Customer Reviews for

The Rent Collector

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    The Rent Collector is a book that will help you to see your own

    The Rent Collector is a book that will help you to see your own life and circumstances more clearly. It is written so powerfully and so beautifully that you can't help but fall in love with Sang Ly (main character) and her family. I would highly recommend this book! It is captivating, hopeful and definitely inspires me to be a better person. I will recommend it to my book club as well as family and friends! Read it today...you will LOVE it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is such a po

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is such a powerful and inspiring story, and I feel like everyone should read it. It is a great book for a book club, as there is a lot to discuss. It is based on the true story of a family who lives in a garbage dump in Cambodia, with a fictional story line brought in also. Words can't describe how great this book is. It is a story of hope and survival. At many times throughout the book, it will have you wondering what you would do and how you would live in the situation. Unbelievable story. So great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    couldn't put it down!

    Love truly comes from deep within. Compassion is still alive and well....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Wow. This book completely blew me away. It was gorgeous. It is a

    Wow. This book completely blew me away. It was gorgeous. It is a story about what it means to be human. It is about literacy and the way it changes lives. Words and stories have power. The Rent Collector explores that theme in depth and gives us (the reader) hope for the future, hope for humanity, hope for our children.

    I had a difficult time finishing this book because I didn't want it to end. I would read a chapter, then get lost in thought until one of my kids or my husband would ask me what I was doing. I recommend this book to everyone. It is one of those stories that needs to be read and needs to be shared. It is educational and eye-opening. It will steal your heart, stomp on it, then stick it back in your chest, beating stronger than ever.

    Content: Some disturbing scenes (war crimes, etc). Clean otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    I don't even know where to start.  Honestly.  This book is FABUL

    I don't even know where to start.  Honestly.  This book is FABULOUS....I mean absolutely fabulous.  I didn't even want to start.  I didn't want to even start reading because I was thinking it was going to be a sad book.  It was...in a way.  I don't know if I got from it what every one else has gotten from it, but this book made me feel good.  I don't even know how to put it in words.  It just is such a touching story.   There are just so many great lessons in this book, but most of all for me was, don't judge.  You never know where a person comes from, or what they have gone through.  This book made this absolutely clear.
    I don't want to say much because if you haven't read this book, you should really think about it.  Really.  I love a feel good story.  It was so sad, and so sweet, and so great, all at the same time.  Sang Ly is such a wonderful person on so many levels.  She lives in a dump, and though she hates it, she does all she can to make things better for herself and her family.  The Rent Collector seems like such a hard, and bitter woman, but it is obvious there is more to her than meet the eyes.
    I have decided that since reading my eyes have started leaking a lot more than I am use to.  I use to get touched by book, but not like I have been lately.  Since I have started reading on such a large level it seems with every book the words come more and more to life for me.  It's amazing.  Camron Wright is an absolutely amazing author.  A MAY ZING!  
    If you need a book about hope, and redemption this is such a great book for both.  I am in awe of this book.  It made me cry like a little girl at the end.  This book deserves more than 5 stars!!!!!  It's clean, wonderful, and touching!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It wasn't the title - it wasn't the author...it was the cover, t

    It wasn't the title - it wasn't the author...it was the cover, that drew me to "The Rent Collector," by Camron Wright.

    I was quickly pulled into this beautifully written story, about Sang Ly's determination to give her very ill son Nisay, a healthy place to live. Her way out would be learning to read. I loved the unexpected hero in Sopeap Sin, the rent collector - an angry drunken woman, I loved to hate...until I understood Sopeap Sin's struggle with her own demons.

    I choose this book because I loved the cover...and ended up on an incredible journey of a family's struggle to survive in a treacherous dump in Cambodia... So, thank you Camron Wright - your story moved my heart...your story took me to a place I never knew I wanted to go...

    Without hesitation, I say, this must-read story, is filled with deep meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book

    I would not have choosen this book on my own, but it came highly recommended by a friend. I was not disappointed! A well written book that has many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Rent collector

    I also did not expect much when i picked this book to read, but was pleasantly surprised. It's a story of such courage and faith and may also give you a new appreciation of literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    When I picked this book up, I didn't expect too much. I would n

    When I picked this book up, I didn't expect too much. I would now say that it is one of my all time favorite books. As others said in their reviews, it is a powerful & inspiring story. But it also makes you think count your own blessings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1