Customer Reviews for

The Red House

Average Rating 2.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't stop reading.

Couldn't stop reading.

posted by justforyou on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Pretty disappointing, weird and boring

I always look for books by this author when at the bookstore. Loved Curious Incident, as well as Spot of Bother. But this book is just boring and weird. It's hard to keep track of what's going on, and at the same time, nothing is happening. Trudging through it still, b...
I always look for books by this author when at the bookstore. Loved Curious Incident, as well as Spot of Bother. But this book is just boring and weird. It's hard to keep track of what's going on, and at the same time, nothing is happening. Trudging through it still, but I'm not even sure I'll finish it.

posted by 13558557 on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Pretty disappointing, weird and boring

    I always look for books by this author when at the bookstore. Loved Curious Incident, as well as Spot of Bother. But this book is just boring and weird. It's hard to keep track of what's going on, and at the same time, nothing is happening. Trudging through it still, but I'm not even sure I'll finish it.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Couldn't stop reading.

    Couldn't stop reading.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Beautifully written, a complicated snapshot of ourselved and our families

    I think its important to approach Haddon's books with an open mind in order to full appreciate the world he creates in The Red House.This book will not disappoint. Haddon has constructed a poignant tale of modern family, borrowing not from asburdtity, but rather, reality. He simply focues on a family vacation, providing us with just a small chunk of their lives. Yet, he manages to masterfully give us a story that gives us access to thir past and future. By allowing each to narrate in small snippets throughout the book, the reader gathers enough insight into the characters' lives to pass judgement on their actions.
    And yet, I come away unable to pass judgement. It is so easy to be harsh on the brooding, bullying teen or the adultering father or the distant uncle. But as the story progresses and the singulair character narrations begun to merge into an all encompassing narration, it becomes diffficult to lay blame on anyone.
    Rather, The Red House forces us to look inward. The reader will ruminate on their own family ties. How are families connected? How do bond? How do we remember? And, of course Haddon's lyrical language makes us ask, how do we connect ourselves to this present world?
    In the end The Red House is really a successful novel because it manages to make an impact, encouraging the reader to continue thinking about these characters well after the last page is read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I fell in love with Mark Haddon after The Curious Incident of th

    I fell in love with Mark Haddon after The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and always look forward to his latest publication. He did not disappoint. Quirky characters that feel uncomfortable yet familiar. Definitely worth the read!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Pass on this one!

    I did not care for this book at all. Bided my time just to get through it . It was kind of jumbled up. I did not find that the characters were developed enough to connect with. When at the rare instance, something developed it was then undone with the authors droning on about nothing the next moment and for several pages with details out of left field. The family all stayed at a house together--- but nothing happened!!!! Even when introspection took place in the minds of the characters, it did not do much for their development nor benefit the story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I love this book. Just when you think you understand one of the

    I love this book. Just when you think you understand one of the characters, you're shown another facet of their personality that will change your mind. This is a very wise book, that reveals how wrong our judgements can be.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Interesting experiment

    Haddon tries the multiple viewpoint novel here, but the viewpoints switch much more frequently than is typically done. It takes a little while to get your bearings because of that. However, he pulls it off well. The story is a small, but interesting one, about distant siblings and their families trying to holiday together. Better than most of the ratings it is getting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Can't get into this book at all. There is no 'extraordinary nar

    Can't get into this book at all. There is no 'extraordinary narrative technique' as lead to believe in the description. Hard to follow. A disappointing buy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievably BORING!!!

    I have a problem. I have to finish each book that I start, regardless of how much I like the book or not. Not so with this one. I literally couldn't get past page 50. So boring, characters not developed at all. Jumping from one scene to the next in no reasonable fashion. Just awful. Returned it to the library and started Gone Girl and was hooked in two pages. Glad that I didn't waste any more of my precious time with this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I really enjoyed the characters' internal monologues in this nov

    I really enjoyed the characters' internal monologues in this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    A waste of time and money

    Regretable purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I feel like I've been cheated out of $15. This book was BORING.

    I feel like I've been cheated out of $15. This book was BORING. It was about as interesting as reading a grocery list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Unreadable

    '

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Didn't care for the book. A lot of random thoughts from the ch

    Didn't care for the book. A lot of random thoughts from the characters but none of them held my interest. Finally jumped ahead to the end and read the last 10 pages. Didn't feel like I missed anything by skipping ahead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Sorry I bought this

    I read the reviews and it looked like it was going to be OK. Hard to read. I didn't finish ( and I realy did try a couple times) so I can't tell you if it ever made sense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Terrible

    This is the worst book! Save your money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Dull

    Just could not get into it started it 3 times finally archived it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2