BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Right Wrong Number: A Short Story

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the

Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the story.  Thank you for the free Nookbook!

posted by Queen100 on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjo

This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjoy while waiting for a simple doctor’s appointment. In a quick moment, Carly made a call that might change her life, I mean what women wouldn’t love the sound of a deep sexy voice belonging to a man. I know ...
This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjoy while waiting for a simple doctor’s appointment. In a quick moment, Carly made a call that might change her life, I mean what women wouldn’t love the sound of a deep sexy voice belonging to a man. I know that I wouldn’t complain.  The Right Wrong Number describes the struggles that Carly must face in order to hear from this mystery sexy man once again. This short story was an easy read and could be finished in one setting. From the work introduced in this short story I would read more work created by Barbara Delinsky any day.  The Kindle version of this story also includes a preview to Sweet Salt Air. The only thing negative about this story is the length; I feel that this would have been an incredible romance novel if only Barbara decided to go on with their relationship. My rating 3 ½ stars! 

posted by thislittlebookworm on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the

    Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the story.  Thank you for the free Nookbook!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjo

    This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjoy while waiting for a simple doctor’s appointment. In a quick moment, Carly made a call that might change her life, I mean what women wouldn’t love the sound of a deep sexy voice belonging to a man. I know that I wouldn’t complain.  The Right Wrong Number describes the struggles that Carly must face in order to hear from this mystery sexy man once again. This short story was an easy read and could be finished in one setting. From the work introduced in this short story I would read more work created by Barbara Delinsky any day.  The Kindle version of this story also includes a preview to Sweet Salt Air. The only thing negative about this story is the length; I feel that this would have been an incredible romance novel if only Barbara decided to go on with their relationship. My rating 3 ½ stars! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    This was a great story, fat too short. I want to know what happened. 22 pages? Come on Barbara, not like you. JS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Ok

    I thought that this was a cute book. It is only 22pages long and the ending does leave you wondering what happened? Thanks for the fast read. J... :-@

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Great Book

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was an easy read and I loved the way the story played out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Abi

    Awesome story. Although the ending creeped me out a little :)
    Cause i sort of had it happen to me one time lol. In any case, i will never again go meet with someone i've never met before, and by met, i meant seen. The surprise would be just too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Do check this one out!

    Very short but touching. My first Barbara Delinsky book but I'll watch for others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    The Right Wrong Number

    Enjoyable short story. The main character had help from a friend. She knew who her friends were. Great author. Its been a while since I've read one of her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Excellent short story

    I do wish it were longer but it was an excellent storyline!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Loved it but...

    ..... after every that happened in the book i would have liked it if it continued until at least after they had dinner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great story but...

    ...it just ends there??? Not enough closure. The story was so well thought out and lovely and so romantic, I couldn't help but want a bigger ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Nice

    I do wish it was a bit longer. Wanting to know what happens after they meet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Short read

    Cute read. Very short but its cute how they both try finding each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    ok

    It's cute meet short story, not a bad thing when youe between books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Wow

    Loved it! Fast paced...only wish it would have been more. I would have liked to find out how everything worked out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Sweet

    It was so short and sweet, like 20 something pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Delinsky, Barbara. The Right Wrong Number. St. Martin¿s Press. 2

    Delinsky, Barbara. The Right Wrong Number. St. Martin’s Press. 2013. eISBN:9781466834637

    Carly runs a small nursery and flower shop, aptly named Plant People. She has been offered an opportunity to relocate her business into Meyers Department Store. They insist on an answer in four days so she calls friends to help her make such a life changing decision. Will a department store offer the kind of assistance Plant People does?
    Carly spends Sundays searching out of town for unusual containers. Her creativity includes the exact spot for specific plants. She knows her clients by name, offers personal service and fits unique plants for the rooms in her clients’ homes.
    As soon as Hank (she assumes) answers Carly launches into an excited, enthusiastic, non-stoppable discourse. When she finally takes a breath, a stranger reveals that she has called a wrong number. After laying out her quandary Carly is mortified when a voice with a smile, slower and more relaxed responded with, “Who is this?” But in a sexy baritone, he asks about her store and listens as if he is interested. Such a surprise when his voice, his humor and his advice intrigue Carly.
    She apologizes but is encouraged by his interest. He was that lovely thing in a man, a listener! While she chatted with him on her cell, she continued watering her plants. Horror of horrors! Her phone falls into the watering can.
    All Carly knows about her wrong number is his name, Charlie, he is 32 to her 30, and he is an editor. Could a person fall in love with a voice? Every number she tried was a dead end. Is there any way to reconnect with Charlie? Was it possible that the wrong number could turn out to be the right number?
    I wished this short story could be the first chapter in a longer novel so we could find out “What happens next?”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    ok

    Not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Light reading

    Very easy ready - will make you smile for days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Loved

    Honestly I was sad when it ended. Adorable short read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4