Customer Reviews for

The Renovation: A Project Restoration Novel

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    A great story

    What's the difference between renovation and restoration? One tries to come back to how it once was:status quo. The other meets the times head on and adapts to fit the new standard.

    You see this struggle with the past and the present all through this story of a house reconstruct to peoples' lives:Ethan,his son Chase, and a new person, Cameron struggle with their pasts, and with the help of God, move forward.

    A nice Christian romance and I will look for the rest ifvthe series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Nice, easy-to-read, clean Christian romance - great for light re

    Nice, easy-to-read, clean Christian romance - great for light reading while at the beach or on the airplane!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Loved it.

    The characters are well developed; the story lets you feel many emotions; and it made me fondly remember the years I spent in the Construction Industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Forgiveness

    No wonder "to forgive is Divine" - it's so hard to do, but only then can we move forward. Compelling story of forgiveness of ourself and others. Only then can we learn and grow into our true selves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Lots of descriptions

    I did not enjoy this book because there were so many descriptions that seemed pointless. I read the first 80 pages and could not continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I enjoyed this a lot

    Not heavy reading, but a nice beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A well told tale! I will look for others by this author!

    A great Christian fiction book. Great characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a very delightful story. It was a good blend of finding yourself, finding God, and a nice romance. The characters were people you can relate to and were well written. I enjoyed this book a great deal and have started reading other books by this author and think she is one of my new favorites!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite of all Times

    I LOVED this book. I bought it for the cover because I have wanted to renovate an old Victorian home for many years and had the opportunity to do so. So yes, I judged the book by the cover. Lucky me!! I read the best book I have ever read, and trust me, that's a lot of books. About mid way through the book, I thought how well the story line could incorporate renovating the house as a reflection of how a Christian has the opportunity to renovate their own temple (body/house). I read quite a bit of Christian fiction as you can tell. Then she did it! Terri added the element that I found so foundational (no pun intended). She added Jesus. Talk about refreshing, I was enthralled and amazed at how well she incorporated this aspect. I have just ordered The Renewal and am counting the days until it's arrival. Yes, I paid extra to get it to me quickly. She is a fabulous writer, using wisdom from her life as a decorator, wife, mother, and sister in Christ. I love the book Terri. I do think it should be a series though, a LONG series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A kiss of history-a hug of renovation-and an embrace of restoration A kiss of history-a hug of renovation-and an embrace of restoration.

    The Renewal by Terri Kraus should really be titled: Sweet Renovation or The Master's Healing Touch.<BR/><BR/>I received the Master's healing touch while reading this story. I was deeply touched by this story and the character's lives. The Renewal is what Inspiration stories are truly all about--renewal, renovation, and restoration. We all have an area in our life that only the Restoring Hand of God can touch...as He did in Leslie and Jack's life. Each had a "demon" to overcome. Neither could do it on their own, no matter how hard they tried. <BR/><BR/>Just what are these "demons" that possess Leslie and Jack? Will they ever truly be rid of these monsters?<BR/><BR/>Well, if you really want to know, you'll just have to read, The Renewal, to find out.<BR/><BR/>Did Leslie do the right thing by moving to the town of Butler? Will her great-great-great grandmother's diary and her heritage catch up with Leslie? The two ladies share a common bond. What is it? Can this old diary help heal the evil that plagues Leslie? Leslie's ex comes to town. What is it that he's after?<BR/><BR/>Entering Jack. Wow, what a hottie. A hottie with a heart wrenching past. Can Leslie trust him? Better yet, can Jack trust himself? And what will happen when and if Leslie discovers his hidden "demon"? Will she shun him, or will she open up her arms to him?<BR/><BR/>And then there's Mike. Poor tongue-tied Mike. Will he ever win Leslie's heart? Or is it something else that he's after? <BR/><BR/>Ava, Ava, sweet little Ava, who knows only too well about her mommy's "demon". After all, she's witnessed it enough. Is that why Ava's daddy divorced her mommy? <BR/><BR/>There's a bully in this story. A class "A", numero uno jerk. One that I would love nothing more than to slap duct tape across his mouth. Just who is this mongrel anyway?<BR/><BR/>A mystery lurks behind a door that nobody wants to destroy or that nobody seems to be able to open? How come? And just what is so valuable in that room that somebody obviously did everything in their power to keep people from getting into it?<BR/><BR/>Well, if you would like to know the answer to all of the above questions, then purchase a copy of The Renewal by Terri Kraus. You won't be sorry.<BR/><BR/>Fabulous job, Terri. You touched on some very sensitive subjects and handled them very well. I'll be forever changed because of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Great inspirational story┬┐

    Ethan Willis, a restorer of old homes and a perfectionist, takes pride in his work, but his latest job on the old Carter Mansion is beginning to be a big headache. CeCe Carter seldom agrees with him. His life has not been the same since the murder of his wife many years ago. Now, Chase, his son, is a teenager and feels that his father blames him for his mother¿s death. Cameron Dane, newspaper reporter for the town paper, does a story on Ethan and the restoration of the Carter Mansion. They are attracted to each other, but Cameron has to forgive herself for something that has happened when she was a young child. Chase also needs to be forgiven by his dad, Ethan, before he can move ahead. The Renovation is a great inspirational story. The comparisons of restoring a house and restoring a life became intertwined. The quotes about forgiveness throughout the book give it a depth that makes us realize that without forgiveness there is emptiness in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    A must read!

    Great book! The characters were very real and likable, especially Chase, the teenage son of Ethan. Unlike many books that portray some ideal teenager, Chase¿s character was very believable and true to how a teenager really thinks and acts. Also, the secrets of both Chase and Cameron were intriguing and kept me avidly reading to find out what would happen next. Kraus handles it perfectly, leaving the readers curious, but gives hints and clues along the way to keep the reader absolutely captivated. Kraus¿ knowledge of architecture and interior design added to the storyline immaculately. Definitely read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    A Kraus Fiction Fan, not disappointed yet!

    As a fan of authors Jim and Terri Kraus, this book by Terri writing solo certainly lives up to the great quality of fiction I've come to expect. Wonderfully moving story, memorable characters, fine writing style. I'm recommending it to all my friends--especially those in need of the message of forgiveness, the theme of this book, which is so well-done without being 'preachy'. And as an avid HGTV viewer, I loved the unique setting/tie-in to the renovation of historic houses. This thoroughly enjoyable book could only have been written so authentically by someone intimately familiar with the whole restoration process. The next two books in the series can't come fast enough for me! Would make an excellent choice for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1