Customer Reviews for

The Redhead Plays Her Hand (Redhead Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton Review from Jeannie Ze

The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.

I loved the first two Redhead books, but its some months and several hundred books since I read them, so a re read was in order to bring me back to Grace and Jacks world. I could have div...
The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.

I loved the first two Redhead books, but its some months and several hundred books since I read them, so a re read was in order to bring me back to Grace and Jacks world. I could have dived straight in, but I think re reading made me appreciate the story so much better.
Ah Jack – I fell in love with him all over again. Grace – I could empathise with her so much, she's older than Jack, only nine years but the media have been making much of that, and of course she's had such a lot to overcome to get where she is, and that kind of knock to her confidence brings back all her own fears about herself and her history and about Jack....
She's been a huge success in the Mabel Unstable play, and its now being turned for TV with her keeping the lead role. The producers though are adamant that she lose weight, and that’s tough as she's not overweight, but the media mania for stick insects persists. Add to that the ageist comments that make her out to be a cougar, and she's feeling under pressure again – and who could blame her....and Jack seems to be having his own crisis, friends with a co star “bad boy” he seems to be out on the town all the while he's away from Grace. Is the Hollywood lifestyle becoming too much for him to handle? There's pressures between him and Grace and him and manager Holly, and with her still forbidding him to be seen out publicly with Grace its creating some intense friction between them all.
Its a fabulous read, after all the heartbreak of book two when Grace has her meltdown this time its Jack feeling the pressure and its a very emotional read wondering if Grace and George will get their happy ending....and when things go wrong there's pages and pages of sadness, lots of emotion, lots of misery for me to wallow in :) – and that makes all the difference as once things begin to look up its like climbing out of a deep hole. I love authors that can write this deep, intense emotion into a romance, I don't want sweet and light, everything bland and boring, I want overwhelming highs and lows, and to feel lost in the characters emotions. And of course the media frenzy about Grace' age – the other way round and its “way to go man” - but older woman, and she's written off as some media hungry cougar hanging on the coattails – sad isn't it, and the book writes it exactly as we see it played out in real life. Ditto Grace' weight - we've an obsession about females and image and yet men don't have all that to put up with, grey for them is distinguished not ageing, weight gain – they're not fatties, tubby, overweight, any of the labels women get but... well, they just “fill out a suit well”. Then there's wrinkles , on a women she's ageing, in need of facelift/botox but for a man – just adds character...so annoying and this book takes all that and that's what makes the plot and people come alive for me.
Fabulous ending too – ties up the trilogy brilliantly.
Stars: five – fabulous novel. .

NB: ARC supplied via Netgalley

posted by jeanniezelos on December 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok but could have been better

I loved the previous two books but this one did not reach the mark. I found Grace a little abnoxious at times, got tired of her bubble-head behavior. And Jack, who got me interested before because he could be more mature than her despite their 9 years age difference, be...
I loved the previous two books but this one did not reach the mark. I found Grace a little abnoxious at times, got tired of her bubble-head behavior. And Jack, who got me interested before because he could be more mature than her despite their 9 years age difference, became a frat boy. The plot was not too solid and scenes were quite repetitive. The end was the best but getting there was the problem.

posted by EmmaGR on December 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton Review from Jeannie Ze

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand. Alice Clayton
    Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.

    I loved the first two Redhead books, but its some months and several hundred books since I read them, so a re read was in order to bring me back to Grace and Jacks world. I could have dived straight in, but I think re reading made me appreciate the story so much better.
    Ah Jack – I fell in love with him all over again. Grace – I could empathise with her so much, she's older than Jack, only nine years but the media have been making much of that, and of course she's had such a lot to overcome to get where she is, and that kind of knock to her confidence brings back all her own fears about herself and her history and about Jack....
    She's been a huge success in the Mabel Unstable play, and its now being turned for TV with her keeping the lead role. The producers though are adamant that she lose weight, and that’s tough as she's not overweight, but the media mania for stick insects persists. Add to that the ageist comments that make her out to be a cougar, and she's feeling under pressure again – and who could blame her....and Jack seems to be having his own crisis, friends with a co star “bad boy” he seems to be out on the town all the while he's away from Grace. Is the Hollywood lifestyle becoming too much for him to handle? There's pressures between him and Grace and him and manager Holly, and with her still forbidding him to be seen out publicly with Grace its creating some intense friction between them all.
    Its a fabulous read, after all the heartbreak of book two when Grace has her meltdown this time its Jack feeling the pressure and its a very emotional read wondering if Grace and George will get their happy ending....and when things go wrong there's pages and pages of sadness, lots of emotion, lots of misery for me to wallow in :) – and that makes all the difference as once things begin to look up its like climbing out of a deep hole. I love authors that can write this deep, intense emotion into a romance, I don't want sweet and light, everything bland and boring, I want overwhelming highs and lows, and to feel lost in the characters emotions. And of course the media frenzy about Grace' age – the other way round and its “way to go man” - but older woman, and she's written off as some media hungry cougar hanging on the coattails – sad isn't it, and the book writes it exactly as we see it played out in real life. Ditto Grace' weight - we've an obsession about females and image and yet men don't have all that to put up with, grey for them is distinguished not ageing, weight gain – they're not fatties, tubby, overweight, any of the labels women get but... well, they just “fill out a suit well”. Then there's wrinkles , on a women she's ageing, in need of facelift/botox but for a man – just adds character...so annoying and this book takes all that and that's what makes the plot and people come alive for me.
    Fabulous ending too – ties up the trilogy brilliantly.
    Stars: five – fabulous novel. .

    NB: ARC supplied via Netgalley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    I laughed, I cried with Grace and wanted to shake Jack very very

    I laughed, I cried with Grace and wanted to shake Jack very very hard....yup it was awesome! Loved these two characters....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Love her books

    You will laugh out loud in parts of her books - excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    Just loved this series Grace is beautiful however Jack is Hot!!!

    Just loved this series Grace is beautiful however Jack is Hot!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand

    The latest Red Head book does not disappoint. I was a bit apprehensive to read this story after I read the brief description. It appears like the Red Head and her Brit may be another casualty in Hollywood. I love Grace and Jack and even though I know they are fictional characters, in my mind they are living happily ever after with red head kids in tow. What does a woman do when the man she loves appears to be spiraling out of control? Throw in that he is almost a decade younger and the new “it boy” in Hollywood and complicated doesn’t even begin to describe the situation.
    This book has Grace acting like a grown up and trying to navigate her relationship, her blossoming career, and the unfair stereotypes placed on an actress in Hollywood. She doesn’t constantly freak out or meltdown when things get tough. She is more secure in her relationship and with her body. Grace truly comes full circle as an actress and a woman. There are a lot of steamy scenes, triumphs and a little heart break in this latest installment, but I loved this book as much if not more than the first two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    This book is well written and very funny. I loved the series and hoping for maybe a 4th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    Too short. Yep, I bravely believe that with all the drama and m

    Too short. Yep, I bravely believe that with all the drama and meltdowns we needed a few months longer in the happy Jack and Grace world. And Alice Clayton is so talented I hope in time she revisits their world. Especially since Grace had a few weeks in book 2 of thinking she just might want a child of he own....it would be halarious on so many levels.

    Too littlle pages on the last locaion...but that's Alice's fault because the first few beach scenes were the best ever I have read. Higly recommend the author and hope she keeps adding great characters with deepth and humor--and continues to breakdown the age/ weigh steriotypes we have had to endure.

    Thank God for Alice Clayton...she proves that humor is as important as dialogue, character develeopment, and fabulous secndary "chaacters".
    I feel blessed every timeI visit Grace, Jack and company

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    All I have to ask is there going to be another? I hope so, bec

    All I have to ask is there going to be another? I hope so, because I love, love, love her books and I love the characters in this series. I love the message it sends about going after your dreams and that it is never too mate for anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    adorable!

    Just adorable....Alice Clayton has done it again....Please give us more or George and Gracie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved it!!

    I loved this book and the series. I wish there were more! I will be looking for the next Alice Clayton book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Alice Clayton begins this book with some of the delightful bante

    Alice Clayton begins this book with some of the delightful banter between Jack Hamilton and Grace Sheridan that has characterized the Redhead series. After all the turmoil in The Redhead Revealed, it's nice to find Jack and Grace living quietly in their little place in the valley. Jack's career has been launched into the stratosphere and he is about to be named "The Sexiest Man Alive". Grace is finally living her dreams and will star in her own TV series based on her Broadway play. But predictably, given the career paths they've chosen, this idyllic life quickly comes under siege at the hands of the paparazzi. Alice Clayton uses a very effective tool to show her readers how public the lives of two well known people can be. By using accounts of Jack's and Grace's activities as they might be depicted in the press and on blogs and social media, she makes it very clear these people have no chance at leading normal lives.Jack is only 24 years old.... Grace keeps telling herself as she watches him slowly succumb to the temptations offered by the Hollywood lifestyle.While Grace is focused on the upcoming debut of her television series, Jack begins to party with bad boy Adam Kasen who is using his friendship with Jack to draw attention to his own flagging career. Jack begins a downhill spiral that ends dramatically on a night in Las Vegas. Grace and Jack's relationship is filled with steamy sex and banter as always and Grace's friends Holly, Michael and Nick come along for the ride adding their unique personalities to the mix; however, The Redhead Plays Her Hand is somewhat less lighthearted than the first two Redhead books. The author deals with two very serious issues which plague our modern society: substance abuse and the negative self-image which drives women and young girls to eating disorders. The ending is not a cliffhanger and will be satisfying to readers.... but please don't tell me this is the last book in the series! I love Jack and Grace and do not want their story to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Awesome book

    Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Addicted

    I love these characters!!!! can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    5 Star Studded Stars!!!!

    Grace Sheridan(a.k.a "Crazy") and Jack Hamilton (a.k.a "George" or "Sweet Nuts") are back in The Redhead Plays Her Hand.

    I am a huge fan of the Redhead series and applaud the way the series ended (??? I hope not...tee hee LOL).

    Let's back on track - the beginning before the end...

    Grace & Jack (the are-they-aren't-they speculated couple) are finally at the brink of the careers- the creme de la creme... so we would think.

    The Redhead Plays Her Hand takes us a little bit more in depth of what we tend to hear about in the media...the older/younger couple taboo, the partying, the drugs, the gossip sites, the damn paparazzi......but there was a little bit more to this story.

    How Grace & Jack fought to keep it together. To preserve who they were, their love for one another - even if there were some mishaps along the way.

    I've been rooting for Grace & Jack since book one and they damn well kept it that way through the whole series - the whole book - the whole kit and kaboodle!

    I am definitely 100% happy with the way the story finally ended (again...??? tee hee LOL) and am so happy they finally have their Happily Ever After- because they freaking deserve it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    So good

    Loved every page. Great ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Grace finds that your dream bed is full of roses, but sometimes

    Grace finds that your dream bed is full of roses, but sometimes they have thorns, and you need to accept the good with the bad.... fame is her dream, she loves the attention, the ability to work on stage or as in this book television, but does not love the reports and reactions of fans or the media.... Jack Hamilton, her beautiful consort finds in this book the pressure of fame is more then his broad shoulders can hold. He is taken off track, and displaced by the new friendship of a bad boy actor begins the eventual spiral of partying, gambling, and eventually drugs. Being nine years older Grace is lost on how to help her young love, and when she tries to support him, and confront him he explodes, and their relationship implodes... the thorns in her bed roses. Her carrier is building. Her fame is growing,and she is being supported and contemned on the posts on-line, and in the media tabloids. Can she find a balance, and can she bring her Hamilton back to her loving arms. this is a dynamic love story that excites and connects with the reader in a dynamic and new way....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    My absolute favorite

    I have read a lot of romance novels and this triolgy is by far the best! Thank you for bringing to life Grace and Jack. Still smiling about the ending :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Adore the redhead and her Brit!

    Love the humor, pain and love these books entwined. Well done, Ms. Clayton! Characters you will adore, I'm sad its over, I miss them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    WOW, Oh,YEAH! Recommended!

    WOW! OH, YEAH! It's been along time since I've read such a good trilogy. Loved each book. Wonderful love story. This book made me crazy with angst! I was feeling the stress! Man, but the ending was worth it. Alice Clayton, bravo, and thank you, I am so looking forward to future books by you. I absolutely, holy cow, without a doubt, recommend this trilogy!

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    The Redhead is back in full force! If you are a fan of Alice Cl

    The Redhead is back in full force! If you are a fan of Alice Clayton's Redhead series, you eyes are probably bloodshot and you are sleep deprived. This book released at 12:01 am today and nobody has been able to put this book down until it was finished.

    Grace and Jack are back and happy to have settled into a routine with their blissful love. Unfortunately, their lives are about to change drastically and coping with fame and gossip journalists is about to wreck and burst their happiness bubble.

    Once again, Alice Clayton's writing gift shines as she weaves us a Hollywood story common and unique in its own way. Life in the fast lane with the partying, booze, drugs, and out of control emotions becomes a unique tale of survival for our two lovers. With humor, while spinning an erotic romance story, Clayton has given us a love story full of passion, understanding, devotion and ultimate loyalty.

    Relationships are hard no matter what. Both parties have to work at nurturing the love they feel for each other. With all the pressures that fame brings, rebellion is not far behind. Jack is rebelling to the commitments that bind his life and destroy his freedom to live his life as he chooses. Through it all, Grace is his constant. Perhaps because she is older, she is able to anchor him while he seeks to balance his life. Our Redhead is no fool. I admire her character's ability to control her emotions, allowing Jack to come to terms with his fame and life choices at his own pace.

    You will not be able to forget this Redhead any time soon. She has gone through too much to achieve her dreams and with Jack at her side, she can only be called a WINNER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2