

    The author accomplished his way of telling the difference between Henry's two mind frames and how he accomplished it. Henry was conceited and afraid at the same time because he was running away from the battles because of his instincts. Then, while he's telling a man to let go he is hit in the head with a rifle. Don't you think that's an awful way to be wounded? He runs and keeps running. Henry is then faced to send the letters of the soldier to their families. He remembers when his mother came home and found out that he had enlisted into the army she was shocked. She tried everything in her power to prevent him from enlisting. When she seen him walk down the street to meet the other recruits she was devastated. Afterwards she was proud of her son and began to understand why he did what he did.
    You should read this book if you're having problems with conquering something in this life. Maybe it will help you learn how to solve something you're fighting with in yourself. There are obstacles in life that you have to face you have to trust what's inside instead of using your head. My opinion on the book's worth is that it is not what you think in life it what and how you do things in life. This book reminds me of a saying " It is not what your country can do for you, but, it is what you can do for your country." Think of it as this its not what your temple could do but what you can do for your own being or your peers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    whatever you do dont read this book

    This book was ok. The only reason i read this book is because i was assigned it in english. it didnt make any sense to me but this book is a realist book that is why there is absolutely no plot to it. it just bashes transcendentalism that is the point of realism which is pretty stupid. I would not recommend it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Civil War fanatics would love this movie.

    Ernie Inzana Crane, Stephen. The Red Badge of Courage. New York: Random House Value Publishing, 2000 Henry Fleming goes to war to seek glory. What he gets is a whole bundle marching. When he gets to battle, he witnesses death and destruction. His friend Jim is killed. Eventually, he is skimmed in the head with a bullet. He is reunited with his regiment, and the battle ends. I find this book boring to me because I am uninterested in the Civil War. A Civil War fanatic would love it. Henry is not stimulating enough for me to get into the story. The dialogue he and his pals put forth is very confusing. It is filled with Southern local color such as ¿I met one of th¿ boys an¿ he ses `is brigade fit th¿ hull fer four hours over yonder on th¿ turnpike an¿ kilt `bout five thousand of `em. He ses one more sech fight an¿ th¿ war¿ll be over.¿ This took me a while to comprehend and took my interest away from the book. The book is filled with words that I could not understand. Though he was not exciting, Henry was brave. During the battle, he did not desert like other men. The reader should be prepared for confusing speech. I would not recommend this book to a person who is uninterested in the Civil War. The reader would quickly lose their interest in the plot. If the reader enjoys reading about the Civil War, then the person should read this book. It is one of the most famous fictional accounts of the Civil War. The book was written in the 1860¿s, so it has a bunch of perspective of that time period. If you like this book, I would recommend Kinkaid¿s Battery, by George Cable (written in 1908).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    Alright, but Not the Best

    'Here they come!' These were the exact words that Henry Flemings, a Union soldier didn't want to hear in The Red Badge of Courage by Stephan Crane, considered a historical fiction classic. Henry and his friend Wilson joined the Union Army at a very young age. Placed on a Civil War battlefield, Henry realizes his overwhelming fear of war. He is scared to death of fighting. Henry thinks that when he gets into battle, he will run away. When Henry's company is called into battle, he reluctently goes. As he sees the enemy, he is taken over by his fear. Henry runs away and leaves his company behind. As time goes by, Henry comes back to his company and tries to fight. Does he overcome his fears of war? Does he run away again or does he stand and fight? I didn't really like The Red Badge of Courage by Stephan Crane. It was hard for me to get into. I didn't like that this book was all about Henry's emotions and feelings, when there could have been more plot. On the other hand, I did like that it gave me a challenge with its intense vocabulary. So if you like a challenge, The Red Badge of Courage by Stephan Crane is for you. From it hopefully you will learn that in yourself you can find the strength to do anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    a highschool student review

    Im a junior in highschool and my English class was required to read this book. At first I disliked it but then after reading more of it I realized the message the author was trying to give and I enjoyed it. I recomend this book for people who enjoy thinking while reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Hello, FLVS!!!

    Red Badge was okay for me. I loved the eloquent language, but there was no real kick to the story. I read this for school, and I did enjoy it, but I'd prefer something else, like R A Salvatore Oh well, three stars is just fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Good, but not Great

    This book was required reading in 7th grade at my school. I will say it has an interesting plot, brilliant symbolism, and is an incredible narration of what a young, naive soldier may have been feeling in such situations as those that Henry Fleming must face. It was interesting the way the author would hardly ever give the names of the characters, but rather referred to them as 'the ragged soldier' and such. I found many parts intriguing. One part (I won't say what it is, for you that haven't read this yet) I was nearly in tears. However, while this book is good, it isn't great. It lacks that little something that keeps you attached and wanting to read more. I lost interest on some parts and found myself tuning out while reading. But if you are looking for a good read, you might want to read this. It is fairly short and entertaining, and while it is not great it is still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    ok ... i guess!

    This book is about a farm boy named Henry Flemming, and he enlisted for the army. When he goes off to fight in the Civil War, he finds out that he didn't want to go to war beacuse he wanted to do something for his country, but rather he was drawn to the stories on what war was like.He is scared he might run at the battle sight, but his fear makes him keep on going in the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    looking forward

    This novel was assigned to my class as Freshmen. I am reading it now and it is a good story that has to do with how brave you actually have to become in certain situations. There are certain moments you would capture as to how brave you really were when you look back at what you've really done. This book is giving me a second look on lives back then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    Good concept but somewhat boring

    I thought this book was interesting because it took place during the Civil War. Although at times it went very slowly, other times were filled with the action of battles. I think this book teaches an important lesson, which is that war is a horrific thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2