Customer Reviews for

The Redhead Plays Her Hand (Redhead Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton Review from Jeannie Ze

The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.

I loved the first two Redhead books, but its some months and several hundred books since I read them, so a re read was in order to bring me back to Grace and Jacks world. I could have div...
The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.

I loved the first two Redhead books, but its some months and several hundred books since I read them, so a re read was in order to bring me back to Grace and Jacks world. I could have dived straight in, but I think re reading made me appreciate the story so much better.
Ah Jack – I fell in love with him all over again. Grace – I could empathise with her so much, she's older than Jack, only nine years but the media have been making much of that, and of course she's had such a lot to overcome to get where she is, and that kind of knock to her confidence brings back all her own fears about herself and her history and about Jack....
She's been a huge success in the Mabel Unstable play, and its now being turned for TV with her keeping the lead role. The producers though are adamant that she lose weight, and that’s tough as she's not overweight, but the media mania for stick insects persists. Add to that the ageist comments that make her out to be a cougar, and she's feeling under pressure again – and who could blame her....and Jack seems to be having his own crisis, friends with a co star “bad boy” he seems to be out on the town all the while he's away from Grace. Is the Hollywood lifestyle becoming too much for him to handle? There's pressures between him and Grace and him and manager Holly, and with her still forbidding him to be seen out publicly with Grace its creating some intense friction between them all.
Its a fabulous read, after all the heartbreak of book two when Grace has her meltdown this time its Jack feeling the pressure and its a very emotional read wondering if Grace and George will get their happy ending....and when things go wrong there's pages and pages of sadness, lots of emotion, lots of misery for me to wallow in :) – and that makes all the difference as once things begin to look up its like climbing out of a deep hole. I love authors that can write this deep, intense emotion into a romance, I don't want sweet and light, everything bland and boring, I want overwhelming highs and lows, and to feel lost in the characters emotions. And of course the media frenzy about Grace' age – the other way round and its “way to go man” - but older woman, and she's written off as some media hungry cougar hanging on the coattails – sad isn't it, and the book writes it exactly as we see it played out in real life. Ditto Grace' weight - we've an obsession about females and image and yet men don't have all that to put up with, grey for them is distinguished not ageing, weight gain – they're not fatties, tubby, overweight, any of the labels women get but... well, they just “fill out a suit well”. Then there's wrinkles , on a women she's ageing, in need of facelift/botox but for a man – just adds character...so annoying and this book takes all that and that's what makes the plot and people come alive for me.
Fabulous ending too – ties up the trilogy brilliantly.
Stars: five – fabulous novel. .

NB: ARC supplied via Netgalley

posted by jeanniezelos on December 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok but could have been better

I loved the previous two books but this one did not reach the mark. I found Grace a little abnoxious at times, got tired of her bubble-head behavior. And Jack, who got me interested before because he could be more mature than her despite their 9 years age difference, be...
I loved the previous two books but this one did not reach the mark. I found Grace a little abnoxious at times, got tired of her bubble-head behavior. And Jack, who got me interested before because he could be more mature than her despite their 9 years age difference, became a frat boy. The plot was not too solid and scenes were quite repetitive. The end was the best but getting there was the problem.

posted by EmmaGR on December 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've been anxiously waiting for this book for some time. I've b

    I've been anxiously waiting for this book for some time. I've been a fan of Alice Clayton long before she was finally given the recognition she deserved from the big six! But, I admit I was also hesitant. Would my beloved characters have changed to please the big guys? Rest assured, they may go through some turmoils but Grace and Jack are still just as sweet as ever.

    I've seen some knocks against Grace in a few reviews. Maybe it's because they don't identify with the way Grace reacted to her situations. She's new to Hollywood and I imagine that's incredibly difficult to be faced with the pressure becoming famous entails. Especially when she's attached to not only the "golden boy" of Hollywood, but also the newest it show of Television. She's not your typical star and she hasn't grow a backbone yet when it comes to how all those people might play her. I'm sure we all think that we someone tells us to lose weight in underhanded ways, we would tell them to get bent. But, the truth is, I'm not sure we would. Most have the drive to succeed, and if acting was our chosen dream, we would do anything to keep it.

    More especially, I understood Grace's reactions to Jack. I may not have liked him much in this book, but I thought he was true to character. We've all seen how Hollywood can strip young actors down to nothing. Now, it's a book and Clayton could have chose to have Jack be better than that. But, in all reality I think showing the weakness was better. Now maybe Grace could have walked away and decided Jack wasn't worth it. But, sometimes it's harder than one thinks. Even if it's the best thing for us in so many ways. I identified with it because in all reality I've been in that relationship that all it would have took was one "I'm Sorry." Is it the right decision? Only time can tell.

    The only difference for me was this book seemed a lot lighter on the sex than previous books and more on the actual dynamics of their relationship. It's not all about what happens in the bedroom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    First impression: I adored the first two books in the series, bu

    First impression:
    I adored the first two books in the series, but I have to admit that I was a bit nervous about this one. I do love the new covers of the series.




    The story:
    Throughout this series, Grace and Jack have had their struggles. They're both in the entertainment industry, there's an age difference and they've had to be apart for long periods of time. But, they've somehow made it through and always with a sense of humor.




    In this book, their relationship starts off on solid ground, but the newest set of obstacles heads their way. The biggest challenge they face is that they've both become famous and they're still trying to hide their relationship from the public. The struggle to balance their fame and their love was harder than they thought it would be. I certainly had panicky moments when I wasn't sure if they could pull it together! 




    The characters:
    I have always loved both Jack and Grace. Grace is the kind of girl I would love to be friends with. She has flare, but she's also very real. I was happy for her in this book, that she finally achieved some success in her career. I was also happy to see that in the end, she stayed true to herself. She also had to make some tough decisions regarding her relationship with Jack that I thought were commendable.




    I can't believe I'm actually going to say this, but Jack hurt my heart a bit in this book. His level of fame really got to him and he began making some questionable choices. He had moments of sweetness, but he just wasn't the same Jack I had originally fallen for. It makes me so sad to say that.




    What didn't work for me:
    I was a bit surprised that this book lacked a bit of the humor I had fallen in love with in the first two. There just wasn't much witty banter between them. And their sexy scenes lacked a bit of their magic.




    I also found myself a bit irritated with the press releases. I don't mind a few here and there, but there were chapters that were taken over by press releases. I wanted more of Grace and Jack. I didn't want to see their relationship playing out in press releases and that's how it felt to me.




    As I mentioned above, I was upset with the change in Jack's character. It just seemed like such a drastic change and it was hard to adjust. I understand that a dramatic element was needed, but it hurt to see a character I loved so much making horrible choices. 




    Overall: 
    Even with the things that bothered me, I did enjoy it. I'm so happy that I found this series a few years ago. It truly is one of my favorites and I was pleased with how it wrapped up in the end. If you like sassy, funny and sexy romances, check out this series!




    Favorite Quotes:
    ~It's amazing how quickly you could get used to looking behind you when you were moving forward.-pg 24




    ~I forced my eyes back to the breakfast and away from the accidental erotica that was playing out on the other side of the bed. I brought over the tray, sitting cross-legged opposite him, keeping the tray between us. I knew him. If I were next to him, the tray would go flying.-pg 121




    ~Slipping out of my panties faster than you could say "Get it," I crawled back up his body, straddling his hips as he grabbed my curves and guided me down onto him.
    Jack. Inside. Perfect.-pg 273

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand is the third book in the Redhead seri

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand is the third book in the Redhead series by Alice Clayton. In Clayton's first novel of the Redhead series, we are introduced to feisty Grace and irresistible Jack. In the second book of the series, Grace and Jack learned how to hide away from the world. In this third installment, the couple is coming into their own independently and together.

    The director of Grace's TV series asks Grace to lose fifteen pounds. Curvy Grace speaks up about her struggles with weight and demands of how a Hollywood actress should look. Meanwhile, Jack is voted the Sexiest Man of the Year. But the title means nothing; all Jack wants is to go public with his relationship with Grace. He starts a downward spiral, partying hard and with lots of booze. His actions tempt Grace to set him straight and walk the red carpet with her man.

    Alice Clayton's ability to write LOL dialogue and hilarious characters with sexual chemistry is unmatched. It is a treat to readers. Characters Jack and Grace are like the fun couple you love to hang with. I enjoyed this third installment as much as the first two books of the Redhead series. So much so, that I would love to see this couple on the big screen. If you like chick lit, this is a must-read series. Add it to your reading list and be prepared to laugh your curvy butt off.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Nice way to round out the series

    Love Alice's style and story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Great ending

    I loved this series. All three books were filled with humor, sass, and sex. But I have to admit that this 3rd book was my favorite. I laughed, I cried, and my heart broke for both Grace and Jack. Getting to experience the insanity that is Hollywood from a different perspective made me sick to my stomach, so much that I feel guilty now for going to different websites to get a "glimpse" of celebrities.

    I think that out all three books this one was more emotionally raw. It put every fear and insecrurity that both Grace and Jack had out on the table.

    This was a great book and a fantastic way to end this series. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Love love love love this series!!!! This is the perfect ending t

    Love love love love this series!!!! This is the perfect ending to the story  
    of Jack and Grace.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Star Rating: 4 stars Heat Rating: HOT! **If you haven't read Th

    Star Rating: 4 stars
    Heat Rating: HOT!

    **If you haven't read The Unidentified Redhead or The Redhead Revealed I HIGHLY suggest you read them first so you understand the relationships, back stories and inside jokes**

    I can be honest with you guys, right?  I almost didn't read this book after I finished The Redhead Revealed.  I really enjoyed The Unidentified Redhead and was left bored after I skimmed most of my way through book #2  and wanted to slap Grace. I was afraid that The Redhead Plays Her Hand would be another let down, but I was mildly curious how things would change for Jack and Grace once they were both in L.A, so I picked it up and dove right in.   I am REALLY glad I kept up with series and I am going to admit it here that The Redhead Plays Her Hand was (in my opinion) the best book of the series!  (you have to get through the first two books I think to enjoy this installment).  Grace redeemed herself completely in my eyes and started (finally) acting her age while Jack was still my amazing Brit I fell for in book one, but let Hollywood shake his foundation.

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand wasn't a light-hearted rom-com and I loved that.  Grace and Jack were two people (with flaws) trying to find their balance in this new relationship and add to that the craze of being a Hollywood celebrity (it can't be sunshine and rainbows all the time), so we really get to see new sides to these two characters emerge.  I really enjoyed that the characters in this book seemed to grow (and unravel at times) and we weren't just reading about two people having sex all day (though that has its perks too) we got a story with some depth to it.  Alice Clayton takes on a couple of really intriguing and interesting topics in this book and I liked seeing the deeper and more "real" side to these two beloved characters.  (You still get your silly and schmaltz, no worries).

    Alice Clayton's writing is so easy to read and regardless of the story, her books go down super easy.  I read The Redhead Plays Her Hand in a few hours and was surprised it was all over.  The pacing was great and I never had that "I need a break" from this crazy ride moment.  In fact, I actually wanted more at the end (no spoilers) with Jack and his situation, but it is what it is and it was a great close to a series.  It is always hard to let go of characters that have been with us for a while and I am glad I stuck with them!  Is this the end for Jack and Grace?  I have no clue, but if this truly was the last of the series, then it ended brilliantly and I will admit to misting up a wee bit at the end.

    If you fell in love with Jack and his Redhead in the previous books, then this is an installment that you must read.  It takes their relationship to a new level and really tests their "stick-with-it-ness", letting the reader see a more serious side to this romantic tale.  If you love schmaltz, witty banter, crazy pet names and a some heart-tugging moments, then this is a definite 1-click! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't tell you how much I love this series. You just get wrap

    I can't tell you how much I love this series. You just get wrapped up in the characters and can't wait to see what happens next. Alice Clayton's writing is just captivating...she writes with humor, feeling, and emotion that keeps you reading until the very last line. I was lucky enough to read all three books in this series one after another so I didn't have to wait to read the final book. It was just the perfect ending to a great story. Jack and Grace go though all sorts of situations...funny, sad, angry, lost but always in love. This a a great take you away book with laughs, tears and a very HEA! Everything you could ever want in a book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1