BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Redemption of Lord Rawlings

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ahhh, I must admit that I've read this book several times alread

Ahhh, I must admit that I've read this book several times already. I bought it on Amazon because I couldn't wait for it to be up on Barnes and Noble! But it is WORTH THE WAIT! Wow. Because I have read, many times, Rachel Van Dyken's pervious books in this series, I w...
Ahhh, I must admit that I've read this book several times already. I bought it on Amazon because I couldn't wait for it to be up on Barnes and Noble! But it is WORTH THE WAIT! Wow. Because I have read, many times, Rachel Van Dyken's pervious books in this series, I was familiar with Lord Rawlings and was skeptical in how she was going to turn such a, unsavory character into a redeemed man. My my, was this story amazing. Yes, he was redeemed and I ended up absolutely loving him! Abby made me laugh and it was a great story seeing how they each matured, grew and came into their own. I loved all the characters we already knew about like The Duke of Tempest and Emma, and how Rachel included them in her story. It reminded me of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton Series. She introduced some new characters and I'm already impatiently anticipating their stories! Basically, it's an amazing book. You won't regret purchasing it, in fact, purchase all three because each story only adds to the already delicious tea cake that Rachel Van Dyken wrote in Rawlings!

posted by EdenEB on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

too much

Premise of this story... scheming young miss is determine to save an improvished lord from himself...too much scheming..I got lost sometimes... if you are on a ramen noodle budget and just need to read something in the wee hours of the morning...it will do...

posted by zoe2020 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Ahhh, I must admit that I've read this book several times alread

    Ahhh, I must admit that I've read this book several times already. I bought it on Amazon because I couldn't wait for it to be up on Barnes and Noble! But it is WORTH THE WAIT! Wow. Because I have read, many times, Rachel Van Dyken's pervious books in this series, I was familiar with Lord Rawlings and was skeptical in how she was going to turn such a, unsavory character into a redeemed man. My my, was this story amazing. Yes, he was redeemed and I ended up absolutely loving him! Abby made me laugh and it was a great story seeing how they each matured, grew and came into their own. I loved all the characters we already knew about like The Duke of Tempest and Emma, and how Rachel included them in her story. It reminded me of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton Series. She introduced some new characters and I'm already impatiently anticipating their stories! Basically, it's an amazing book. You won't regret purchasing it, in fact, purchase all three because each story only adds to the already delicious tea cake that Rachel Van Dyken wrote in Rawlings!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Right now I'm sporting a huge grin on my face. I loved this book

    Right now I'm sporting a huge grin on my face. I loved this book. There were parts where the banter and witty remarks had me laughing out loud and other parts where I wanted to chuck my kindle at a stubborn Lord Rawlings, then, shortly after, chuck it at a equally stubborn Abby Gates. The love story was so much more than a, love at first sight and I'll never be the same, rendition. The depth of the characters transcended the page and you were able to see through their eyes, and feel their emotions as you blushed with them and cursed with them as well. As a huge fan of Rachel Van Dyken's I have to say she is simply getting better and better. I've not read a book yet I can compare with the depth of the character development present in "The Redemption of Lord Rawlings." The whole book was a delight to read and didn't leave me with any questions, confusion or lack of adventure and climax in the storyline, a hard feat to do! I highly recommend this book. It was passionate but tasteful, deep yet hilarious and serious but throughly delightful. What a beautiful story on how love redeems even the most wretched of rakes...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    too much

    Premise of this story... scheming young miss is determine to save an improvished lord from himself...too much scheming..I got lost sometimes...
    if you are on a ramen noodle budget and just need to read something in the wee hours of the morning...it will do...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    another great book by Rachel Van Dyken

    I enjoyed this book very much read it in a day, now that I have finished it I wish I would have read slower. I can't say which was my favorite in this series I loved them all. Can't wait for the next one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Couldn't give it 5 stars because of the typo's, many words ran t

    Couldn't give it 5 stars because of the typo's, many words ran together. Aside from that, I did love the book, alot of twists especially at the end. I loved Phillip, but sometimes got alittle upset with Abby and how she acted. Not sure if a man of almost 30 would have put up with her immature ways. But I would recommend this book - loved the secondary character's as well. Can't go wrong with the story, if the editting doesn't bother you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    great story

    *

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Loved this book

    Loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Terrible, simply terrible

    I tried to make it through this book, but just couldn't force myself. The story seemed to be more of an outline and felt very rushed; the female lead was simply unlikeable. I've enjoyed a couple of this author's other novellas, but not this one. Don't waste your money or your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Patti, Book provided by Astraea Press, and Review or

    Reviewed by Patti, Book provided by Astraea Press, and Review originally posted at Romancing the Book.
    The story of Lord Rawlings is the third book of the Renwick House series. I had never heard of the series before starting this particular book but my pleasure of it did not suffer any because I hadn’t read any of the prior titles. That being said I will now be going back and collecting the rest because I enjoyed this one so much. I want to know what happened to everyone. I am usually adamant about reading series in order so the fact that I am not ranting about it is highly unusual for me. I would like to thank Ms. Van Dyken for making it possible for me to be able to read this without feeling like I have missed something important.
    Lord Rawlings character is the type of man who gets me every time. The man who after years of running around and carelessly flaunting his freedom to do as he pleases, he suddenly has nothing and no one. His character responds to each challenge and learns to accept things as best he can. He made me want to save him and at the same time I was glad to see him suffer. He holds deep secrets and throughout the book they slowly come to light. I really enjoyed how the author chose to reveal them in this book. Sometimes the methods used by authors are too harsh or too obvious. I felt this time they were delivered in a very smooth and seamless style.
    Abigail Gates wants to be his wife and save him from the awful shambles he finds his life in but he only sees her as a little girl in pigtails. At first she thinks she may have finally gained his notice but then discovers that what she is doing is only causing more chaos. Throughout the story I wanted to reach into the pages and warn her of the trouble she is heading for or give her a different path to follow. I felt connected to her like a friend or a big sister and wanted to help her finally get what she feels will make her happy. I love when an author can sucker me in like that; it just makes reading a book much more fun for me.
    The entire book was a pleasure to read. I loved the added snippets at the beginning of each chapter they gave it just a little extra something, I started to look forward to them. There seemed to be quite a few things going on in the background that I would love to know more about. The focus and flow of the book stayed consistently on the main characters and their story. There was definite chemistry between them each time they are together. It is clear that Abigail has grown up and Philip has noticed.
    This is a fabulous read and I highly recommend it. I am off to find the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I started with the "ugly Duckling Debutante" Then the

    I started with the "ugly Duckling Debutante" Then the other continuing two. Enjoyed all of them. Reading "Upon a Midnight Dream" now. I would like to get more of her but not a USA story. I like the "Romance Era" in England best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    ENTERTAINING!

    This book brings you back in time and presents you an interesting love story. I enjoyed reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Philip, Lord Rawlings, is a man in despair. In order to release

    Philip, Lord Rawlings, is a man in despair. In order to release his inheritance, he must marry before his next birthday, but his reputation is so bad, who would marry him. Abigail is a 9-year-old debutante in her first season, and she wants no one but Lord Rawlings. Yes, we are repeatedly assured that Abby is "but one and eight." If you are a reader who can overlook this and the numerous other mistakes in this book, you're in for a treat. The story and characters are delightful, but I had to deduct a star for the brazen lack of proofreading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Enjoyed!

    Enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Ok

    It was funny i really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great story!

    Great Story! Great writing! Can't wait to start the next book in the series...off to do that now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Great Book , it maded me LOL :{

    Great Book , it maded me LOL :{

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Rawlings redeemed BRAVO

    Very good Rachel VanDyken fare! Fairy Godmother in the form of a Dowager and a Evil Stepmother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    He's a rake --- She save him

    Maybe its because I live with teenagers but the heroine--who is 18 comes off as a bit of a spoiled brat. You know the typical whiny I want my own way kid. When she destroys her new ball gowns so she can get something sexier I just rolled my eyes. Girls will be girls I guess. And our hero comes off as more of a dimwit then a rake. Though not as big a dimwit as her father who puts the rake in charge of guarding his daughters virtue. And as for her sister and brother-in law I wouldn't leave them to chaperone my dog no less a lovestruck teenager. I usually like Van Dyken. She can be really funny but I had to force myself to finish it. I did pay for it. It was not worth the time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5