Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book

    The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
    It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE

    The Red Badge Of Courage is a great book.I recommend this book to any 7th grader, it's easy to read and if you like books about wars this is the book for you

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    A must read

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. If you are like me and love military novels you will love this book. As soon as you pick up this book you will be lost in the journey and history of the civil war. In this book you fallow a young man that comes into the store a week little boy but at end he comes out a strong man. If you think you will never de strong you should read this book and you will soon change your mind. This book would be best for teens or adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Booklover

    Best book ever i love it highly recommened

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Ice ooc

    Tell me again? xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Four

    purrs at his mate. "I cant wait to live in eth again."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Kafka

    Hums.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Ice

    Chuckles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Four

    Bounces off walls. Grins at ice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Shatter

    Ebeybody keep dis a secret okay?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Classic


    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Wow, reading this book gave me the chance to experience the raw

    Wow, reading this book gave me the chance to experience the raw emotions of being in a war. /the Main character Henry spoke to me personally. Having to always be on my A game in sports and keeping up with my grades in school, Henry, gave me confidence to do that.

    A book like The Badge of Courage was a dramatic thriller which you kept you on your toe ready to face every emotion coming at you. Sad,Horrified and Anger made me keep reading. Words cannot describe how the soldiers in this book might have felt.

    The Author Stephen Crane did the best job at describing how the Civil war felt the fateful night . He also did a fantastic job portraying the friendship between Jim, and Wilson. Who managed to stay close through the worst of times.

    I would strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in joining any arms forces. It teaches a valuable lesson of revenge and friendship. The book was a very good read and kept you on your toes while reading. Overall 5



    - Kyle W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The Red Badge Of Courage, a great read involving a soon to be ma

    The Red Badge Of Courage, a great read involving a soon to be man named Henry Fleming. He was a young country boy who eventually
     was enlisted in the Civil War on the Union side. He joins the war, wanting to become someone worth talking about. He liked the
     War scene. Henry soon finds out he was wrong.

    Henry's troops, including Henery's best friend Jim, begin a long march to a battlefield. When he hears the first shot fired he tries to run. He was
     so tarrified but he couldnt go any where. He was boxed in. Henry finds his nerves and tries to sleep it off like a bad hangover. The next morning
     Henry was awoken from a swift zoom flying past his head. Henry runs.

     Henry finds many good soldiers along his vast journey in the military. Some he loves and others, not so much. Henry finds one
     solder  who sticks out more than all of the others, a solder who has taken two bullets. Henry believes it is an honer to be injured. He calls it "The
    Red Badge Of Courage". Hence the title. Henry befriends this solder, but the solder keeps asking Henry were his "badge" is. Henry was too
     imbarresed to admite that he doesnt have one. Later Henry leaves him in the forest to pass on.

    These two passsages from the story are my favorites because it shows how scared Henry was when he joined the war. 

    This book is one of my favorite books i have ever read. The book involves massive fights but sad and touching moments. i have rated the book
    5 stars out of 5 because of the sure intensity of the story. It is a short read which is one of the reasons why I like it. Most books become dragged 
    out and long for me but with only 151 pages, it keeps me floored threw out the novel. I would show this book to anyone who is looking for an 
    interesting read.


    Shane Reuther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    AWESOME

    Was an amazing and awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Summer

    Of coursssseeee notttt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    After ur done with hw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    Ok well u txt me tomorrow when ur done with school

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Dj

    Sorry 2 hear that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Moriah

    Y dont u ever txt me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Lena

    Im spendin thr night at my aunts house now. Ttyl!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3