Customer Reviews for

The Retribution (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

2 or 3 non-pertinent comments

Two Things: B&N has no say in what's free, or not; that is left to the publisher to decide. #2: THANKS to those Reviewers who give details; that's what a good review does. Third thing: Our complaints to each other or to B&N are also *NOT* good reviews, either. (Guilty ...
Two Things: B&N has no say in what's free, or not; that is left to the publisher to decide. #2: THANKS to those Reviewers who give details; that's what a good review does. Third thing: Our complaints to each other or to B&N are also *NOT* good reviews, either. (Guilty as charged.) We must stop this bad habit and leave these spaces for the TRUE reviewers to post their helpful reviews for us.

posted by HookedOnBooksCM on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Deleted due to offensive language.

May be free, but not worth reading due to offensive language.

posted by br549GA on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Delete button

    I am amazed that in this day and tech age that readers have yet to find the delete button! This is a free book. You have not invested any money. You don't like the language, delete it. You realize it is part of a series, delete it. If you don't like the character (the only review worth reading, IMHO) thank you for letting us know. The other reviews could have been a "heads up" notice instead of griping about a free book!

    Thank you to B&N for the free fridays. If there is something about a FREE book that you give me, I will give a heads up to my fellow " Nooker's", but I will still be grateful to you for giving me a book. The was a time in my life when I could not affordnew books, so even today when I recieve a book, I am eternally grateful.

    M. Lema

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Val McDermid. I have read this entire series,

    I am a huge fan of Val McDermid. I have read this entire series, her stand alones and other series. I read many different genres and enjoy crime/mystery novels for entertainment. However, I still like a well written book with interesting characters. Val McDermid's writing is top shelf and her character development is second to none. The only downside is that since I just finished this particular book I am wanting more but, alas, I will have to wait.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Ok

    If you dont like cusswords then delete the book. No point in whining about it

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a stunner

    I am probably one of McDermid's biggest US fans. Her book are so involved in the plot, you can't put them down without thinking about it. I can't wait for the next one. Keep up the good work Val. You know who-dun-it, you just want to know what you can do to stop it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Looking forward to the next one.

    I just discovered this series. I've totally enjoyed it. Thanks for evolving, non-static characters.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Tony Hill And Carol Jordan

    JackoVance escapes from prison and reeks havoc with the Bradfield MIT team. A thriller from beginning through its logical but painful end.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Well done

    Enjoyed the interaction of the characters and suspenseful story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Anna

    An excellent read. Suspenceful and very eell written. I would suggest this book to anyone who likes a good murder mystery to curl up with on a rainy evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Read, keeps you reading

    Once you start, you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    One of Val McDermid's Best Yet

    the series continues to develop the character's lives and I'm looking forward to the next installment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Gripping

    I got this as a Free Friday Nook book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters have a real depth to them and the plot just grabs on and doesn't let go. It's not a "feel good" read, as the author creates serious injustices for the "good" guys, but perhaps that makes it more thought provoking. Probably the only flaw was that I felt the "villian"'s success was a bit far fetched at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Very good.

    Really enjoyed this book. Glad to find another author to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    A must read

    I truly enjoyed this page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Great read

    This book kept my interest through out just waiting to see what would happen. I will be checking out more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Very Wonderfully written

    I received this book free on Free Fridays through my Nook. I briefly read the details and thought it would be OK since it was free. I found the first 30-40 pages a little rough to get through but am SOOO glad I did. It reads like a script from either Law and Order: SVU or even Criminal Minds, which are my 2 favorite shows. I did not know it was in a series until after I finished it. It can definitely stand alone. I have gone back and started at the beginning of the series now though. I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes criminal drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Last in series

    Really enjoyed this book. I intend to read the previous written books in the series. Wish i had known this was book 7!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great Book

    Got this on free book friday, and have loved it. I will most definetly be getting the rest of the series. I love the character developement and the way Val McDermid gives multiple perspectives. Each character seems to have agendas and motives. Can't wait for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Rate the book only

    I am a big fan of Val McD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Liked it a lot

    Wil look for others by this author. Good entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4