Customer Reviews for

The Republic (Special Edition)

Average Rating 3
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(408)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(315)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Embarassment, anyone?

    Despite those outstandingly ignorant individuals who are so willingly embarass themselves, Plato's Republic is one of the most significant works produced in our human exsitence. What's even more unique about it is its broad scope and truth that can be revealed even in our lives today. Eveyone should read it. And for those who refuse to be embarassed again, read it one more time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    Spencer - Sits down missing Syren more than ever... I walk into

    Spencer - Sits down missing Syren more than ever... I walk into the forest. Darren, if your here, listening to me talk right now, please listen.  I hope we can still be together.  Your actually one of the nicest nook guys out there.  I got upset and I actually don't think your heart.  if you are, can u explain?  anyways, i love you.  please forgive me.  i look around hoping that he heard me.  i sit down.  Syren i miss you so much i whisper to myself.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    The Republic was written by a philosopher named Plato in a Socra

    The Republic was written by a philosopher named Plato in a Socratic method around 380 BC. Plato starts off by discussing the definition of justice and the order and character of the just man in the city-state where he is from. He challenges what people think of Justice. He summarizes that Justice is the interest of the stronger when other people in the time period; and additionally onto today the majority of persons would argue that Justice is the equivalent to equalizing powers of the many social classes when in reality it drives a greater wedge into these classes. Plato writes down what Socrates deducts from multiple sources to answer questions to make the question more reasonable than what it started off to be. The argument/ debate is done in a dialogue. It is Plato's best-known work is proven to be one of the basis for philosophy and political theory.

    Additionally, Socrates and other Athenian and Greek philosophers discuss the meaning of justice and examine just man and unjust man by examining different societies in this time period and other places around the world. Plato along with all the other philosophers spread a theory of a perfect governing body/ administration that includes a city and an oligharchial (this is the term I have decided to use to suggest for Plato's Ideal Governing Administration) ruled the few intellectual philosophers and everything in the city should be revolved around intellect. He examined the techniques used in the existing regimes and discussed the advantages and disadvantages to each of them. The extensive list of philosophers included immortality of the soul and the roles of philosophers and other occupations in the societies mentioned. I would recommend this book to any philosphy major/ government officiates and intend that if regarded in close possession should intend to make the world a better place.

    Number of Remaining Characters:1587

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Sage

    You know bw? Well i havent talked to her for over a year. Its suck. She recognized my name i guess and then i recognized hers. She didnt respond since it was 3:30 am lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Emilia

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Emilia

    Wals in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Almond2

    Im tired nitw) huggels sagey nite sagey meh going to sleep curls up by her with a bottle of wipcream and sleeps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Sage to anyone who cares

    Finished my bio! Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Sage to makko and flame

    Draws hearts around you two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Sage

    *Pretends to cry.* What must I do to get my cake back?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2015

    Eva

    "That must stink." She smiled, while waking away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2015

    Grimm to Makko

    You got a lucky lady *walks away sadly*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Makko 2

    How dont you know the movie?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2015

    Calli

    *She dispoofed.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2015

    Grimm to Lukas

    *sits by you* I'm Grimm daughter of Hades

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Ashlyn

    Okay. I gotta go, and i might be on later. I have to try for WiFi at the thing i'm going to. If not, tty tomorrow night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2015

    Person

    Your welcome now ask eachother out. Lololol &#9786 *vanished*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2015

    April, "I am using my computer, because my nook broke Febru

    April, "I am using my computer, because my nook broke February! So that is some other stupid April!!!!!!! I'm changing my name."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2015

    April, "There is another April?"

    April, "There is another April?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2015

    April

    Has sex with alex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44