Customer Reviews for

The Right Stuff

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Excellent book. Enthralling

    Wonderful insight into the complex politics and personalities involved. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Highly enjoyable

    Much better than the movie- as usual...and the movie was very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    History of the space program from test pilots to astronauts

    This book was informative and great entertainment. I loved reading about each of the astronauts stories ! NASA, roots from Chuck Yeager the greatest test pilot of all time through the rocket age.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Outstanding Book

    I was raised in this environment, in this time period. Wolff got it right. His insight into these people and this life is right on. He brought things I observed into focus, his ability to portray it all amazes me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    If you like astronauts, this book is The Right Stuff.

    The Right Stuff focuses on the original 7 Mercury astronauts. At first I thought this book would be boring and mainly about science. I was quickly proven wrong. Tom Wolfe gives the reader a clear view of the entire Mercury project, while still keeping it exciting. He gives you facts and background information so that if you nothing about astronauts you will still understand everything in the book. The book does start off a little slow, but after the first 25 pages I quickly became absorbed in it. The author does an excellent job of describing the emotions and the mindset of the original 7. He describes how they possessed something more than courage. Any fool could climb into a rocket. But what made the astronauts unique, was the ability to do it day after day and even manage to enjoy it. Overall I thought this was a good read. But if you don't find astronauts interesting, you will most likely hate this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    The Right Stuff

    So this was the first Tom Wolfe book I've read, and I can tell you that is does not disappoint, and neither does Wolfe's ability to portray the struggles and triumphs of the Original Seven. A must read for anyone interested in the space race or flight in general!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Very Entertaing

    The contrast between the air force pilots and the astronauts was fascinating. The astronauts influencing NASA to make it truly a pilot position as a point pride turned out to be necessary in the end for both the safety of the astronauts and future of the space program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    The Right Stuff In the book ┬┐The Right Stuff┬┐ it talks about the

    The Right Stuff
    In the book “The Right Stuff” it talks about the history of air and space flight. This book took place in the 1960s-1980s. It started out with Pete and how he loved to fly planes. Then NASA wanted to be the first country to launch a man in space and beat Russia. Unfortunately the USA weren’t the first country to launch a man into space – The Soviet Union was. Then they wanted to go forth and launch a rocket to the moon. The USA was the first and only country to ever send a man to the moon.
    This was a great book. It was a little hard to for me read, so I would recommend it to anyone in high school or above. It was an exciting book. I would strongly recommend this book to whoever likes history of planes, famous astronauts, and space flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    This book has the right stuff, just like the mercury seven. It i

    This book has the right stuff, just like the mercury seven. It is a story of a great invisible ziggurat made of ‘the right stuff’; and how every pilot in the military tries to reach the top. There are ‘summits’ of the might pyramid, when Chuck Yeager broke the sound barrier in the X-1, then the advent of the X-15 program, Being the first man to pilot a ship into the upper atmosphere and eventually space. It shows men’s journey up the ziggurat, who are all left behind, to seven skilled men that are brave enough to sit on a rocket ‘that always blows up’ and will be hurtled into the heavens for a glorious moment. That moment is when that man, Alan Shepard, Gus Grissom, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, Wally Schirra and Gordon Cooper; sits on top of the menacing ziggurat, knowing that every other human being is below him. A major theme in this book is bravery. All pilots had to be incredibly brave to climb in test aircraft that always crashed and rockets that always blew up. The wives of the pilot also had to be brave to marry their husband, knowing full well the statistics of the survival rate of a military test pilot. The ziggurat symbolizes the process that every pilot underwent, and it determined who had the right stuff. This was important because it weeded out the pilot who didn’t make the cut, whether in night carrier landings, high speed maneuvers or even medically (Deke Slayton). I enjoyed the book because I enjoy cold war history and aircraft, but I found that some parts in the beginning of the book were very dry. You would enjoy this book if you like science or if you want to learn about the early U.S. Space program from the view of the astronauts. If you enjoy this book, the books Yeager and Apollo 13 would be good for you. Overall, I found this book very entertaining and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Hated it

    Made me laugh only a couple times :'(

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Bdncjdjndff

    Xhxndndbcbbjkkdkfbfbfgfgdfrd

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    This book is great. This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read on astronauts. This book is good for all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Reviews for astronaut and NASA fans

    Fantastic voyage with Tom Wolfe and the Mercury seven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2