Customer Reviews for

The Return of Brody McBride (McBrides Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

i love how this book tells us and shows us what a lot of our men

i love how this book tells us and shows us what a lot of our men and woman are like when coming back from the war. rain is a woman after my own heart. this is a great story about mistakes second chances and love. you will fall in love with this author

posted by barbara143 on March 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rebekah S

I read the sample and loved it but when i tried to buy the book it still wouldnt show the rest of it. So frustrating!!

posted by 18635935 on March 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    SPOILER: Brody McBride ran away from home when he was 20 yea





    SPOILER:
    Brody McBride ran away from home when he was 20 years old. He followed the rodeo and then enlisted in the Army and became an Army Ranger. During his last tour in Afghanistan, he was wounded by a roadside bomb. He was then honorably discharged and went back home to the Clear Water Ranch where he was born. While he was recovering in the hospital, he had realized that he was still in love with his childhood sweetheart, Rain. She was the reason he ran away because she had been raised with a loving father, had lived a lifestyle like a princess, and was heading to California to college. He was more like poor white trash who had a drunk for a father. So he was planning on meeting up with Rain, seeing if she could ever forgive him for the mistakes that he had made, and then trying to have a future together. Boy, did he get a shock when he realized she had never left town eight years ago. And did she have a great reason for staying home! I really recommend reading this book to find out exactly why Rain was still in town. This is a really good clean romance with a bit of excitement in the end. If that’s not enough to make you want to read the book, here’s some more for you. There are women fist fighting and kidnapping involved. Now go get the book and read it for yourself.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Good

    I loved her first series so much. It started with a bang and didn't let up. This new book started out much slower. It took me a while to get into it. It wasn't nearly as exciting or fast paced as the first series. Still, it was an enjoyable read and well worth it. She does a great job with Brody demonstrating the struggles of PTSD. He is a flawed, real hero. I will look forward to the next one, but I hope she kicks the excitement up a notch!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Loved this book and am looking forward to reading the next in th

    Loved this book and am looking forward to reading the next in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    Don't miss this one!

    I fell in love with Brody McBride, a troubled guy who finds out that the past cannot be left behind. His reunion with the girl he left behind is not an easy one, but he learns much in the process. I look forward to future stories in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Dawn&star

    *Shakes head.* Too good. Just way to good. You're absolutely amazing Refections! (This is compliment if it was a little unclear...)
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Dawn&star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Good

    Cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Impossibly sweet

    Bad boy Brodie is the more realistic of the lovebirds in this tale. Returning home from the military he is determined to reconnect with the love of his life, the girl he cheated on and made love to right before leaving town. She on the other hand is too forgeving, too nice and just too perfect to be belivable. The bad girl is likewise so rotten as to completely uncredible. I enjoy the writing style but with this plot the story could have been so much more with chacaters that hit more than one note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Only one problem

    The story line and the charaters are good. The love story was heartbreaking and the romance was overwhelming at times but I love it that way. The only real problem was it just ended at the end of the climax. Doesn't let you how they move on with their lifes as a family, a couple or individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s a black sheep returns home story with a twist involving not

    It’s a black sheep returns home story with a twist involving not one but two unknown children, the result of a couple of one night stands. Mostly it delves into Brody’s recovery from serious wounds he suffered in the war as he deals with new-found fatherhood and the responsibilities that come with it. There’s also the long lost love interest angle with the girl he left behind.

    There’s a plausible plot with a couple of good supporting characters, one of which returns in a later sequel, published earlier this year. Jennifer Ryan documents Brody’s PTSD issues well, and is able to show how deeply our military heroes can suffer when they aren’t getting the treatment they need.

    I was left with a few questions at the end regarding the storyline. The biggest was why Brody left town to begin with. I’m not one for spoilers since I know there are readers who haven’t read the book when they read this. Suffice to say I never did figure out the real reason Brody left town and that bothered me since it led me to think he had no reason to. In the end, I stocked it up to personal humiliation at the thought of what he’d done and left it at that. I do feel it could have been explained better though, along with the arguments resulting between Brody and Rain.

    Despite my issues with the story, it’s a nice book, good for an afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Good

    Money helps

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    sexy

    nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Very good read

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Enjoyed this book.

    Good story and characters, have already preordered the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1