Customer Reviews for

The Registry (Registry Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

In this futuristic America, Shannon Stoker vividly portrays a dy

In this futuristic America, Shannon Stoker vividly portrays a dystopian society that at first sight might seem extreme and farfetched but on second thought echoes values chillingly close to many realities of today. As the story unfolds, the reader sees Mia transform fro...
In this futuristic America, Shannon Stoker vividly portrays a dystopian society that at first sight might seem extreme and farfetched but on second thought echoes values chillingly close to many realities of today. As the story unfolds, the reader sees Mia transform from a young woman following the status quo to an outlaw on the run simply because she seeks to secure a future of her own making. This book leaves you thinking about the very values that shape your own life perspective and makes you wonder how much this futuristic society is based on fantasy...

The Registry is a fun read and I encourage anyone looking for a book to read by the pool or on the beach this summer to pick this one up. It is a quick read and leaves you eagerly awaiting the release of the sequels.

posted by Love2R3AD23 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The book was decent, writing at the beginning was immature and s

The book was decent, writing at the beginning was immature and should have been taken care of in the editing process.

posted by 3420933 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    The Registry was a very hard book to read, but VERY enjoyable!

    The Registry was a very hard book to read, but VERY enjoyable! It was different then anything I have ever read, yet the same as a lot of other Dystopian books out there. I don't know if that makes since, but it the best way I can explain it. Its the scary truth of what The United States could be! Now, that said, I did NOT find everything in this book plausible, but it was still very entertaining.

    The writing was good, I didn't find anything wrong with it, And it was easy to follow. The background of the story is what sucked me in! I really enjoyed this scary world that these young boys and girls live in. They really have it hard, especially the boys. Being tossed out by their parents at birth and raised by the government to toughen up and become men quick, was just sad! Then at the age of thirteen these young boys are thrown out of the government facilities to the world of the unknown, with NOTHING or no one to help them! Some of the boys don't make it. They either starve to death or run into trouble they can't get their self out of. The government says they need "Strong" men to fight for their country! Then if they happen to make it from thirteen to eighteen, they have to enlist into the army, and do a mandatory of 4 years to serve their Country. Then and only then are they "Awarded" the right to become a citizen, and allowed to "Buy" a wife from The Registry! Yeah, sick I know!

    When girls are becoming of age, then its time for her to get her appraisal, and be auctioned off to the highest bidder. Young girls are like gold in this new world. They are raised by their mothers to "Honor" their husbands, and do everything their husband wishes, "ANYTHING"! These girls are trained by their mothers to learn how to cook, clean, sew, stay fit, and most important, to understand that their husband is their savior. He is all that matters in this world, and he is the one who knows what's best for us! (Yeah Like That'll Ever Happen) So when girls reach the age of eighteen, they are sold by their fathers to the highest bidder, then that is the last that girl will see her family, and she is at the mercy of her husband!

    I really had to put this book down at times because it was just so shocking and sickening, the world that these people lived in. Like I said earlier some of the things that were happening just did not seem like anyone would put up with, and some of the situations didn't seem real and definitely had its flaws, but at the same time it was still very intriguing to read...Well after I pushed the idea out of my head that this is crazy and NO person would put up with what this young boys and girls were programed to do.

    The Plot:

    So this story is about Mia, a young girl fighting for freedom! Mia has always believed that "Honor Thy Husband" & "Do As Your Told" was the best thing for her. She was very excited for the day she would be SOLD to her Dream Husband. But all Mia's hopes and dreams are shattered when something very devastating happens in her life, (I won't say What because it would ruin the book) and she comes to terms with all is NOT as it seems, and her dream husband is exactly what he is, a DREAM! Their is no "Put your wife on a pedestal" and "Worship the ground she walks on", "No happily ever after" for these wives. No, their is pain, torture, and even death, after these girls are sold. Once money exchanges hands between a father and a soon to-be-husband, this women becomes the sole property of her now husband, and he can do with her as he pleases, because that's all she is, PROPERTY! And Mia has seen first hand what that exactly means!


    So Mia sets out to escape. But her auction date is coming soon, and Mia knows nothing of the outside world, and what it holds. The Registry, the agency that controls the distributing of the girls, and is what men have to go through to purchase a wife, wants the young girls to stay dumb, with no knowledge above knowing how to read or write. The new government fears if women become too knowledgeable they would form their own opinions, and be challenged. So Mia knows nothing about other countries, or where to go, or how to get there, and most important, how to survive in the outside world! So Mia enlist the help of her bestfriend Whintey to travel with her. Whintey's father has instilled some values in his daughter, and has allowed her to become smart, and have SOME knowledge of the outside world. So they decide to escape to Mexico, for promise of a better life, but most importantly FREEDOM!!

    During their escape, the girls run into Andrew, a farmer worker that previously worked on Mia's fathers farm. He reluctantly agrees to help them to the boarder of Mexico. But with Mia's Now Husband with big connections on their trail, and only one step behind them, this escape turns into to a deadly game of cat and mouse, and Mia's husband Grant is enjoying every minute of it.

    They form unlikely allies on their journey, and learn the real reason behind this "New" America, and what they find could very well shake the core of their world!

    I really did enjoy this book very much, and I'm very eager to contuine Mia and Andrew's journey into Mexico. We get a little page teaser into their next adventure into Mexico and it seems all is not what they thought over the boarder!

    This world that Shannon Stoker created is captivating, and a scary world were I would either kill or be killed!

    I feel though I can not give this book 5 stars like I really, really, want too, because of the things that did not seem plausible. But I feel that it did not take away too much from the book for me, and it was easy to overlook them small things a fall back into the story. So I give this book and STRONG 4 stars.

    11 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    4+

    Good read. Thought provoking. P J K

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Good read

    Kept me on the edge of my seat. Didn't want to put the book down. Did not know it was part of a triology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Different

    First i expected the same old same old boring gendered plotline. But i was surprised. Really enjoyed this book though thats not to say it had some flaws. I reccomend reading it regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    A turn pager

    Love and survival story
    Cant wait to read what happens next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    The Registry is a great book to read. I was glued to it from the

    The Registry is a great book to read. I was glued to it from the beginning, it gives you so much details that I felt like I was living it. It is an easy and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I won this book in a contest, so I did not know what to expect g

    I won this book in a contest, so I did not know what to expect going in. I just finished reading some of the reviews on here, which I did not read, thankfully, before I read the book. I didn't see most of the issues some seemed to have, and I am usually perceptive about these things. Yes the main character is a little whiney, but when you are raised to be a spoiled brat and pampered, then you don't grow out of that overnight. Paris Hilton, anyone? Anyhoo, I liked the story, and I haven't read any of the other books that people say are similar, so I cannot say whether they are alike or not. All I know is that I enjoyed reading this book, and I hope to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Good book ~ easy read ~ interesting

    Got this as a Free Friday for my Nook. It was interesting, written alright, although some things weren't convincing or believable. Still, I read it to the end. I don't think I'll get the next book in the series. Perhaps it's my age and this is more for those under 40.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    I want to read more!

    Enjoyed this book. Obviously, i hadn't read the part that said "series", i now need to order the next one to see what happens! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Great Read

    I was surprised that it was so good. I really enjoyed it. Love to find new authors on Free Friday books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Great adventure

    Pasge turnwe loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

         I couldn't stop reading the Registry while Mia is rising ab

         I couldn't stop reading the Registry while Mia is rising above the oppression of women, and her travelign companion Andrew is making the of himself where boys are forced into military service, and love isn't a factor in marriage. 
        The Registry started with a bang and automatically got me on Mia's side as well as her sister Corrina's side. I was wondering what her sister could tell her that would break her away from a promising (in this world's context) future, and it was def a good reason. 
       I read this book because it was on edelweiss and I liked the sound of it. I would have picked it up even without the review copy though, and I would have been glad because I like the characters, the story line, and even though the world is not one I would want to live in, the world building is great, and I can feel what these kids are going through. 
       I connected with Mia, I liked her way of thinking and related with the way she thought about herself and in some ways, the world. I also liked that we got Andrew's point of view. It is in third person, but it didn't bother me, I thought it flowed well, and it made it 
        Mr. Madsen is the perfect villain, I wanted to smack him frequently. I can't wait until the next book where I find out exactly how he will completely get his. 
        While I liked some aspects of the world building I didn't quite like the way that she asked the same questions and got so many different answers, because I was just confused. I understand the intent that history is made by the conquerors and the new america is forcing their version of everything, and Mia doesn't buy it, so she tries to get a better picture.
         I liked the secondary characters a lot, the people they met along the way that helped them, and I wanted more time with each set of them. 
        There is a love triangle, and I wish there wasn't because it was going great the way it was. The romantic suspense and the forbidden love had enough going for it. The ending also left me wanting. I know that it seems like an okay spot to end, but I will be continuing to find out what happens next. 




    Bottom Line: Couldn't look away from Mia and this dark world.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2