Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good book

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The actio...
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

posted by mothman on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

decent but broing.

This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but hav...
This book is very different from other books I have read in the past. It is very detailed and hard to follow along with a lot of the time. This makes the book very hard for younger people and teenagers for the reason that it is to in depth. Details are important but having too many just ruins the book. I would not really recommend this book to younger students or students my age. It is very hard to follow and just down right boring. So all in all it's not the worst book, just not a very good one in my opinion.

posted by tanner71 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book

    The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane is a classic. It is about Henry Fleming, a country boy, in 1863 that joined the Union side of the Civil War. This book is awesome. The author really knows how to write. This book makes you feel like you are in the war. The action is the best I have read. It is definitely an easy but fun read.
    It really summarizes the Civil War experience. The men in this have a lot of courage. It is like Stephen Crane was in the war. It is sad to read that Henry sees a lot of his friends die in the battle. You find out in that time war was very hard. There was a lot of difficulty getting around. It is amazing that these people could do this, but they did not give up. This book shows that we are the bravest of them all. The Battles take place in Chancellorsville, WV. War books are my favorite, and that is why I read this book. I suggest this book for young readers that like action and war. This amazing book should be in every library in the world because it is so good. This is one of the best books I ever read.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE

    The Red Badge Of Courage is a great book.I recommend this book to any 7th grader, it's easy to read and if you like books about wars this is the book for you

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    A must read

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. If you are like me and love military novels you will love this book. As soon as you pick up this book you will be lost in the journey and history of the civil war. In this book you fallow a young man that comes into the store a week little boy but at end he comes out a strong man. If you think you will never de strong you should read this book and you will soon change your mind. This book would be best for teens or adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Booklover

    Best book ever i love it highly recommened

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2015

    Jayden

    *he walked in, a baseball bat and kunai in hand* hello! Don't worry I'm a nice person... I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2015

    Testing

    &piyl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2015

    Are there any rules?

    ??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2015

    Nyla

    She looked over at Jayden. "....you think? Well' that's nice." She offered a smile to ease her words. "I'm Nyla, by the way."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    One of the best battle action books.

    I love going back and reading the classics a couple of time a year. This was one of those times and one of those books. While I did not have the honor of serving my country in the military, I do come from a strong military family and am an avid military book and movie buff. I found this book one of the most realistic battle reads of all time. Great characters. Great plot. Loved the period dialog. Highly recommend this to any military junkie who hasn't read it since high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    To gray

    Oh no you didnt just say that. You have disappointed me! The chair that russia sat on? And blew up? Russian blowing up? Oh trust me, russia isnt gonna blow up no matter how many explosives u throw at us. Yes, i called russia and us. You know why? Because russia is a country where the people are one. Oi.....idk whats wrong with mw. Im not myself lately :-/.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Arguet

    10 lords a leaping! BOING BOING BOING!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Arguet 2

    Hm. I think I scared everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Arguet 2 to Four

    No, he never knew what it meant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Arguet 2

    Oh, she was meeting up with him to tell him what purple love meant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Arguet

    O_o?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    Arguet 3

    That's your crumbling gravestone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Shatter

    America the country?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Shatter

    Ima be June Iparis!!!!!! Teddeh knows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Shat

    ? . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Shttatter

    Join meh RP!!!!!!!!!!! 'Thorns' res one. Read the story and then join at 'daggers'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5