Customer Reviews for

Republic

Average Rating 3
( 768 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(337)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(311)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 768 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Embarassment, anyone?

    Despite those outstandingly ignorant individuals who are so willingly embarass themselves, Plato's Republic is one of the most significant works produced in our human exsitence. What's even more unique about it is its broad scope and truth that can be revealed even in our lives today. Eveyone should read it. And for those who refuse to be embarassed again, read it one more time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    Spencer - Sits down missing Syren more than ever... I walk into

    Spencer - Sits down missing Syren more than ever... I walk into the forest. Darren, if your here, listening to me talk right now, please listen.  I hope we can still be together.  Your actually one of the nicest nook guys out there.  I got upset and I actually don't think your heart.  if you are, can u explain?  anyways, i love you.  please forgive me.  i look around hoping that he heard me.  i sit down.  Syren i miss you so much i whisper to myself.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    The Republic was written by a philosopher named Plato in a Socra

    The Republic was written by a philosopher named Plato in a Socratic method around 380 BC. Plato starts off by discussing the definition of justice and the order and character of the just man in the city-state where he is from. He challenges what people think of Justice. He summarizes that Justice is the interest of the stronger when other people in the time period; and additionally onto today the majority of persons would argue that Justice is the equivalent to equalizing powers of the many social classes when in reality it drives a greater wedge into these classes. Plato writes down what Socrates deducts from multiple sources to answer questions to make the question more reasonable than what it started off to be. The argument/ debate is done in a dialogue. It is Plato's best-known work is proven to be one of the basis for philosophy and political theory.

    Additionally, Socrates and other Athenian and Greek philosophers discuss the meaning of justice and examine just man and unjust man by examining different societies in this time period and other places around the world. Plato along with all the other philosophers spread a theory of a perfect governing body/ administration that includes a city and an oligharchial (this is the term I have decided to use to suggest for Plato's Ideal Governing Administration) ruled the few intellectual philosophers and everything in the city should be revolved around intellect. He examined the techniques used in the existing regimes and discussed the advantages and disadvantages to each of them. The extensive list of philosophers included immortality of the soul and the roles of philosophers and other occupations in the societies mentioned. I would recommend this book to any philosphy major/ government officiates and intend that if regarded in close possession should intend to make the world a better place.

    Number of Remaining Characters:1587

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Ren to all

    Gtg bed time bbt. Night you all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    Justin: my nook simple touch crap actually broke so I might not

    Justin: my nook simple touch crap actually broke so I might not be able to talk for a wile or atlest till I fix it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    Carrie

    Try talking to her. Never have people take itout for ya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2015

    Rue

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Rue

    Runs to SA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    S<_>hit just got real!

    Yolo my brothers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    The creed

    We will be back in 3 days time with reinforcements the disappear in a tornado of white fire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Songol

    Sleeps in cryo pod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Christian to all important

    *vanishes ibto thin air* sadly i must leave nooj but i have a k.i.k add me if you wanna talk its deathbyurmum

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    You are way too stiff dude. And shes my sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    To Justin

    Help Kitty. 'Tt' res 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    HELP ME

    R@pe my sister May at 'mmop' res 1! Go long and hard and no matter what dont let Ethan stop you. She will fight but dont let her get away. FU<_>CK HER!!!! <p>~Colby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Stella

    She looks at Justin confuzzled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Zane

    Has anyone seen lacey?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2015

    Justin to mat

    He comes up from behind stabs him through his back with one of his blades and slits his throat with his wrist blades

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    A girl

    She slides in and climbs a nearby tree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 768 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39