Customer Reviews for

The Return of the Native

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I couldn't stop thinking about the characters after reading the book. Read to stimulate the brain. I enjoyed it!

posted by mdee63 on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not One of Hardy's Finest...

I enjoy many of the works by Hardy but this one I am indifferent to. The beginning was not as easy read and boring at times. The actual story line was very interesting and the ending an utter dissapointment. The ending seemed to cliche frmo any other romantic tragedy. T...
I enjoy many of the works by Hardy but this one I am indifferent to. The beginning was not as easy read and boring at times. The actual story line was very interesting and the ending an utter dissapointment. The ending seemed to cliche frmo any other romantic tragedy. Through it all I enjoy Hardy's writing style and focus on character development along descriptions on pretty much everything.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    Loved it!

    I couldn't stop thinking about the characters after reading the book. Read to stimulate the brain. I enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    The Return of the Native

    First of all, I just have to say...WHOA! What a deep, intriguing novel! Loved it all the way. Anyways, let's get to the review part. This novel is, for the most part, a tale of love distorted. The story pivots around five central characters. Eustacia Vye (a sexy, flirtatious muse lusting for vibrant city-life), Clym Yeobright (an intelligent young man who returns from Paris to relax in his native town, and weds the gorgeous Eustacia), Diggory Venn (the shy, shadowman of the novel, obsessively in love with Thomasin, he becomes her guardian angel in a sense that he refuses to allow any harm to come to her), Thomasin (Clym's cousin, who is delicate and innocent and mistakingly weds Damon), and Damon Wildeve (basically a 'player' who impulsively weds Thomasin when it appears that his passionate affair with Eustacia has fizzled). At last, all of these emotions boil over and result in a dynamic climax goading us towards a subtle, relieving ending. This book was embroidered with human sentiment and stenciled in sheer love. Can one ever tell where the heart truly leads? I don't know...but this book certainly opens up some doors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    amazing

    This book has one of the most brilliant tragic heroines of all time. It is beautifully written and every detail is meaningful. Read it for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Simply captivating.

    In my senior year of high school, I was made to read this novel. I was reluctant at first but I did not have to read very far before I was completely immersed in the plot. I could not put it down and then I wanted to read it again when I was done. It is a tragic love story, but it is not as cliche as Romeo and Juliet has become and is more unpredictable. My favorite book of all time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Well worth listening to

    I actually purchased this on CD for the sole reason that it was narrated by Alan Rickman. He has a marvelous voice. I didn't know much about the story but was drawn in by his portrayal of the many characters in the story. The voices he uses for each character are unique and I knew which character he was speaking as when listening to the story.

    The first chapter, might put people off as it describes Egdon Heath in great detail. I listened to it twice as it was confusing. Once the human characters entered the scene, it just drew me in.

    Hardy writes with much detail in this story. I felt I knew and understood the characters and miss them now that the story has concluded.

    I would hope that Alan Rickman reads another book - makes it all the better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Surprisingly good

    You'd expect Hardy to be something English students have to suffer through, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. A pleasant surprise. Eustacia and Clym are far from the stereotypical repressed Englishfolk. I actually related to this and it was surprisingly suspenseful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Not One of Hardy's Finest...

    I enjoy many of the works by Hardy but this one I am indifferent to. The beginning was not as easy read and boring at times. The actual story line was very interesting and the ending an utter dissapointment. The ending seemed to cliche frmo any other romantic tragedy. Through it all I enjoy Hardy's writing style and focus on character development along descriptions on pretty much everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    The Return of the Native

    I've always admired Thomas Hardy's work. This book has a plot that is very well developed. Like most the books, the beginning is hard to get through. But I liked the ending very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Timeless Classic

    Hardy's masterpiece is perhaps the best description in a novel in English litterature. With the vivid image of the heath coupled with the absorbing plot, and characters whom excite, facinate and annoy (in the case of Clym) Rotn certainly is a timeless classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    a good book

    i personaly thought that the book contained a very interesting plot. the whol ei dea of the woman that wishes to leave and not capable f leaving. she needs a man to help her but in everyway she would find one. even if she has to marry him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Thomas Hardy's The Return of the Native (1878) is heavy wading f

    Thomas Hardy's The Return of the Native (1878) is heavy wading for the first sixty odd pages. Description of geography (a depressing rural heath) is augmented by a greyish fall mood, perhaps a harbinger for the disappointments to be experienced by several characters whose desire to secure what they have yet to attain contrasts with their lack of appreciation for what they have.
    Nevertheless, the novel improves as emphasis shifts to the interconnected romantic intrigues of five characters, beginning with Diggory Venn, a reddleman who is honest, honourable, and kind. Regrettably, his love for the ill treated Thomasin Yeobright at the beginning of the novel goes unrequited as she loves caddish Damon Wildeve, a trained engineer who left that profession years prior and currently owns and manages a local inn/ public house.
    Wildeve, for his part, pines for the reclusive, eccentric, and beautiful Eustacia Vye, who is not well known or liked within the community and is erroneously thought by some to be a witch. But in fairness to the locals, Eustacia is very much to the manor born and considers herself superior to those around her. Also, her love for Wildeve, such as it is while he remains a challenge, vanishes when he comes to her cap in hand, in part because she has concluded that Thomasin's cousin, the returning native, Clym Yeobright, is better positioned to spirit her away to a more cosmopolitan location.
    But alas, Clym, despite being successfully employed for years in Paris as a manager for a diamond merchant, does not respect his work and wants to accomplish more for humanity, perhaps by remaining home and establishing a school, which he hopes will ultimately improve the lot of his community.
    At this point, readers may be forgiven if they conclude that a relationship between Eustacia and Clym is a mere point of intersection between two individuals heading in different directions----- a dilemma compounded by Clym's mother, whose disapproval brings destructive consequences. As a romance, The Return of the Native is true to form with its frustrations, misunderstandings, missed opportunities, and ultimate triumphs. It is an entertaining read and, in my opinion, preferable to Far From the Madding Crowd (1874) and The Mayor of Casterbridge (1886). On a concluding note, this work is highly recommended for fans of well crafted (and tragic) romantic plots with thoroughly developed characters, some likeable, others not. It remains one of the great English literary classics and a welcome addition to university level 19th century literature courses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Years before Downton Abby

    It took a bit for me to get up to speed with some of the wording but loving the story and the descriptions are incredible. Like Cold Mountain put me in the Carolina Mtns. this book puts me on the Scottish Heath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Not So Bad

    The scan is not so bad as the first reviewer makes out. It is far from perfect, because the scan process uses OCR to convert the words to text; it is not a photographic image. Because of this, certain abberations occur, such as an apostrophe being changed to a '7' in a number of places. But the text is easily readable for the most part.

    If one is reading the book for a course in literature, I would not recommend it. (I noted a sentence just before the start of Chapter IV 'The Halt on the Turnpike Road' which ended with the words "and the two women descended the tumulus." In my old paperback version of this book, the same sentence ends with "and the two women descended the barrow.")

    For pleasurable reading, though, the scan of this book is just fine. (Please note, if reading for pleasure, the first 20 pages or so consist of boring descriptions! If you can weather those pages, you'll find that the story picks up and is more enjoyable.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Bad Scan

    Bad Scan

    Like so many of the free books available for the Nook, this book is very poorly scanned. Pagination and printing is off. I love Thomas Hardy ¿ but this is not the way to read him.

    It is not worth the trouble, and I am deleting it.

    I guess you really do get what you pay for¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Wonderful!!!

    The Return of the Native is excellent. The characters are great and you really do share whatever pain they go through. Hardy does an excellent job with his description of Egdon Heath!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Not the best book I ever read...

    The first three chapters were really boring! Basically the whole book was a little depressing... but by the end I started to get more into it. I only recommend this book to people who like the works of Thomas Hardy, and enjoy classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    Entertaining...

    The book starts out very slowly and tediously, but picks up quickly afterward. If I had started reading the book on my own I would have surely quit by the third chapter, but I had to read it for World Literature. After the third chapter, the book get really interesting and is fun to read. I highly recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3