Customer Reviews for

The Reluctant King

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their peo

Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their people with freedom and peace.   Eden is happily married to Kiran and just returning from a two year honeymoon.  Avalon is use to being a  warrior and leader and is bored and lonely.




When the kingdom is th...
Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their people with freedom and peace.   Eden is happily married to Kiran and just returning from a two year honeymoon.  Avalon is use to being a  warrior and leader and is bored and lonely.




When the kingdom is threatened, Avalon is called to fight to save his people.   When he meets Amelia, who is in his every thought and causing him to lose control of his own world, he realized he isn’t lonely anymore.
The Reluctant King is written from Avalon’s point of view, which I love.  It was great to have all the characters back from the other books in this series.  Jericho, Kiran, Eden, Sebastian, Sylvia, and everyone else that I missed reading about were back.   Watching the connection between Avalon and Eden stay strong and true, having Eden and Kiran be happy and in love are all of what I hoped for at the end of Rachel’s  last book in this series.  The fact that Avalon found love made this novel even better, with a happy ending for Avalon that I was hoping for. 




Rachel Higginson truly outdid herself.  With each book in this series I become more and more enraptured with the Star Crossed Series.  I am anxiously awaiting the next release.  If you have not read this series you are seriously missing out on a great set of books.

posted by CharlotteLynnsReviews on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not even worth it

I was so excited to read this book and revisit all the characters i had grown to love so much from the series. But Avalon didnt seem like himself, and every interaction wit he other characters left me with unanswered questions. The bieggest of all being, why would you w...
I was so excited to read this book and revisit all the characters i had grown to love so much from the series. But Avalon didnt seem like himself, and every interaction wit he other characters left me with unanswered questions. The bieggest of all being, why would you write a new book, introduce a etire new element, then end it without resolving ANYTHING other than the feelings between Avalon and Amelia?!
I was just let down by this watered down version of the series, and it seemed like some fan tried to pick up where the series ended without writing a good ending. Which probably killed me the most that it was so abrupt and unresolved.
So if you wantt, to waste your money taking a sucky trip down memory lane that will end with you yanking your hair out, go right ahead.

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their peo

    Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their people with freedom and peace.   Eden is happily married to Kiran and just returning from a two year honeymoon.  Avalon is use to being a  warrior and leader and is bored and lonely.




    When the kingdom is threatened, Avalon is called to fight to save his people.   When he meets Amelia, who is in his every thought and causing him to lose control of his own world, he realized he isn’t lonely anymore.
    The Reluctant King is written from Avalon’s point of view, which I love.  It was great to have all the characters back from the other books in this series.  Jericho, Kiran, Eden, Sebastian, Sylvia, and everyone else that I missed reading about were back.   Watching the connection between Avalon and Eden stay strong and true, having Eden and Kiran be happy and in love are all of what I hoped for at the end of Rachel’s  last book in this series.  The fact that Avalon found love made this novel even better, with a happy ending for Avalon that I was hoping for. 




    Rachel Higginson truly outdid herself.  With each book in this series I become more and more enraptured with the Star Crossed Series.  I am anxiously awaiting the next release.  If you have not read this series you are seriously missing out on a great set of books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    She continues to amaze me!

    I am so excited Rachel.Higginson decided to continue this series!! I have fallen in love with Avalon's story, and cannot wait for more!! She has created an awesome world and I love watching the characters live unfold! I cannot wait to see what comes next! Thank you Rachel for another AMAZING book!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Great Continuation!!

    I really liked this book! I like how it shows you into Avalon's world and it's a continuation of the last series!!! You get to see the past characters all grown up and dealing with new and more mature problems!!!! Overall, a great read and, of course, I cannot wait see what is next!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I am so happy I finally got to read this book! Seriously, The St

    I am so happy I finally got to read this book! Seriously, The Star-Crossed Series is my favorite book series of all time and I am so thrilled that the story continued after Endless Magic.

    It definitely is a little weird now that the story is focused around Avalon and Amelia and a whole new threat to the kingdom (not weird like I don't like it, just weird because I am familiar with Eden's POV). I was so used to Eden and Kiran (more like addicted since I have the hugest crush on Kiran!), but it was great to get beyond their love story and see what is happening with everyone else. (Although I admit that my favorite parts of the book were whenever Eden or Kiran was around. They seriously are my most favorite couple of all time!)

    I just can't believe that everything happened so fast. I'm just like...WOW...stunned. Not to mention anxious to know what is going to happen next. This enemy is way more frightening than Lucan ever was. Lucan was insane, no doubt, but he maintained order and structure; Lucan still had sense and reasoning. This new guy, Terletov, is unpredictable and uncontrollable. There is no order, there's only chaos. I kinda can't wait for the other two books to come out just so I can read them and be content with knowing how it all ends; and then I can actually go back and reread the books again and again without having to stress so much.

    Seriously though, it is so wonderful to get to read about all my favorite characters again! I've missed them so much! And I always wanted to see more of Avalon. It's funny seeing Amelia change from being this sweet little girl in Eden's eyes to this wonderful woman in Avalon's eyes. I always loved both of them. They make a good couple. And their names both start with A's which I think is super cute. Avalon and Amelia. :) So cute.

    Can't wait for the next book! (But if I am being honest it is really Sebastian's book that I am looking forward to the most! I love him so much and even though he was in this book, I need more of him! I miss him! Sorry Jericho. And Avalon. But Sebastian wins! Unless Rachel decides to write a book from Kiran's POV, which won't happen. But if it did, then Kiran would win.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Not even worth it

    I was so excited to read this book and revisit all the characters i had grown to love so much from the series. But Avalon didnt seem like himself, and every interaction wit he other characters left me with unanswered questions. The bieggest of all being, why would you write a new book, introduce a etire new element, then end it without resolving ANYTHING other than the feelings between Avalon and Amelia?!
    I was just let down by this watered down version of the series, and it seemed like some fan tried to pick up where the series ended without writing a good ending. Which probably killed me the most that it was so abrupt and unresolved.
    So if you wantt, to waste your money taking a sucky trip down memory lane that will end with you yanking your hair out, go right ahead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    I love the Star-Crossed Lover series I can't wait to read the ne

    I love the Star-Crossed Lover series I can't wait to read the next edition to this mind gripping novel series that I'm completely and utterly obsessed with. I love the author and the way she can bring me into the book where the outside world can't reach me. Once I start reading I just can't stop!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Avalon was my favorite character in this series, so I really enjoyed seeing his further adventures in this beautifully written novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    I am so happy that Rachel Higginson decided to give Avalon his o

    I am so happy that Rachel Higginson decided to give Avalon his own story. In the Star Crossed series, he has been one of my favorites, from the very beginning. 




    From start to finish I loved this book. Once I started reading it, I  had a hard time putting it down. The story line between Avalon and Amelia was one I really enjoyed. 




    I can't wait for book 6 and I really hope it is about Jericho. ;) 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Must Read

    Loved the series and loved how you softened Avalon's character. Can't wait to see what's next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Excellent  spin-off of one of the best paranormal series!  Loved

    Excellent  spin-off of one of the best paranormal series!  Loved Avalon in the previous books and he didn't disappoint me (though I cannot say the same about Amelia)
    It was great to hear from many favourite characters from the previous book and the end promises a great sequel and even more encounters with heroes I've grown to love!
    To put it briefly - a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Loved it!!

    If you loved the other books in this series you will fall in love with the continued journey these characters are on. Nice to have this part of the story from Avalon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    I recommend all of Rachel's series.  She is a great author.

    I recommend all of Rachel's series.  She is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Sexism

    I'm half way through and so far it's a good book. The only problem I've had is avalon's sexism. Its written well but the ereader version of this book is slightly hard to understand because sometimes words are left out and sometimes the word gets cut off and then continued on the next line.

    Its a nice insight on life after the victory, and you get to remeet old charachters and avalon's point of view is funny. Overall i would recommend it, but not to somebody who greatly dislikes sexism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    BOOK SIX

    If anyone has found the next book please tell me what you searched under to find it!!!! I have been searching since the second i finished The Reluctant Kingand have had no luck. The whole serries is so good and especially now that we are seeing Avalons side of life. Cant wait for Relentless Warrior!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I love the Restless Magic series, and this continuation is even

    I love the Restless Magic series, and this continuation is even better! We get to hear the story from another point of view...a man's point this time. It is refreshing, and still has all of the suspense and sizzle that the first 4 stories had! LOVED it and cannot wait for the next installment! Definitely an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Finally Avalon gets to tell his story and we get to see inside h

    Finally Avalon gets to tell his story and we get to see inside his head! I am so happy that he finally has his own story and we got to see him fall in love, and to see him fall in love with such a strong female!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    This is a novel for anyone who misses the Star-Cross clan. I re

    This is a novel for anyone who misses the Star-Cross clan. I really liked being in Avalon's head instead of Eden's. It was a refreshing change. I did think it ended a bit abruptly in comparison to the rest of the Star-Crossed books. I wasn't ready to be done with Avalon yet! He was so enjoyable :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Avalon is such a strong character in all the books, his match is

    Avalon is such a strong character in all the books, his match is met in Amelia. I love their chemistry. You couldn't ask for a better partner for Avalon to fight for his kingdom, and protect his people.Another page turner by Rachel couldn not put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Star crossed continues through Avalon! I love this series, thes

    Star crossed continues through Avalon!

    I love this series, these characters and the continuation of this story through avalon!  This book satisfied my desperate needs to hear more about this world and these characters!  If you have not read the previous four books by Rachel then start with Reckless magic and you will read these 5 books in 5 days like I did!!!

    Love seeing romance in Avalon the harden, innate warrior/leader!   I can not wait to read the next book in Jericho's perspective and the story to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Let me start by saying that I absolutely LOVE this author. She i

    Let me start by saying that I absolutely LOVE this author. She is amazing. The Star-Crossed Series is definitely one of my favorite series.




    With that being said, I spent most of the time that I was reading this book trying to figure out just what was missing that makes it not quite as good as the first three in this series. I never did come up with a firm answer, but these things definitely came into play:




    -There wasn't enough world-building (as I like to call it). Higginson didn't suck us back into the alternate reality that is Avalon's world. The reader could have used some reminding of what terms meant, who people were (some of the more minor characters are mentioned and I literally couldn't remember who they were and I was never re-informed), and just more mention of magic in general. The first three books saw Avalon making fun of Eden because magic should be like second nature to her...just built in, but I didn't see much mention of him using his magic very second nature-like.




    -There wasn't much interaction between Avalon and other characters. We spend most of our time just being told things by Avalon when we really should have been showed. This made the book boring in some places and frustrating in others. (This actually might be the biggest problem with the book, come to think of it.) In the first three books, I really fell in love with some of the characters because of their interactions with Eden. Avalon didn't give us that. Instead of being shown how much he was glad Jericho and Eden were back, we were told (just as an example). This didn't give as much impact and left the me feeling like I was separated from the other characters. I kind of missed them!




    -I felt like the romance was rushed. Avalon went from not even knowing who Amelia was to loving her in too short of a time. It didn't give me any time to get on board with the romance and want to fight for it right alongside him. Honestly, I wouldn't have been upset if he didn't end up with her or even if she had been killed off. I think this partially goes back to not having enough showing and way too much telling on part of the author.




    In short (which this review wasn't!), Higginson wrote Eden and Kiran's story so masterfully that I was really let down by this one. That's not to say I won't read the next one, but Jericho was my favorite secondary character in the first three books, so I really will be upset if he gets this same treatment! Don't let this review stop you from reading. Its still a needed part of the story and you know you don't want to miss out on Jericho, who's book comes next :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3